We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint location, great Mx food at super reasonable prices...”
Review of El Azul de Frida - CLOSED

El Azul de Frida
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Azul Frida, Restaurant, en Ajijic, Jal. Brinda una Nueva opcion en la rivera de Chapala. Calidad, Precio y Sabor.Especialidades Mexicanas, contamos con servicio de Cazueladas y BanquetesEl mejor sazon!
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint location, great Mx food at super reasonable prices...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

El Azul is just off the carretara in west Ajijic...definitely walking distance from anywhere. The restaurant is scrubbed fresh and the staff are always welcoming.You can't go wrong with the pork chamorra special served with a great little cup of 'soup of the day', rice, veggies and choice of desert. All of this served by the smiling staff and/or owner. Combined with your choice of cerveza, this is a great little spot that knowing residents of the area frequent regularly. I love this place and I recommend it to friends and acquaintances. You just can't go wrong!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmarrishardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A funky little restaurant West of Ajijic”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had Spanish paella catered for 30 people and we had tons of leftovers. It was delicious with all kinds of meats and seafood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliceinAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great mexican food, very friendly service”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A little way out of town, but well worth the bus ride to get there. Unique but very enjoyable food.
I had "Chili en Nogada - which was a poblano chili stuffed with beef and rice covereed in a cream sauce with pomegranite. Wife had Pollo de Cilantro - Chicken covered with a celantro cream sauce. Both were very good.
Service was great. the sandia agua fresca and limonada natural were both an added bonus

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krazyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast & Lunch are good!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Food is priced right and the service is friendly! Very family friendly, no problem with parking and if you wander in the back, you will discover an art gallery of sorts! We have eaten there for both breakfast and lunch. Good size portions of homemade food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Frida”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just a bit to the west of Ajijic center is Fridas in a walled compound off of the main highway. The atmosphere is OK, but nothing to write home about. Meals are reasonably priced but what you get isn't really that great. We went with friends in the afternoon and were the only customers in the place.
The food is just plain local fare, the presentation is ok, service ok, but we can think of quite a few places we feel are better value for money within just a block or two away.

If you are in the area anyway and want a quick meal for a fair price Fridas is a choice you can make, but really not worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanisidroron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Azul de Frida also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing