We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly People”
Review of Ritchie 88

Ritchie 88
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Good Food, Friendly People”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My friend John and I eat at Ritchie 88 once or twice every week. The food is prepared with care and dining on the patio is always a delight. My favorites are the omelettes, molletes, infrijoladas and greek salads. And the cappuccinos... they're great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect--right off the bus lunch!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Everything we had here was fresh, most of the spices come from the garden out back. I went back twice in a day, as it is right off the plaza with cheap, healthy options!

The other great surprise was that they had everything kid-friendly, including high chairs, kid plates, and were very welcoming.

Try the Italian sodas, Francés omelette, and my husband said the coffee was even better than the famed Café el Grano.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplelulu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ritchie's has lovely salads. I like the ensalada roja with apples, strawberries, nuts and reduced balsamic. Also a favorite the spinach salad with peaches and cranberries. My husband likes their breakfasts. Their hash browns are crispy and spiced well. They have sandwiches and hamburgers. The owners are Patricia and Luis; a sweet, friendly couple. Their prices are very reasonable and the restaurant is right across the street from the plaza on Colon. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Richie88 is located in the heart of Ajijic, steps away from the Village Plaza. A small friendly coffee shop with a selection of salads, sandwiches, burgers and such and a nice breakfast menu. We have visited Richie88 a number of times and were always very pleased with the quality of food and the friendly service by the owners Patricia and Louis. All the salads we tried are outstanding as is the selection of sandwiches. The home made soups are delightful.
The court yard patio is very cozy, away from the traffic noise. A selection of coffee's, tea's soft drinks, beer en wine is available.
They only serve breakfast and lunch from 9 am - 4 pm from Tuesday through Saturday.
We highly recommend to try this hidden treasure, a great place to meet your friends or just to relax and enjoy a nice meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch, lovely courtyard and friendly owners.”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Nice location near the Ajijic square. Such a friendly welcome by the owners Luis and Patricia. Escorted to a nice courtyard with soft music playing. The husband had the hamburger special with a salad and a tasty homemade dressing. Being a hot day I decided on the tortilla soup. One of the best tortilla soups I have had and I have had numerous ones all over Mexico.The food was well made and nicely presented. We had a perfect cappuccino after lunch and a homemade cookie and biscotti. Will for sure return to this nice spot. They offer breakfast and lunch. Cheers and happy eats.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritchie 88 also viewed

 

Been to Ritchie 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing