We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rojo Ensalada!”
Review of Ritchie 88

Ritchie 88
Ranked #13 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rojo Ensalada!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Try the Red Salad! It is excellent - full of goodies, even cranberries, strawberries and pecans on a bed of fresh greens! Balsamic dressing designed by chef Alejandra for owners, Patricia and Luis. Enjoy the quiet, 2 level garden patio. Friendly service - chat in English or you can practice your Spanish. Excellent hamburguesas, lasagne or Mexican traditional dishes, topped off by an ice cream brownie desert or take home a brownie or "choc-full" chocolate chip cookie! Provecho!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    36
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Really nice breakfast”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Enjoyable ambiance on their little patio. Everything was very good - the hash browns were good - they actually made them themselves instead of the patties from Wal-Mart that remind me of McDonald's
The portions were reasonable, which is saying something for breakfasts in Mexico!
They offered fresh home-baked cookies and brownies for sale afterwards, which seemed odd considering we just had breakfast - but the cookies were to die for! Haven't seen anything like it in Mexico, and they are comparable to the best in the states!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krazyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Good Food, Friendly People”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My friend John and I eat at Ritchie 88 once or twice every week. The food is prepared with care and dining on the patio is always a delight. My favorites are the omelettes, molletes, infrijoladas and greek salads. And the cappuccinos... they're great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect--right off the bus lunch!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Everything we had here was fresh, most of the spices come from the garden out back. I went back twice in a day, as it is right off the plaza with cheap, healthy options!

The other great surprise was that they had everything kid-friendly, including high chairs, kid plates, and were very welcoming.

Try the Italian sodas, Francés omelette, and my husband said the coffee was even better than the famed Café el Grano.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplelulu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ritchie's has lovely salads. I like the ensalada roja with apples, strawberries, nuts and reduced balsamic. Also a favorite the spinach salad with peaches and cranberries. My husband likes their breakfasts. Their hash browns are crispy and spiced well. They have sandwiches and hamburgers. The owners are Patricia and Luis; a sweet, friendly couple. Their prices are very reasonable and the restaurant is right across the street from the plaza on Colon. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritchie 88 also viewed

 

Been to Ritchie 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing