We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I had imagined!”
Review of Barbara's Bazaar

Barbara's Bazaar
Ranked #8 of 19 things to do in Ajijic
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Barbara's has been around for 29 years now. We may have outgrown the name Bazaar as we offer fine art, high end mid century furniture, the best of kitchen accessories, decorations with class and a selection of Oriental rugs unmatched in the area. Along with all this fine stuff we offer Tupperware, old stainless pots with copper bottoms ( a big seller), old records and down right 'junk' that someone always falls in love with, a small selection of better vintage and name label clothing and accessories. We also carry a variety of architectural objects, like antique doors, iron window guards, stone detailing off old buildings, bronze garden art. You name it we have it or have had it or will have it!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
1 review
“Everything I had imagined!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the perfect place to truly get a feel for the community and culture.
Tom and Ricardo were the perfect hosts. They made me feel like a guest in their own home .
The apt was the so nicely done with everything you needed. I didn't have to run to the store for something that was overlooked.
It is right in the heart of the village. It is a half block to the lake front, so morning and evening walks along the waterfront were very relaxing. You can walk everywhere. The restaurants are about two blocks. I would choose this fantastic place as my go to destination for the Ajijic area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mangoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jocotepec, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you love consignment shops, don't miss this one”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We've lived in the Lake Chapala area for eight years and have practically furnished our house with items from Barbara's Bazaar. They have everything from second-hand furniture to high quality antiques and everything in-between. The highest prices, in US dollars, are on the antiques, silver and jewelry but you can find some really good prices on other consignment items. Tom Thompson, the owner, is very knowledgeable about prices so he tries to get top dollar for the really good pieces which are not going to depreciate in value. If you see something you like but feel the price is too high, don't be afraid to make a reasonable offer. Also be on the lookout for their once-a-year sale where you can get big discounts on items that have been in stock a long time. Also watch out for their great Estate Sales. Barbara's Bazaar is a fun place to browse through even if you don't want to buy anything. I stop by there often to see what new things they've gotten in. And don't hesitate to consign your unloved and unwanted items to Barbara's. If they are in good condition, you can be assured of getting a fair price for them, at least I always have.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jere-DePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bit Pricey”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Barbara's Bazaar has a huge inventory... this is good in that there is a lot to look at and select from, but bad in that, you know the prices are too high. A well priced second hand store has about half the inventory Barbara's has. Unfortunately, they deal with a slow down in the economy by raising prices so that each item brings in more, rather than lowering them so that although each item brings in less profit, the volume of sales will bring in more in the long run.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good collection”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The Bazaar is huge. You will need some time to ensure that you make into all the different room as there is a lot of different items you can find from old and new and very interesting

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This place has it all from A to Z and from cheap to expensive. They don't seem to want come off their prices as so many others do but that is their choice..sometimes they do. It is always a good way to spend a half hour...and you might just find something you love.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZZBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbara's Bazaar also viewed

 

Been to Barbara's Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing