We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home away from Home”
Review of Hotel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Blanca
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Our Home away from Home”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Can’t count the number of times I’ve been to Ajijic in the past years with my husband. We come back nearly every year for one week of paradise. Hotel Casa Blanca has everything we could ask for. It’s become our ‘little place’.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
We very much look forward to your visits. It's been a wonderful experience getting to know the two of you over the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    33
    10
    2
    8
See reviews for
19
75
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The CasaBlanca is an incredible find right in the village of Ajijic. Location couldn't be better, just blocks away from the waterfront and main shopping district, with cobblestone streets and flowers everywhere. Surrounded by great restaurants, we found the best was in the hotel itself, Laurant, a recently opened French restaurant. Our room was spotless with a small kitchenette, king bed and private patio, right off the courtyard, very romantic! And they have a wonderful "mirador", rooftop patio overlooking the village, for cocktails and stargazing at night.

The attentive staff at the CasaBlanca was warm and friendly, always willing to help with any questions or directions. Most of them spoke English. By the end of the week, we were treated as family. We highly recommend this hotel to get the full Ajijic experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting both if you. We look forward to seeing when you return! And thank you, of course, for all your help and advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

I recently returned from my vacation in Ajijic again, and decided to leave some positive feedback for Hotel Casa Blanca. I clicked through a few of the other reviews, and I was surprised when I came across a negative review by Kathy, one of the guests at the hotel during my stay.
I feel the need to respond to her poor review:
Simply put, Hotel Casa Blanca has all the right qualities, from a friendly environment to its professional personnel. I have been there several times in the past years.
I stayed at Hotel Casa Blanca when Kathy and her husband were there as well. In retrospect, I remember making certain observations from the very beginning. Kathy had an injured leg, which was braced at the knee, and she complained about her room being upstairs. I remember that Joseph, the owner, transferred them right away with no extra expense to a room downstairs. From my previous stays, I know that the downstairs rooms are much more expensive the rooms upstairs.
I stayed a lot in the lobby, enjoying the construction of the new restaurant (superb food, by the way), lending a hand to the painters and workers. I remember Kathy was the only one who would ask for something every day. And the staff would gladly oblige every time. She would feed the turtles too much, and once she finished their food she told Joseph that she would buy some more. But apparently, 30 pesos (less than two USD), was as she said, ‘too expensive.’
I remember looking at her when she said that, wondering: Who is this lady ...?
I just want to say that Kathy received the best service, and not one of her words is true. She even happily mentioned to me that Joseph would take her back to Guadalajara for free instead of refunding the early 1-day checkout. A taxi to Guadalajara would have cost more than 50USD.
I just do not understand your agenda, Kathy. The staff does all they can to ensure their customers are happy. Many others will attest to this.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyorknewyork1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

While we were exploring the possibility of moving to Ajijic we discovered this lovely hotel. It is right in the heart of the village and close to everything. The staff was wonderful. So helpful and accommodating. So willing to help in any way they could. Way above and beyond. The rooms were well appointed and spotless. Very reasonable price for quality accommodations. They have a wonderful first class restaurant. The chef is French and has a loyal following. Some amazing dishes and excellent prices. We have since moved to the area and arranged for visiting friends and relatives to stay at Casa Blanca. They've all be as delighted as we were.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lardca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for the nice compliments! While we certainly appreciate your business, we value your friendship even more. We'll never forget how supportive you've been of us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Springs, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We were drawn to Casa Blanca because of all of the favorable reviews, most of which were during the high season. Since our August trip I have noticed two reviews that closely reflect our actual experience.
First, the location cannot be beat as it is in easy walking distance of several excellent dinner houses, restaurants for breakfast and also lunch. Also, it is in easy walking distance from the carretera and bus stops. However, the hotel itself is not as charming as previous reviews might indicate. Our room although large was very plainly decorated and the hotel decor is rather dull although the owners are attempting to update it with middle eastern decor which seemed to be more in keeping with the movie rather than the spanish " white house ".which I found to be odd. Although touted as a B & B the only thing offered in the morning was coffee and food was not available. The coffee was not available until 8:00am or later as the owners like to sleep in. I guess that during the off season they let their staff go and the only redeeming fact is that the rates are very low this time of year but so is everyone else. During our walks around the village we noticed several other hotels on Morales and other side streets that were more attractive and also offered low summer rates. If I had it to do over I would have spent more time in research and been less swayed by other's opinions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twelveoaks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry your stay didn't live up to your expectations. Please know that we have taken all of your comments into account; your feedback is very valuable to us as we are constantly striving to improve our service and accommodations. We just wanted to clarify that we are Hotel Casa Blanca, not a B&B; we serve breakfast during the high season as a courtesy to our guests. And we only wish we could sleep in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I were drawn to the hotel by its location and good reviews, but once the "extra" charges ($10 for a second person, $10 for a king size bed) the "summer special rate" turned out to be 35% higher than their advertised price on the internet. All quotes on the website and by the owner verbally are in US Dollars. ADDITIONALLY, he does not give the exchange rate at which he converts US dollars. Joseph converted US dollars to Pesos at a premium rate higher than the going rate of exchange, so our total room cost was actually 7% higher than we thought. There are no signs in the hotel that indicate what exchange rate he uses to charge your card. (Joseph will not share this information unless directly asked.) You need to find out what exchange rate Joseph decides he is going to use for your transaction.

Since we were going to stay 19 days during their slow season, Joseph quoted our rate at $40USD per night ($1 higher than the advertised summer special) and did not charge us for the king size bed nor the second person in a room. Our friends ended up paying both the additional charges for an 8 night stay. To make sure you actually pay what is advertised/quoted, pay your bill in US dollars.

Hotel Casa Blanca is a simple, spartan hotel with no ceiling fans or airconditioning (some, not all rooms have a floor fan). The lighting in the rooms are 13 watts, which is very hard on the eyes if you wish to read in your room. You either need to either make your own ice or purchase it outside of the hotel. There was no "breakfast" - continental or otherwise, offered. Coffee was available between 8-930am. Laundry and other extra services are a 30-100% premium over the local going rates (taxi service. laundry).

The hotel was going through a major renovation while we stayed . They are converting the lobby and first courtyard into a restaurant,. In the future there will only be a small courtyard in the rear and the rooftop (not well maintained) for communal areas. You must walk through the restaurant area to get to your room. There is no controlled access to the rooms in the rear of the hotel from the public restaurant area.

One night two guests were having a very vocal argument for over an hour that threatened to turn violent. Per Joseph, guests are expected to "tell the offending guests to be quiet". Once the owners have departed, there is no phone available. If you stay here, be sure you have an international or purchase a mexican cell phone (very expensive) in case there is a medical or other emergency during the night.

Unlike the person who had unused nights refunded to them, we were told that once you have paid (charged in full at the beginning of our stay), there are no refunds. Make sure you do not need to change your itinerary that involves changes to the hotel stay. We did not experience any accomodation for having to leave one night early even though the room was rented out by the hotel.

After several emails, Joseph offered to give us a FREE night within the next 6 months after paying for a 3 DAY STAY. He promises to make sure there is a continental breakfast. Because I cannot predict what he plans to charge for the 3 paid nights and what accommodations may or may not be available, I will have to pass on his token offer .

There are a number of beautiful bed and breakfast locations in Ajijic, and i would recommend looking at them. Unlike the Casa Blanca, their websites are clear on the amenities offered and they have resonable pricing. . While our visit to Ajijic was wonderful, the Hotel Casa Blanca was a costly disappointment..

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, 25 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere regret that you had such a negative experience. To help us improve, we welcome any and all suggestions and opinions. However, there some inaccurate or misleading statements in your review that we would like to address.
First, there must have been a misunderstanding in regards to our room rates. We clearly stated the total cost of your stay, as well as explained the details of our Summer Special, at the time you made your reservation. In the end, you actually paid less than what you had agreed on when you first booked your room!
Next, we normally do not offer refunds except in the case of an emergency. In your case, your early departure was due to personal preference, and not illness or other emergency. In such instances, we offer our guests credit toward a future stay. You readily accepted our offer of free transportation to the bus station in lieu of credit or refund. (The taxi ride would have cost as much as you paid for one night’s stay!)
Also, although ice and water are not free in Mexico, we provided you with complimentary ice every time it was requested.
Furthermore, we use energy-saving light bulbs that use 13 watts of electricity, but which each have a light output equivalent to 60 watts; there are at least two in each room, in addition to two more in each bathroom. We also provide fans for each of our eight rooms.
Finally, there is indeed phone service available to our guests at all times. This includes local calls as well as calls to the U.S. and Canada. We usually charge a nominal fee for this service. You may recall that you made very good use of our phone on many occasions; we did not charge you for any of these calls. Also, emergency phone numbers, including our own contact phone numbers, are clearly posted in each guest room, in the lobby, and on the front door in case of afterhours emergencies.
We just wanted to clear up these misunderstandings, but with no intention of impugning your assessment or your opinions.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Maybe everything is great during the busy season, but just try to get some kind of reasonable breakfast in April. Excuses like "we didn't know you wanted any" to "we're out of everything but eggs" made me go to the small place next door almost every morning. Clean & quiet sure, but why advertise full breakfasts included if they aren't. Seemed like I was more of a bother than a customer!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Balneario San Juan Cosala
9.1 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Blanca

Property: Hotel Casa Blanca
Address: 16 de Septiembre # 29, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Casa Blanca in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico.In this stunning boutique hotel in the heart of Ajijic village, the world just seems to fade away. If you are looking for a sparkling clean, tranquil hotel in the most convenient location in Ajijic, this is it. Our commitment to hospitality, comfort, privacy and attention to detail helps ensure a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Lake Chapala area.Whether you are interested in retiring in Mexico, vacationing with family or friends, or travelling solo, top-rated Hotel Casa Blanca is the area's best choice for high-quality lodging at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Ajijic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing