We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Artistas B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Artistas B & B
Ranked #8 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an oasis”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Los Artistas is an oasis of beauty and relaxation in the heart of the charming village of Ajijic. You couldn't ask for a better location for wandering the streets and malecon of the village and when you get tired there's Los Artistas, inviting you home! The gardens are stunning - my husband 'the photographer' probably spent at least two hours in the gardens with his camera while I lounged serenely next to the lovely little pool on my computer because... yes, they do have WiFi. The staff were welcoming, friendly and fluent in English. They were also unobtrusive, making me feel almost as though I were in my own home. The breakfasts were amazing... fresh fruits and juice, great breads, and especially a main course that was varied each day and was always wonderful. Our room, the Mango, was charming and impeccably clean and the bed was excellent. The water is potable from the tap. I have NO complaints or criticisms to offer about this place. If you're looking for an authentic but comfortable Mexican experience, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
95
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We visited Ajijic for the first time in August and had a great time! Los Artistas is wonderful with beautiful gardens, unique trees, and such green vegetation. Kent and Linda arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport and bring us directly to our room. The room has a great garden view and is very relaxing for taking naps. The breakfasts are delicious with a variety of fresh fruits. Kent and Linda provided helpful tips on places we wanted to visit. Los Artistas is in a quiet area and within walking distance of the lake, the plaza, and many restaurants. Everything on our trip went according to plan. We are going to return this winter and will be staying at Los Artistas again!

Room Tip: There are rooms with queen beds and also rooms with multiple beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

with my choice of staying at Los Artistas B&B in Ajijic--it was more than I had hoped it would be. Everything about it was comfortable, colorful and inviting. The gardens are amazing, the breakfasts were delicious (to-die-for Huevos Rancheros), and the location is terrific. In addition to all the great things about this place, are the two basset hounds that are so sweet and mellow. They made it feel like a home. The owners, Linda and Kent, are delightful, and they go out of their way to make you feel special and welcome. I left my San Francisco heart in Ajijic!

Fran Chiappetta, San Francisco Bay Area

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My 2nd visit to Los Artistas B&B was as wonderful as the 1st visit (4 years ago). Great location in the heart of Ajijic - walking distance to everything, including the lake and the town plaza. Beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, a great breakfast and Kent & Linda are wonderful hosts. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else! They can even arrange for a driver to pick you up at (and take you back to) the Guadalajara airport 30 minutes away. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Los Artistas in Ajijic. The large property is framed by the most beautiful gardens, which look and smell wonderful, and serenade you with the sounds of nature both day and night. Our room in the casita was decorated with local color. Linda and Kent were so generous with their time when we had questions about where to go, what to do, who to call, life in the village, etc. They made sure we felt at home. The staff is so friendly and polite, and Socorro's breakfasts were a great way to start off our days. You can easily walk to the shops, restaurants, lake, or plaza from Los Artistas. We look forward to our next opportunity to visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shekkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Every room faces the beautiful garden, full with exotic plants and native artifacts. A good morning wake is a mango that falls on your rooftop and rolls down to the patio. We loved it. This B&B is located on a quiet street, yet close to the village, where the main Restaurant and shops are. All streets are old cobblestone, so bring a pair of good walking shoes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Our whole wedding party stayed in Los Artistas 10 years ago when we had our wedding in Ajijic. It was absolutely magical - gorgeous gardens, refreshing pool perfect for outdoor gather with our friends and of course our most gracious Innkeepers Linda and Kent. We returned last month, and were delighted to see that it had not changed at all - still perfect! I felt relaxed from the moment I entered the door!!! We're already planning our next visit - this time spending even more time at Los Artistas. Thanks Kent and Linda!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessofCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#4 of 26 in Ajijic
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ajijic Suites
Ajijic Suites
#6 of 26 in Ajijic
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Artistas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Artistas B & B

Property: Los Artistas B & B
Address: Constitucion #105, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Artistas is a spectacular, serene, secure B & B located on the north shore of Mexico's largest lake in historic Ajijic, location of the world's best climate. Six guest rooms, each with unique decor and private bath, provide views of its vast, park-like gardens, swimming pool, fountains, and fishpond, as well as the mountains which ring mile high Lake Chapala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing