We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas and New Year's in Ajijic Mexico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Artistas B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Artistas B & B
Ranked #8 of 24 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas and New Year's in Ajijic Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Los Artistas was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The grounds were absolutely beautiful with the lush gardens. The breakfasts each day were plentiful and favourable. Each of the rooms has its own charm but I loved the privacy each one offered. The hosts treated us like family. I can hardly wait to return.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has its own charms. You cannot go wrong with any decision that you make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathygoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
95
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Both me and my wife we're looking for places to stay in Chapala/Ajijc for our wedding weekend and the pictures we saw on Los Artistas grabbed our interest so then I contacted the owners to ask a lot of questions and they always responded in a very fast and friendly way, we booked in. We felt very welcomed as we arrived and friendly service from the owners and staf is great. The place is way more beautiful than you can see in the pictures (and the pictures show a beautiful side of it all). The gardens are big and very beautiful, excellent place for a picture session! The rooms are very comfy and nice and most of them are very independent so privacy is there at all means. The breakfast is good and the friendly service makes you feel very welcomed. This is a very great place to stay and have a very relaxed time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Temocore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We spent five nights in this beautiful B&B. Online photos and descriptions are lovely, but in actuality the entire experience far exceeded all expectation. The gardens are breathtaking, the staff very welcoming, and hosts, Linda and Kent, perhaps the most gracious B&B proprietors we've ever encountered. Oh my, breakfasts are delicious and rooms impeccably clean. We're determined to make a return visit!

Room Tip: Each room walks onto beautiful garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zirahuen, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Our first time staying at Los Artistas. Our room, The Studio was quite large with a sitting area and two private terraces outside. We loved the privacy away from the main building which added to the tranquility of the lushly landscaped property. While the owners were away, the property was ably managed by Jose and his wife Socorro.....very kind and gracious hosts and Socorro serves up scrumptious breakfasts. A lovely respite from everyday life!

Room Tip: Pick The Studio if you want more privacy away from the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is my seventh time visiting Los Artistas and the grounds, rooms, service and staff have been consistently superior to other B&B's. The hosts, Linda and Kent, facilitated my visit by arranging transportation to and from the Guadalajara airport, providing all sorts of directions and recommendations. The set-up is particularly convenient. There are six or seven rooms spread over this gorgeous property and guests get two keys: one to their room and one to front gate. This allows for autonomy--no matter how early or late the hour. Guests do not need cars as shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. The Wednesday outdoor market is just a block away. The "just right" distance from the center of town is conducive to peace, tranquility and a restful sleep and Socorro is very creative with her breakfasts. The main house is replete with Mexican decor and has two large rooms in which guests can congregate, a lovely front veranda, back patio and an eye-catching lapis coloured swimming pool. Some of the rooms have tables and chairs outside the rooms for meals brought in. I highly recommend for one person or couples.

Room Tip: The studio apt is off on its own so might be a little more private. Blue Room has two beds, a sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway, ME
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Unfortunately, we were never able to complete our trip to this destination, due to illness. I had paid more than the required deposit, and instead of the trip to Mexico, spent the time adjacent to the Brigham and Women's Medical Center in Boston! The airlines, and every single other hotel we had planned on visiting completely refunded our deposits and fares, due to the dire nature of our cancellation. This is the only venue that refused to refund the deposit, even though it was MORE than the required amount. We were told that it could be applied to another visit within 6 months, but that time frame was not workable for us. Luckily, the medical condition has now resolved, but these proprietors were completely lacking in compassion, and essentially kept our hard earned savings, while cold-heartedly citing their 'policy'.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank whprwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2artistas, Owner at Los Artistas B & B, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We did show and express sympathy. Even though we had turned away other interested renters because of our commitment to keep the room reserved for her, we did not ask her to honor her commitment to pay the full rental amount upon cancelling at the last minute. Also, at the time of her cancellation she indicated an intent to rebook in the near future, so we offered to apply all of her paid deposit to a later stay within the next 6 months. When she indicated 6 months might be insufficient, we expressed our willingness to extend that time frame. We asked her how much longer an extension she needed. We also asked her if this solution seemed fair. She never answered our questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, MX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A feast for the eye! Mango, orange, and lime trees are scattered among the giant palms, cactus, vines, and fountains in this large garden. Los Artistas is an excellent B&B in Ajijic, a resort village that we frequent. In our opinion it is one of the top two B&B's on Lake Chapala, and with the best room prices. It is in a quiet part of the village center with easy walking to some of the town's best restaurants and shops. Kent and Linda along with their staff have been very helpful and accommodating during our visit. We stay in the Mango Room, one of their medium size units, and it is delightful with it's Mexican decor. They also have a beautiful blue tile pool and off-street parking. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Mango Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
0.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#2 of 6 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Artistas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Artistas B & B

Property: Los Artistas B & B
Address: Constitucion #105, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Artistas is a spectacular, serene, secure B & B located on the north shore of Mexico's largest lake in historic Ajijic, location of the world's best climate. Six guest rooms, each with unique decor and private bath, provide views of its vast, park-like gardens, swimming pool, fountains, and fishpond, as well as the mountains which ring mile high Lake Chapala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing