We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this place”
Review of Los Artistas B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Artistas B & B
Ranked #10 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2013

To start with, I want to point out that as a firefighter/emt for a municipality, I appreciate a good cup of coffee. The coffee served each morning at Los Artistas B&B, is hands down, the absolute best coffee I have ever had. It is those very unexpected surprises that are the best.

The Host's recommended transportation provided by "Franciso's family business" was top notch, and made the trip from the airport easy and pleasant.

Once at the Los Artistas, the surreal perfection of the grounds and artistry of the garden are striking. Everything is high quality, clean, yet inviting. Lots of cool hangout spots to read, relax, or visit with other guests if you want.

Although security is not a real concern, the old masonry walls surrounding the Los Artistas gives it a paradise in a fortress like, setting. This also makes it a very quiet area, while relaxing in the garden court yard.

There are lots of brightly colored indigenous birds which are curious and easy to view.

The room I had was clean, with excellent air flow, and a good selection of lighting for evening reading. The complementary internet functioned well, and was able to easily stream video, as well as flight booking, banking, and email.

The cobblestone streets provide a great pathway to several really good restaurants, all within walking distance. Also, a laundry business, drug store, a grocery store, and reliable ATM, are just two small blocks up the adjacent street.

There is cold and delicious potable water to drink, in unlimited amounts. I choose to rehydrate using beer in the afternoons, but the water was a great alternative.

I recommend staying at Los Artistas, and intend to stay there again upon my return. I really miss that coffee.

Room Tip: Garden room is a bonus; near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

Los Artistas is the most charming, serene and beautiful B&B we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The rooms are found away from the main house in romantic, private parts of the garden on this beautiful property; they are immaculate and have themed mexican decor (ours was the Mango Room). The bed was very comfortable the linens were of high quality.

When you walk into the gardens, you feel as though you have walked into paradise; it takes your breath away. We sat in the garden, by the pool and listened to the birds and the fountains, it was so calming.

Kent and Linda were excellent hosts and they made us feel very much at home. The hospitality shown by all of the staff was top notch, they are all kind and accommodating and the attention to detail was amazing. Sorocco made the most delicious specialty breakfast for us every morning that was accompanied by the usual breakfast fare of cereal, yogurt, toast and wonderful local fresh fruit probably picked from their very own garden.

The rates are very reasonable especially when considering the gourmet breakfast and the top quality service at this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Mango Room" which had a kingsize bed, and was charmingly decorated. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were totally enchanted by Los Artistas’ ambience, especially upon our waking up to the lovely gardens complete with bubbling fountain and the sweetness of birdsong. We felt peaceful and secure in this romantic hideaway. Sitting at our breakfast table and making fine conversation with our new friends, we looked out and saw the stately mountains that also seemed to be welcoming us to this little spot of serenity. Our dog, too, felt loved.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaudreault1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here for christmas and new years with my mom this year. Not only are the grounds beautiful, but the owners and everyone who works there are extremely welcoming and friendly. The location is great and you can walk to everything you need! I had a great trip and hope to go back someday soon :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Los Artistas was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The grounds were absolutely beautiful with the lush gardens. The breakfasts each day were plentiful and favourable. Each of the rooms has its own charm but I loved the privacy each one offered. The hosts treated us like family. I can hardly wait to return.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms has its own charms. You cannot go wrong with any decision that you make.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathygoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Both me and my wife we're looking for places to stay in Chapala/Ajijc for our wedding weekend and the pictures we saw on Los Artistas grabbed our interest so then I contacted the owners to ask a lot of questions and they always responded in a very fast and friendly way, we booked in. We felt very welcomed as we arrived and friendly service from the owners and staf is great. The place is way more beautiful than you can see in the pictures (and the pictures show a beautiful side of it all). The gardens are big and very beautiful, excellent place for a picture session! The rooms are very comfy and nice and most of them are very independent so privacy is there at all means. The breakfast is good and the friendly service makes you feel very welcomed. This is a very great place to stay and have a very relaxed time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temocore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We spent five nights in this beautiful B&B. Online photos and descriptions are lovely, but in actuality the entire experience far exceeded all expectation. The gardens are breathtaking, the staff very welcoming, and hosts, Linda and Kent, perhaps the most gracious B&B proprietors we've ever encountered. Oh my, breakfasts are delicious and rooms impeccably clean. We're determined to make a return visit!

Room Tip: Each room walks onto beautiful garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ajijic Suites on Hidalgo
0.7 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 26 in Ajijic
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Artistas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Artistas B & B

Address: Calle Constitucion # 105, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: £58 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Artistas is a spectacular, serene, secure B & B located on the north shore of Mexico's largest lake in historic Ajijic, location of the world's best climate. Six guest rooms, each with unique decor and private bath, provide views of its vast, park-like gardens, swimming pool, fountains, and fishpond, as well as the mountains which ring mile high Lake Chapala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing