We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gem!”
Review of Los Artistas B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Artistas B & B
Ranked #9 of 26 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Los Artistas is a absolute find! The gardens are a kaleidoscope of color thanks to Jose, the gardener. That, combined with a tastefully done, comfortable, common area and a breakfast to die for, prepared by Socorro, make it difficult to venture off the grounds. Kent and Linda, the hosts, could not have been more hospitable. My casita was spacious, beautifully appointed and 100% comfortable! This is a MUST if you plan on visiting the Lake Chapala area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeznel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2009

Los Artistas is a relaxing hideaway in a delightful Mexican town, a short distance from Guadalajara airport. The staff was outstanding; friendly, helpful, and warm. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, quite private, most with their own garden patios. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of fresh fruits and tasty Mexican egg dishes. The common space was artful and expansive, yet very conducive to meeting interesting fellow travelers - we left with new friends from four continents! The lush and colorful gardens were filled with fruit trees, flowers and fresh spices and I came home with plenty of photos of it.

Ajijic has friendly residents who seem to cater to and actually appreciate visitors and they greet you as you walk through their town. The setting is beautiful, nestled between the mountains and Lake Chapala. Restaurants are plentiful and within short walking distance to Los Artistas. Bring sturdy and comfortable shoes - there are lots of shops and plenty to see along the narrow cobblestone streets. As for safety, I felt very secure both at Los Artistas and in Ajijic.
PB

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattiinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

I had never visited Ajijic and selected Los Artistas on the recommendation of some friends. It couldn't have been better. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The grounds were immaculate. Breakfast was a feast. The staff was very helpful. The casita, gardens and pool area were perfect for relaxing after a day of touring. We particularly enjoyed spending a morning at the local market that was just a block away. If you're planning to visit this area Los Artistas B&B is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalhoboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We have now been to Ajijic and Chapala five times and this was by far our favorite place to stay. There are a lot of nice places to stay at the lake, but this was hands down the best. The garden is enourmous, with tons of flowers and fruit trees everywhere. There is a pool and a few fountains in the middle of it all to top off as a comfortable place to relax and read. There are outside deck chairs and seats around the pool and outside each room. The breakfast was well done with lots of fresh fruits and juices. We will definitely being going back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnthegoJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We found Los Artistas B & B the perfect place to stay. It met our needs in every way.
Kent and Linda were terrific hosts....providing lots of information about the area. Breakfast was terrific, we didn't even need lunch! The garden area was so lovely we didn't want to leave and the pool was so inviting. We walked everywhere in town, so we
didn't even need a car while there. We would definitely recommend Los Artistas to others and will return there some day .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

WE visit Los Artistas when we are around the Lake Chapala Area. Kent and Linda are great hosts ,and the property is truly fantastic. The grounds and gardens are lush, colorful and a great respite from the gentle sun that permeates the village. This inn is close to transport, grocery, and many delicious restaurants. The breakfast served in the morning is substantial, and usually offers a hot dish, as well as fresh fruits, juices, toasts, coffee, etc. Once you arrive, you can experience the relaxed, casual mood of this little town. On Wednesdays, the local market is only a block or two away, and there are many good restaurants in the immediate area. It is quite convenient, even without a car, as the local bus lines run a block away, and a trip into Chapala is only 7 pesos each way. Stay a week, catch up on your leisure reading and get to know this charming village and it's inhabitants.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
Thank kellyimporta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My wife and I, traveling with two friends, found Los Artistas to be the perfect place to relax, enjoy the towns of Aijiijic and others surrounding Lake Chapala and for shopping trips to Tonala. Kent and Laura were perfect hosts. The breakfasts (especially the banana pancakes) were wonderful. The rooms and the grounds were beautiful. We can't wait to return.

Jim

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglerivertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 7 in Ajijic
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 7 in Ajijic
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 7 in Ajijic
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hacienda del Lago
Hacienda del Lago
#4 of 7 in Ajijic
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Joya del Lago
La Joya del Lago
#6 of 7 in Ajijic
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Nueva Posada
La Nueva Posada
#3 of 26 in Ajijic
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Artistas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Artistas B & B

Address: Constitucion #105, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Artistas is a spectacular, serene, secure B & B located on the north shore of Mexico's largest lake in historic Ajijic, location of the world's best climate. Six guest rooms, each with unique decor and private bath, provide views of its vast, park-like gardens, swimming pool, fountains, and fishpond, as well as the mountains which ring mile high Lake Chapala. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing