We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the strolling birds!”
Review of The Peacock Garden

The Peacock Garden
Ranked #15 of 145 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoy the strolling birds!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a delightful place in the middle of "downtown" Ajijic. The food and service are very good, but the main attraction is the lovely garden, with strolling peacocks spreading their tails for you. There are also unusual fancy breeds of chickens for your visual enjoyment.
The servers are charming and attentive. Do visit for a very enjoyable, different experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank europhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    58
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was referred here by the manager at my B&B. I arrived mid-afternoon and was the only patron. Greeted at the entrance and introduced to the gardens. I had a light meal, and shared my rice with one of the peacocks. Fast service is not to be expected. Take time to enjoy the food and the garden! I will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's a great place for solo traveler as well as couples and families. There are always vendors with jewelry, native cloths, rugs, food, cowboys on horses, children at play. Sunday evenings is music and free dancing pressed by a free lessons. We enjoyed it and spent some time there every evening during our visit. There are many restaurateurs and cafes all around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArtandStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite spot in Ajijic”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was my favourite spot to eat in Ajijic! The garden style outdoor area was lovely and smelled of jasmine and was very pretty. The peacocks and exotic chickens that wander free around the garden are a treat in themselves and are very friendly...especially when you share your crackers. The food was fabulous and our whole group really enjoyed themselves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great food and beautiful outdoor garden. Excellent friendly service. Good for lunch, dinner or a leisurely glass of wine mid-afternoon..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank medview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Peacock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing