We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their food is very good and the atmosphere is excellent”
Review of The Peacock Garden

The Peacock Garden
Ranked #16 of 149 Restaurants in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Their food is very good and the atmosphere is excellent”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

They have an excellent menu that features dishes from capers, steaks, sea food to good old American style hamburgers, if you miss the states. They have a beautiful garden that has a large number of beautiful peacocks, that if you want them to, they will eat out of your hand. Their prices a a little moderate, but well worth the visit. It is situated about two or three blocks south of Ajijic's main plaza, on Avenida Colon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wandlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a little spot of paradise. Step off the busy street and into a lovely garden where the staff are attentive, the food is good and the peacocks show off. At first I was a bit put off when the horde of chickens came to check us out but have grown to appreciate their personalities. The wait staff will be happy to recommend a food choice and are fine if you stay a bit and enjoy the atmosphere. A great place for a leisurely lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went to The Peacock Garden during the low season on a rainy weekday evening. Therefore, we were two of only a handful of customers. But it was one of the highlights of our stay in Ajijic. My husband ordered fish and vegetables cooked in a palm leaf. Someone from the kitchen came into the garden and cut the palm leaf which soon after appeared at our table wrapped around a tender and most flavorful filet. My meal was excellent as well. The garden, the music, the peacocks, the service, and the food combined to make it a memory making experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogggee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoy the strolling birds!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a delightful place in the middle of "downtown" Ajijic. The food and service are very good, but the main attraction is the lovely garden, with strolling peacocks spreading their tails for you. There are also unusual fancy breeds of chickens for your visual enjoyment.
The servers are charming and attentive. Do visit for a very enjoyable, different experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank europhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was referred here by the manager at my B&B. I arrived mid-afternoon and was the only patron. Greeted at the entrance and introduced to the gardens. I had a light meal, and shared my rice with one of the peacocks. Fast service is not to be expected. Take time to enjoy the food and the garden! I will return to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peacock Garden also viewed

 
Ajijic, Jalisco
Ajijic, Jalisco
 

Been to The Peacock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing