We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ajijic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa del Sol
Ranked #14 of 24 Ajijic B&B and Inns
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent a wonderful relaxing week at Casa Del Sol with Cathy. She is a gracious host and always helpful. The rooms were clean, modern and very comfortable. A hot breakfast with several choices was available daily except Sunday. We arrived late and Cathy arranged a driver to meet us at the airport and bring us back to the B&B. He even checked us in. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have stayed at the Casa del Sol B and B a number of times, always completely satisfied. The usuals are all met: clean, good beds, excellent service, etc. When we fly into Guadalajara, Cathy Roberts has arranged for a driver, usually Miguel, to meet us a.nd even check us into our room if it is late in the evening. We come in March and always, this is the place we choose. It is convenient to the city center, the malecon (the walk by the lake) and numerous restaurants. No need for a car. By the way, there are two casitas that are available for weekly or monthly rent. They are both great. Also there is now an excellent restaurant, Ninettes, in the B and B

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorthDPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B from Feb 16th to Feb 22nd 2014. We were with 5 friends who stayed there from Feb 12th to 23rd. My mom lives in the area so we stayed with her for the rest of the time. What a treat it was to stay at Casa Del Sol. Cathy the owner and operator has carved out a small paradise in the beautiful town of Ajijic.

This B&B is clean and beautiful. Each room is totally different and they all have their own bathrooms. There is a lovely pool and patio and 2 roof top patios. Breakfast is included and it was absolutely wonderful. Made to order and hot. The Mexican staff who work at the B&B lacked English but certainly made up with it with their smiles, laughter and hard work. We felt totally safe! There is a safe available to put you valuables but we never felt we needed to use it. The place is often locked and security wise you felt safe.

Would I go back? ABSOLUTLEY!!! Would we recommend it to others? ABSOLUTLEY!

I wish I was there now enjoying the hospitality of Casa Del Sol

Thank you to Cathy for providing this lovely place and thanks to Linden our breakfast cook and thank you to the rest of the staff who made our visit so wonderful.

We love Ajijic and can see living there for months at a time when we are retired. We would recommend this lovely B&B to family and friends who come to visit us!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs the Village is loud with dogs, roasters and the church bells. This is all part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here in December 2012 with our 1.5 year old daughter. It is a lovely place. The breakfast is delicious. Our room (we had an upstairs room) was spacious, with plenty of space to hang out just outside the room so our daughter could sleep and we could stay up and hang out. Ajijic is definitely not a kid-friendly town (well, compared to the rest of Mexico), and yet the owner was accommodating to the whirlwind that is a toddler. The pool is open year round, but it was cold in December. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

It was our honeymoon y loved having a masseuse in our room twice. Cathy gave us a few recommendations y we took advantage of a few. LOVED IT. We walked everywhere except for day trips to hot water pools. We went there twice just to relax. That was the rainy season y Mosquitos were bad especially at Casa del Sol. The food there was incredible y her main girl was awesome!! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My friend Pauline and I recently stayed in this marvelous inn in this lovely town. Casa del Sol is the ideal place to spend time and savor all the wonderful things this lovely village in the mountains and near Lake Chapala has to offer. Our host Kathy Roberts could not be more charming and hospitable, and always ready to provide her guests with her vast knowledge of the area. The inn is very well appointed with a great pool and located just about in the center of the village. The rooms are spacious and charming with a touch of real Mexico. The breakfasts are superior with fresh fruit and fresh orange juice very day. And Kathy serves coffee from Oaxaca, the best in Mexico. We had a restful and enjoyable stay and are definitely returning this summer. Ajiijic is a very special place.
Tony Ojeda

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TOjeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a wonderful stay! Gracious hostess Cathy, was wonderful helping with all of our questions and gave us wonderful tips while staying there. The breakfasts were wonderful, the rooms are so cute, but the beds made staying away from home bearable! Thank you Cathy for that added detail!
The lacation is fantastic, just a block or so from the Ajijic Plaza, but on a quiet street. Also really close to the melecon so we could walk along the lake every morning. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexicansol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajijic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Hotel Danza Del Sol
#2 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#2 of 6 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ajijic Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: Calle Javier Mina # 7, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing