We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional hacienda style hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danza Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Danza Del Sol
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ajijic
Certificate of Excellence
guadalajara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“traditional hacienda style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

we originally made the reservations on another hotel... after the first night we decided to try the hotel danza del sol. we got a 2 bedroom suit that had separate bathrooms for the rooms and had a full kitchen and living room.
they have a pool table area and tv area next to the registration area.... lots of trees and they actually have maintanance techs at night ... we could not power the t.v. and the tech came out to do it after business hours within 10 minutes of our call to the front desk.
the pool area is perfect for children.
there is no restaurant at the facility but for corporate events they do provide a morning breakfast near the pool.
looking forward to returning to danza del sol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somewhereinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Hotel Danza Del Sol, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Google Translation
¡Buenos días!

Agradecemos sus comentarios, es para nosotros muy importante la opnion de nuestros huéspedes y nos complace saber que nuestro hotel fue de su total agrado.

Sin duda esperamos su pronto regreso a esta su casa.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    118
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
166
69
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The help at the front desk was pleasant enough but untrained. Didn't know how to receive messages and convey to guests. Although there is WiFi in the lobby, it is only for laptops or iPads serviced by ATT and Sprint but not Verizon. No mention of this was ever made either before or after check-in.

TV is old and service is often interrupted. When checking with front desk, the young woman on duty didn't know what the problem was or who to call to find out.

Found several cockroaches in the kitchen. No air conditioning and room temperatures were unbearable, day or night.

No paper towels in kitchen. No drinking water offered unless you buy a large water container for thirty pesos.

We were told only a two-bedroom villa was available (the most expensive option) when making the reservation. However, when we checked in, we were almost the only ones there.

The only plus were the gardens, which were quite lovely, but the hotel is old and in need of serious updating. I would not recommend it to anyone seeking even a modicum of comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Hotel Danza Del Sol, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Google Translation
Buen día Jack B,

Le agradecemos el tiempo que se tomó para regalarnos sus sugerencias y observaciones acerca de nuestro hotel, me es grato informarle que sus comentarios ya fueron revisados por la gerencia y por tal motivo se han tomado acciones de mejora, tenemos colchones nuevos, televisiones planas, utensilios de cocina nuevos, estamos a poco tiempo de tener internet en todo el hotel, y el sistema de limpieza de las habitaciones es mucho mejor cuidado que antes.

Esperamos que pueda disfrutar de esas y muchas mejoras más que hemos tenido en nuestro hotel y que nos honre con su pronto regreso.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The property was gorgeous. We had a 2 BR and the place was HUGE. The included breakfasts were perfectly fine. That is where the positive comments end.

We had to call someone to come and get the stove working. Then we realized why they kept it off. The burner pilots were so strong they heated the room and there was the faint smell of gas leakage. There were minimal coking pots and pans, most not useable. No microwave to heat leftovers. No coffee pot. We had to ask three days in a row to get a bottle of water for the dispenser. There was no soap or cloth to clean the dishes. No paper towels. The frig did work. Multiple requests for a wash clothes or hand towels were never met. Bring your own hair dryer - evidently they don;t have any to lend.

It is about a 20 minute walk into town.

So if a lot of space is more important than simple amenities or things you would expect in a suite, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Hotel Danza Del Sol, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Google Translation
Buen día medview,

Le agradecemos los comentarios y sugerencias que nos regala en su publicación, nos complace informarle que ya fue revisado por nuestros directores y se han hecho alguna mejoras al respecto.

Esperamos que pueda disfrutar de ellas y que pronto regrese a nuestro hotel.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

There's wifi only in the lobby. So if you need to work or wanna watch Netflix, you cant do it in your room. Tv needs some work. Apart from that... The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The pool is really nice a d very big. Nice parking too. Although the restaurant needs some more options.

Would go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kaseyferie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles Real C, Revenue Manager at Hotel Danza Del Sol, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Google Translation
Buen día kaseyferie,

Le agradecemos el tiempo invertido en hacernos llegar sus comentarios acerca de nuestro hotel, nos complace informarle que estamos a pocos días de contar con WiFi en toda la propiedad.

Esperamos contar con su pronto regreso para disfrutar de este y otros cambios que hemos realizado en nuestra propiedad.

Saludos cordiales

Margarita Díaz
Revenue Manager
Hoteles Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel has great carecter, I didn't feel like I was staying in a hotel what so ever. We stay in a 3 bedroom villa super specious with 2 private patios were my boys had a blast playing with out me being right next to them, very safe. The gardens were great the pool was big and not so busy. I had a blast with my oldest son on the pool table at the lobby. At night we got the fireplace going wich gave us great warmth. overall I loved the place.

Room Tip: We stayed at a one floor villa but my uncle stayed at this two story villa wich was even more amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessyjaychrisjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

A really nice hotel if you´re planning to stay there for relax, rooms are very very spacious, big gardens all around and excellent french-mexican cuisine at Melanie´s attended by Chef Bernard Sarcion! If you like Hacienda Style hotel, you gotta go there at Ajijic.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SchusterGuadalajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2007

Danza del Sol is a 4-star rated Mexican hotel. Having travelled around Mexico a small bit I have come to realize that stars are given out by the number of amenities, with no consideration of their quality. The quality of all of the amenities except for the pool and pool bar/restaurant were horrible for American standards. It was extremely hot and humid--mid June--and there was no air conditioning and not even a fan available in the room. TV reception was horrible. The showers leaked all over the floor (not uncommon in Mexico) and out into the bedroom; what was unusual was how filthy the floor was. I took a bathroom towel to mop up the water and it came up absolutely filthy. The floors had been swept but apparently never really scrubbed. The beds were very hard, common in Mexico. All in all, not at all a great stay. The best part was the pool bar and restaurant where the people who rent and operate the space provide free wifi and are very congenial. VERY long walk into town. Try one of the B&Bs in town--there are several.

  • Liked — Congeniality of poolside bar & restaurant operators
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness and comfort
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank like2travelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajijic
1.6 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#3 of 8 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.3 mi away
El Chante Spa Hotel
El Chante Spa Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jocotepec
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Tres Leones
Casa Tres Leones
#2 of 24 in Ajijic
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Riberena
La Riberena
#2 of 6 in Ajijic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cosala Grand Boutique Resort & Spa
Cosala Grand Boutique Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in San Juan Cosala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danza Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danza Del Sol

Property: Hotel Danza Del Sol
Address: Calle Zaragoza 165, Ajijic 45920, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Ajijic
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ajijic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danza Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Danza Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing