We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to go after getting into the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Ceiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Ceiba
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chiapa de Corzo
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good place to go after getting into the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrive at TGZ airport at 6pm and Chiapa de Corzo was a nice alternative to Tuxtla Gutierrez for a night. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. The bed was a mattress on a cement slab, but we found it quite comfortable. The hotel is charming and has beautiful plantings. The desk was staffed by young people who did not speak English, and at least one seemed not to understand how to slow or simplify her speech so that we could get by with our limited Spanish. Still, they were patient and helpful. They helped us arrange a ride to San Cristobal and reservations for the canyon boat ride. We had breakfast in the restaurant, a good night's sleep, hot water in the shower (though I believe the taps were reversed). All in all, I was happy with our choice. We were quoted a price of $42. plus 18% tax....which comes out to 49.56. We were billed $49.68, so I didn't feel the hotel had gouged us on the exchange rate as others have complained. Breakfast for two (Chilaquiles and coffee) was $13. They didn't offer a buffet. There were other cheaper options as well. The hotel was an easy walk to the Zocalo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
33
54
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you can overlook the constant wailing of the captive bird, the rooms with beds harder than 4x4's, the inadequate air conditioners, and the rape called their "breakfast buffet," it might be tolerable. But I didn't overlook it and so it wasn't. The coup d grace was their charge of $30 pesos for a single cup of coffee. Never again . . .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiapa de Corzo hotels

Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

a few minutes walk from the centre of Chiapas del Corzo. Rooms are basic but clean. Ours was at front, on the first floor and overlooked the street, but was not noisy even with the window open. Pool and delightful garden. Restaurant and bar with excellent service. Food was satisfactory from a limited menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel La Ceiba for 2 nights in early-Feb. We booked the hotel through www.booking.com for $42/night. Because the website books in US dollars while the hotel charges in Mexican pesos, there is a potential for unscrupulous hotel operators to charge highly unfavourable exchange rates. In this case, the Hotel La Ceiba charged us the equivalent of $50/night, 19% higher than the then-current exchange rate (this was the only hotel of 5 bookings where we encountered this type of cheating).

The hotel is laid out in the “colonial mansion” style, with the lobby at the front, an interior courtyard with a pool, then a L-shaped building housing the restaurant, spa and rooms facing into the courtyard. The pool is small but pleasant, but it was shaded most of the day and didn't get much use.

Our ground floor room was large, with a tile floor, 2 very firm double beds, an end table and desk, a small TV and AC (not needed during the cold nights). The bathroom had a stone floor but no hot water (and it is cold in the highlands). There was no refrigerator or in-room safe, but they provided a liter of water/day.

A major down-side of this hotel is that it is thunderingly noisy at night – you clearly hear people talking in their rooms or in the courtyard, slamming their doors, walking or moving furniture on the upper floors – and all of the noises echo through the courtyard. Part of the problem is that the hotel caters to tour groups (late evening arrival, early morning departure) and makes no effort to enforce quiet periods.

Most of the restaurants in town are located on the zocalo (3 blocks from the hotel), on the street leading to the river, and along the river front. They will stay open until 9 pm if they have customers, but most close by 6:30, so plan on an early meal. The hotel served a buffet breakfast that was very expensive (120 pesos); try the river restaurants instead (40-60 pesos).

Parking was available in a lot across from the hotel; although it was unattended, Chiapa de Corso is quite a safe city. There were mini marts on the road leading to and at the zocalo, and there is a Super Che on the road into town. For an ATM, try the Banamex on the zocalo.

While the La Ceiba is probably the best hotel in town, it had a number of unfortunate and avoidable deficiencies. Untimately, the most important attribute of a good hotel is that it delivers a good night's sleep. By that metric alone, I would sooner stay up the street at the Hotel Lenin than return to this hotel. There are other options in Chiapa de Corso or in Tuxtla Gutiérrez – give this one a miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

When traveling my main concerns are quietness, comfort and cleanliness. Whether the staff is friendly or not really doesn't matter to me as long as they perform their function. Staff at this hotel were easy to deal with and did what was asked of them. The hotel has a beautiful garden and swimming pool but the bathrooms were about a 2 on a scale of 1-5. The showers were made of a concrete floor with pebbles (you just want to use shower slippers. This hotel is rated at 4 stars but it should not be more than a two (maybe I just get grossed out easily). All five of us in our party had the same complaint though. Mattresses are about 5 inches thick and they rest on a concrete platform. The room air conditioners worked great. The hotel is walking distance (about 3 blocks) from the town plaza. I think next time I would stay in Tuxtla and drive the 7 km into Chiapa de Corzo.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level which seemed to be pretty nice. I noticed the upper levels had some ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ftvaduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We thought this place was much nicer than implied by the sentiments in other reviews. Remember, this is a small town without many foreign tourists. We came with 5 people, including two kids and got two connecting rooms for about $88/night for the pair. The grounds are actually quite nice and we found the staff helpful. The rooms are basic, but perfectly fine for a stay of a night or two. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast there was fine. We recommend it for a short stay in Chiapa de Corzo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldstoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

A little dated, but the found the staff good to deal with though I spoke about as much Spanish as they did English. Didn't matter all went well. Room was fine - hot water, hard but comfortable beds, a TV and plenty of space and only a short walk to the square. Not a 4 star experience, but in more rural part of Mexico I found it to be a pleasant experience. I'd have no hesitation staying there again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiapa de Corzo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Los Angeles
#2 of 4 in Chiapa de Corzo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Posada Real
#3 of 4 in Chiapa de Corzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suites & Hotel
Best Western Plus Palmareca Suit...
#3 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Del Carmen
Hotel Del Carmen
#5 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.8 mi away
City Express Junior Tuxtla Gutierrez
City Express Junior Tuxtla Gutie...
#7 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
8.7 mi away
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
Marriott Tuxtla Gutierrez Hotel
#2 of 34 in Tuxtla Gutierrez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ceiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ceiba

Property: Hotel La Ceiba
Address: Avenida Domingo Ruiz 300, Chiapa de Corzo 29160, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > Chiapa de Corzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chiapa de Corzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Ceiba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Ceiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ceiba Hotel
Hotel La Ceiba Chiapa De Corzo, Mexico - Chiapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing