We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Cantalagua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contepec
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The place is great, but there are some small details that could be improved. I agree that the restaurant service isn't great, but the food is awesome. People on the desk are also not very skilled. However, if you take a horse ride or a motorcycle ride, people are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: This is quite important. I book a room for me an my girlfriend and one for my parents, same price ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JorgeLA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    68
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
93
49
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

*Positive: ...Amazing place, clean, very good bell boys service, delicious food, very comfortable room. I loved to find extra pillows and xtra blankets, apples and perfect view. I also loved how they fix the bathroom, you don't need to bring your stuff, everything is ready.

*Negative:... Reservation service lady didn't make my reservation well, she took so very long to reply with the confirmation, I had to call her to ask her to do it, a guy picked up the phone another day and he let me there hanging...I had to call again. At the restaurant I've paid previously for my food and after a while eating the waiter took my plate away from me indicating with this action that I should be finished eating...I saw the bold manager asking him to do it.
The window of the bedroom couldn't be closed 100%.

Room Tip: The sun rises at the siglo XXI area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

The place is incredible, the pool area is great. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. There are two buildings one old look and the other modern. Both are great... Check out the reflection pool, bar and restaurant is very nice... Also large flat tv in the room

Look forward to go back perhaps not in business

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Armando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Lots of space, decent food, good service. Great place for a holiday family get-together. The mountain views are particularly impressive. And the foliage is abundant! Lots around for kids to do, but quiet and romantic enough for couples, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed one night with a group of 5 business colleagues/friends. Had dinner at the hotel, followed by drinks in a pleasant bar in the hotel with live guitar music. Used the hotel as a base to play golf at the golf club the next day. Two non-golfing members of the party went to nearby El Oro.

The modern block has spacious comfortable rooms. The clean country air and gardens were a welcome break from the air pollution in Mexico City.

Would go again.

Room Tip: My room in the modern block was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuoVadisGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good quality / price relation. Bring bicycles and the like. Make use of the cinema facilities and make sure to go to the farm nearby. Great for celebrating Mexican Holidays like September 15th. Great Family Travel.

Room Tip: On the highway to Morelia from DF, between Atlacomulco & Maravatio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comensal_Javier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Before i went to Cantalagua i read some of your tripadvisor reviews and frankly, got scared. I worried about leaving money at the room, The "old" conditions and mantainance and the bad attitude of the staff. Not only i defy those who said that to prove it but i sat down and took the time to write a posittive review (as a mom we dont often have the time to do so) because i truly think they deserve to revindicate their image as for when i went this past weekend i expereienced moments like when i was carring the stroller and my baby wanted to walk making it difficult for me to push the stroller and hold baby´s hand, an employee that was going towars the opposite direction with some hurry stopped and helped me with the diaperbag and the stroller until we arrived to my room that was about eight minutes walking. The service´s only guit its that they can be sometimes slow. You ask for a capuccino and it may delay about ten to fifteen minutes. The rooms in my opinion (and i can be very picky) were very big, clean and cozy. Even when i saw the new part of the hotel i rather stayed at the old one for i thougt gave us that feeling of being somewhere historic.

Food is average and the prices i have to admit are pretty decent. y often ordered a glass of warm milk on room service for mi baby and they only charged 1.60 dls each time. (and they were quick at room service)

As a mexican i am very proud to finally know a truly great hotel. without grumpy or resentful people. I thought even their attires were amazing. all the ambiance (musicians playing piano, mariachis or a guitar player were a must at the meals). My husband had gone before for a work convention and luckly we got a good deal for nighty rate (about 100 dls each night)

we are definitely going back. oh! ant the golf course is amazing. i recommend a bike ride from the hotel to the golfclub and you can leave for only a tip your kids at the nursery that is at the clubhouse and a very nice girl (Nora i think was her name) will take care of your beloved ones withpout a charge while you rest. yes moms can rest too at vacations ;)

Room Tip: the old part is cozy, drapes, wood and old paintings. The new ones are modern, large, minimalistic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriaecheverria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Contepec
23.3 mi away
Mision La Muralla
Mision La Muralla
#1 of 1 in Amealco de Bonfil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#78 of 143 in Michoacan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hacienda de la Luz Boutique & Mountain Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Mansion San Antonio
Hotel Mansion San Antonio
#2 of 4 in Tlalpujahua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Posada del Carmen
Hotel Posada del Carmen
#2 of 6 in Tlalpujahua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.6 mi away
Quinta La Huerta
Quinta La Huerta
#1 of 6 in Tlalpujahua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Cantalagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cantalagua

Property: Hacienda Cantalagua
Address: Hacienda Cantalagua s/n, Contepec 61020, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Contepec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Contepec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cantalagua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come meet one of the Haciendas of MexicoCantalagua Hacienda Hotel & Country Club is a typical Mexican hacienda former eighteenth-century colonial and contemporary architecture combines two sections XVIII Century XXI Century together and provide comfort and excellence with its 126 luxury suites that offer all the comfort of a hotel 5 stars that combines history and modernity for relaxation , fun or workCantalagua Hacienda Hotel & Country Club features an Federated Golf 18 Hole Par 72. Covering an area of ​​7,086 yards, surrounded by 14 beautiful lakes , which allow all kinds of tournaments held throughout the year.Located 20 minutes drive from Atlacomulco , State of Mexico , 90 minutes from Santa Fe City, 5 minutes from Tepetongo World Waterpark and Farmer , 80 minutes by car from Toluca airport , 40 minutes drive from the monarch sanctuaries and 120 km from the city of Morelia butterfly.Free Wi- fi, parking, fitness center , heated indoor pool, tennis courts, football , volleyball , basketball , paddle tennis, bike rides .It has extensive facilities for conferences or working groups with 15 rooms of various sizes .A unique place for weddings and social events that contrast luxury with its beautiful gardens and green areas.In the Patio restaurant in its cuisine will find a wide range of regional , national and international dishes with what will please the most discerning of palates ; table wines and its national and international bar will be the ideal place for a perfect evening or simple family life complement.At around the Hacienda , you can visit the magical town of Tlalpujahua ( Michoacan ) , surrounded by forests and mountains , decorated with cobblestone streets and houses with architecture between French and Mexican , buildings with adobe walls , ornate facades with pink quarry quality. Pueblo artisan working the holiday area.The magical town of El Oro (State Of Mex. ) Gloria mining of this entity and the country is another place near the hotel . And while the term splendor while mining continues to stand as a tourist magnet of great respect. It has stately buildings that capture the attention of visitors and encourages them to seek further references of its interesting history . Should explore its picturesque streets , cobblestones and reach the traditional Garden Madero. It is a peaceful place, with lovely benches and a dense grove , great to see the people waking up slowly . In neighboring bakeries Garden Madero, serving rich coffee and delicious hot biscuits . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Cantalagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cantalagua Contepec, Michoacan, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing