We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay here but had a good breakfast”
Review of Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

After making a visit to the Saturday morning market off Plaza Chica, we stopped in for breakfast at their sidewalk cafe. Good coffee and a nice breakfast with prompt service. Great people watching during the active Saturday morning hours!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 324neilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Only booked this hotel at the last minute as Patzcuaro was a very late addition to my itinerary but I am so glad I chose the Gran Hotel. Probably my favourite hotel, and town, of my 5 week trip. The hotel couldnt have been better situated, right on the smaller, but far more interesting, of the towns two squares. It was great to sit out the front of the hotel with a cold (and well priced) beer just looking at the antics of the locals in the square! The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff really friendly and helpful, particularly the manager (owner?) who spoke good English and the waiting staff who always had genuine smiles.
My room only had a window out on to the central corridor/courtyard but was still light and airy. The room was well equipped with an enourmous bed, plenty of storage, nice clean bathroom, safe and coffee maker. Wifi coverage was slightly up and down but quick when it was working (think this was a temporary problem which the manager was sorting out so probably not an issue now)
The food in the restaurant was really nice and well priced and was always busy.
Loved Patzcuaro and loved this hotel. Brilliant value for money and I would def return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulpnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I cannot find a single fault with this wonderful little hotel. My husband and I stayed 8 nights and enjoyed each one. Location is excellent, situated in the smaller of the two plazas so it is quieter at night. Walking distance to anything in Patz. Juan Carlos, the owner, has managed the hotel for many years and is exceptionally accommodating. He immediately upgraded us when we checked in but kept the price the same as our reservation. The Gran Hotel is so clean it sparkles! Bathrooms are freshly tiled, with extra niceties i.e. make-up mirror, hair dryer, spa like towels, soaps/lotions, and plenty of hot water. The room we had had a beautiful terrace right outside the door. Coffee maker in the room and Wi-Fi completed this perfect package. Value is the best we have found in Mexico! Restaurant is another plus, the cooks even wear masks. Reservations in English went smoothly. If you have questions about the area Juan Carlos will answer them. We shall return!!

Room Tip: All really good--but we liked the top floor next to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

To be fair, we split our meals between La Surtidora and Gran Hotel. GH does fabulous breakfasts - perfect eggs and crispy bacon, and their chilequiles are excellent. Coffee is made fresh, not Nescafe. The spinach salad is wonderful (spinach, bacon, fresh orange slices, young creamy goat cheese, toasted sesame seeds with a balsamic vinaigrette) and big enough for a meal. If you are trying to eat lightly, the grilled chicken breast with steamed veg and rice is a good choice. The waitstaff are professional, but don't expect them to speak English. One of the two restaurants in town that usually has a crowd.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank sra_canu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at the Gran Hotel for five nights in june this year. The hotel is a colonial style building built in the 1950's. It is well appointed and immaculately clean. Everything worked as intended. There are two room facing the plaza and we had one of them. The Bocanegra plaza is quite active and a little noisy at times but all was quiet by 9:30pm. The hotel is owned and managed by a Mr. Ochoa who is there everyday to manage all the little details that are so important in a business of that size. The personnel is attentive and well trained. We seldom eat at the hotel where we stay, but in this case we ate practically all our meals there, because the food was good and reasonably priced and again the kitchen and the dining room were super clean. This hotel offers excellent value. We saw others costing two to three times as much and they didn't seem any nicer. Why pay extra for the Frida Kahlo fluff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Patzcuaro and I must say that we felt safe the whole time we were there and never once did we feel threatened or uncomfortable. Patzcuaro may not be the romantic little town it was 50 years ago but is still one of the prettiest places in Mexico in my opinion.

Room Tip: Two rooms face the street. The others face the hallway. Check them out first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABQrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Being well-located in town and having parking right in front of the hotel gave thumbs up for its location.

Our room had window facing outside while our friends' rooms were facing inside corridor. So if you need a lot of privacy, the inside rooms may not be for you.

The rooms were basic but clean. Exactly what we were looking for.

We were tired by the end of the day, so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. I was skeptical at first but glad we did at the end because the food was quite tasty. The menu had a large selection as well.

Remember at least to visit la Casa de los Once Patios. Beautiful structure, murals and good artisan stores that you could shop for souvenirs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We rented two rooms each with two beds for a couple of nights. The rooms were great, they each had a balcony facing the small plaza. The rooms size was great. I couldn't believe how clean the rooms were! They were truly impeccable. Between the rooms was a small living room area where we'd hang out, this also had an accessible balcony.

The hotel is located just walking distance to the plazas, churches, mini markets and mercado where there are many places to stop and eat. We ordered room service several times and this was the best I've ever seen. The service was very quick, the presentation was great, the food portions were just right and delicious.

I'd stay here again without a doubt. It's centrally located in the heart of Patzcuaro. Be sure to do the Trolley tour, the boat trip to Janitzio (you will need a taxi to take you to embarcadero for this) and then at night, the plaza in front of the hotel comes alive with ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mendez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patzcuaro hotels
1.2 mi away
Mision Patzcuaro Centro Historico
1 mi away
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
Hotel Posada de la Basilica
#22 of 30 in Patzcuaro
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Posada De Don Vasco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
Hotel Mansion Iturbe
#3 of 30 in Patzcuaro
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pueblo Magico
Hotel Pueblo Magico
#2 of 30 in Patzcuaro
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Escudos
Los Escudos
#20 of 30 in Patzcuaro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel

Address: Plaza Gertrudis Boca Negra 6, Patzcuaro 61600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Patzcuaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Patzcuaro
Price Range: £23 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patzcuaro, that means in Purapecha language: place where they raise and they lower the Gods, is a constructed colonial city in century XVII. Considered by the Mexican government one of the 23 Magical Towns of the country. It has the virtue to be near two beautiful lakes (Patzcuaro and Zirahuan) and to count on a great variety of indigenous localities with a great artisan tradition, which combines indigenous techniques and design, Spanish and even Chinese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing