We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient home base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tlaxcala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Small, well maintained hotel close to almost everything in the centro historico of Tlaxcala. Staff was helpful, our room was very clean. Good wifi signal. Plenty of hot water.

The beds were not very comfy, lighting was dim. The restaurant was inflexible about early coffee service. The breakfasts were ordinary at best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

We thank you for taking the time to review us and for being so kind to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We spent a night in this hotel in a standard room.
The location is quite central, at 2 minutes from the zocalò. The staff was very nice with us and the breakfast was very good.
On the other side, our room was dark since the building is antique.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granou1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

we appreciate the fact that you had taken the time to leave us a review. We value very much all our guests opinions. thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here 2 nights August, 2012. Lives up to all the positive comments by other reviewers. I called them ahead of time, they offered me a "promotion" of cash discount. They don't include breakfast, but no big deal. Top quality bakery down the road. Rooms very spacious, quiet. Unlike another reviewer, I did not find it hard to find at all...we even walked from bus station w/ luggage.
They have a safe for you to store your stuff in but I don't think security is any problem here anyway being located next door to the policia estatal.
One thing: there is a small restaurant at the end of the street if you turn RIGHT outside the hotel front gate...it's on the left as you walk up hill. They offer a set menu at incredible bargain and they take time to make sure you get what you want cooked right.
They have wifi and computer in the front desk area which you can use...friendly helpful staff. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for the cash discount and see what's available on the day you arrive. Street is quiet so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for being so positive all along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

It was kind of hard finding this place, both in terms of the listing and the physical location. I am with the others in wondering why it isn't listed under the 'hotels' section of this website. It would undoubtedly receive more of the attention it deserves. Then again, I am glad it isn't listed in my LP guide, know what I mean?

Let's just say that I made reservations before we came, but they had no record of it. And the location was hard to find, as we walked from where the combi dropped us off, quite a ways away across town and it seemed that every other local we asked wasn't sure of it's location. Those are my two small complaints. It was worth the walk across town, schlepping my luggage in the heat at 7+ months pregnant.

The staff was great; very helpful and kind. Our rooms were very spacious, priced reasonably, and immaculately clean. Beds were hard, but this is definitely the norm in Mexico, and is part of the experience. The grounds are lush--beautifully kept and peaceful. The owner is a very kindly old man. I loved our stay--the location is great and a short walk to the zocalo. It's exactly the type of place I would expect to find in beautiful, clean, friendly, tranquilo Tlaxcala.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari-mariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write such a long feedback and for being so positive about us. We appreciate it so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel is very recommended, it is cheap and very nice. Location is great!
It also allow pets :D
It is beautiful and comfy

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyGrajales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks so much for you kind words and we want to tell you that we value very much all the opinions and suggestions. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a small colonial style hotel that is 4 years old. It has a beautiful roof terrace that provides a view of the town, a well as an interior garden filled with flowers. The rooms are small but charming. The staff is helpful, and some are English speaking. The hotel is about a 3 block walk from the Zocalo. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matman830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thank you so much for the feedback and for taking the time to leave us all those nice comments. We appreciate it a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We are also wondering why this hotel is not listed with the other hotels in Tlaxcala instead of being labeled speciality lodging. We found the hotel to be very well run, with spacious, clean and nicely decorated rooms. The staff was very helpful and attentive to their guests needs, and the hotel's location is 2 blocks from the zocolo. Yes, the bugeler is still blowing at the police station next door, but not until 8:00 am.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeliaSolomon, Gerente at Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Thanks so much for all your kind words. We keep working and making efforts to get better and better everyday. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tlaxcala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada San Francisco
1.5 mi away
Hotel Senorial Tlaxcala
Hotel Senorial Tlaxcala
#1 of 15 in Tlaxcala
59 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#12 of 15 in Tlaxcala
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Xiadani Temazcal SPA
Hotel Xiadani Temazcal SPA
#6 of 15 in Tlaxcala
11 reviews
1.8 mi away
HB Express Hotel
HB Express Hotel
#11 of 15 in Tlaxcala
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Jeroc's Plaza
Hotel Jeroc's Plaza
#8 of 15 in Tlaxcala
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes

Address: Prolongacion Lardizabal No 6 | Colonia Centro, Tlaxcala 90000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Tlaxcala > Tlaxcala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tlaxcala
Price Range: £40 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Mexican style hotel/boutique located right in the heart the historical Tlaxcala City. The main attractions are walking distance such as churches, restaurants, museums, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada La Casona de Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing