We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very economical, good value and excellent location.”
Review of Hotel Tonala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tonala
Ranked #4 of 4 Tonala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a very basic, clean and comfortable hotel in the heart of Tonala. It has its own, nearby, enclosed car park. The rooms and bathrooms are small but adequate. It is very convenient for shopping and is just a stones throw from the colourful and vibrant main square, market and food stalls. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Sure, there are nicer hotels in Tonala but not at this price and superb location. I have stayed there many times in the last 5 years

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill_Pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel four times in the last two years while attending language school in La Manzanita. Nothing fancy, but clean, functioning rooms with A/C located in the "heart" of town. As far as hotels go in La Manzanita, this is the best.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the two rooms that are near the street due to street noise. Not a lot of traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Gringo_Del_Norte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a great hotel for the price. We had a group of 6 rooms for a long weekend and the staff did everything they could to make us welcome. Couldn't get a better location ...half a block from the main square and and right in the heart of the great shopping! Rooms and bedding very clean and comfortable..going to be back here soon!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are very charming. Request a first floor room if you don't want yo cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a small hotel located half a block for the town's square. Walking distance for all shopping. The hotel is nothing fancy, but for the price it was great. They could clean their floors better and sometimes it took a while to get hot water but again the value and location trumped all that.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaelicPhish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We stayed here for one night out of many nights we stayed in Tonala. It is in a very central location. The main square is one block away. The outdoor market on Thursdays and Sundays mostly blocks the entrance, but does not block the entrance to parking which is a block and a half away and tricky to get to. You need to get a clicker from the front desk to open the gate. The rooms were a decent size, very cozy. There's no AC though you get a powerful ceiling fan, the shower had plenty hot water and good pressure, the beds were hard, but this is typical. The staff is really nice. I recommend this place if the weather is not too hot or not too cold and if you do not have a car. We decided to stay at the Casa de Las Palomas hotel, which was about 3-4 blocks away. It's newer and has better amenities, bigger rooms, and parking on site. It was about 10USD more to stay at the other place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flip52483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Your basic hotel room, adjoining restaurant is wonderful. Room was basic but clean. Really all you need when you only sleep there. Staff was great. Amazed to wake up Thursday morning to find this HUGE market on the doorstep of the hotel. For 370 Mexican dollars you cannot go wrong

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
4  Thank Beranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Tonalá is a suburb of Guadalajara noted for the manufacture of crafts. This small hotel is located just 1/2 block off of the Plaza Principal which is the center of local activity in this working class town. The lobby is decorated with local crafts. Free drinking water and a computer are provided. The rooms are plain but clean. I stayed for three days and spent most of my time just wandering around people-watching although this would be a great spot for someone who is in to shopping as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindamae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tonala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Sol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Pueblito
Hotel Mi Pueblito
#3 of 4 in Tonala
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Santiago
Hotel Santo Santiago
#1 of 2 in Tonala
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arana
Hotel Arana
#2 of 4 in Tonala
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Guadalajara Express
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonala

Address: Calle Madero 22, Tonala 45400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tonala
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tonala
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tonala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing