We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, peaceful, artistic oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meson de Leyendas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meson de Leyendas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rustic, peaceful, artistic oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for just one night in Valle de Bravo, and this seemed like it had an essence of this beautiful mountain town. Beautiful gardens, rooms with fireplaces for the cold nights in winter, and huge windows in my bathroom overlooking the gardens. Down comforters, wooden floors, artistic and whimsical details, very nice staff.
The breakfast was just wonderful, and aromatic delicious coffee. Wish I could have stayed another night.

Room Tip: The suites are more expensive, and larger, and at least two of them overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    85
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
100
146
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would rate this 3.5 (between average and very good).The rooms really are very nicely equipped indeed and some of the rooms are extremely characterful. It is however right on the street and you do really need ear plugs to sleep at night. The hotel is also presently undertaking building works so there is some hammering during the day. Some of the rooms need better double glazing.The staff are very nice and helpful but have to also cover the paint shop next door which diminishes their effectiveness somewhat in what is very much a family run place. The buffet breakfast is excellent but with big groups they sometimes struggle to deliver it on time.
The trip to see the Monarch butterflies is fantastic but I would suggest 2 nights is enough in Valle, unless you like parapenting. It is pricey to do activities - we were offered an old beaten up kayak for 400 pesos an hour! Go during the week as it is mobbed at the weekend. I think the hotel is a decent option for 2 nights in Valle where the lakeside options are ridiculously expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DRK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We are 11 paragliding pilots from Seattle that just returned from Valle after staying at Mesons de Leyendas. This hotel is outstanding. They arranged our airport transportation and added a extra bed per our request. Breakfast every morning and if we ask for pancakes or additional juices they were always accommodating. This is not a party hotel as most of us are over 40 and wanted a nice clean,quiet bed to sleep in after a long day flying. We liked rooms 4, 7 & 8. Large TVs, comfortable beds, great food and just down the street from El Centro where we got ice cream every night. Great for individuals, couples families, and pilots like ourselves!! Esther was our contact at the hotel. Ask for her if you have and questions during your stay. (her English is great too)

Room Tip: Upstairs room have a balcony or veranda. We have stayed in rooms 4, 5, 7 & 8 and enjoyed our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A great little boutique hotel in a charming little lakeside town. If you arrive by bus, you're close enough to walk to the hotel, but the streets are cobblestone and the sidewalks are narrow and pretty busy, so I'd recommend a taxi - they are cheap and plentiful and will take you wherever you'd like. The hotel is on a quiet street, a little hard to spot, but just past the entry is a lovely little garden with tables and a breakfast area. The breakfast is included and is wonderful, made to order, anything you'd like. The staff is friendly, but they don't speak a lot of English. The rooms are large, and there is a fireplace, mini fridge, coffeemaker, water, WiFi, and movies. I'd even recommend for honeymoon plans, it's really nice.

Room Tip: They will be happy to let you go look and the rooms and then decide which one you'd like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife just returned from staying one night there. It is a quaint hotel and the staff very much makes you feel like guests in their home. There is a small staff, so you can't expect service like you would expect at the Four Seasons, but the service is exceptional. It is extremely personable and friendly. They sure go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedAMDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle-sur-Tarn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great place, lovely old colonial building in a convenient position for the centre of town(about 4 blocks). Well kept & run by attentive staff. I had a room with 2 levels which would sleep a family with 2 kids. Lots of exposed woodwork & a wood burning stove for those cold winter nights. Nice courtyard garden with an Aztec style sauna in it. A little noisy during the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amhaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a very charming, rustic hotel - raw wooden beams, uneven walls and floors, colorful stucco, and beautiful tiles. There's a lush, unkempt interior garden, with brightly colored walls, where breakfast is served. If you appreciate old Key West cottages, and the Frida Kahlo house/museum, you'll love it. We had a room on the street side: it get's very noisy and the staff provides ear plugs as a regular practice. It's about 5 blocks from the main square. The staff is extremely friendly, but sometimes busy with the seed/paint store next door,which the owner also operates.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moltoparticolare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valle de Bravo hotels
2.2 mi away
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
#4 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Las Luciernagas
Las Luciernagas
#1 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Rodavento
Hotel Rodavento
#5 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Capilla
La Capilla
#12 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson de Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson de Leyendas

Property: Meson de Leyendas
Address: Bocanegra 405 | esquina con Penuelas, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson de Leyendas 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Meson de Leyendas' meaning 'House of Legends' is a well-established, 3 Star hotel located in the centre of Valle de Bravo. We are a popular family run establishment just 400 metres distance from the main square. The hotel building was formerly a nun's convent dating back to the 17th Century that has been expertly converted into a truly authentic Mexican rustic style hotel. The original colonial architecture and features have been carefully maintained and restored to create character and warmth throughout the two buildings. Guests will appreciate the 10 comfortable, individually designed, rustic style rooms, each with an ensuite bathroom. The grounds that separate the 2 buildings feature a well designed lush green garden filled with a variety of trees, bamboos, birds of paradise, bougainvillea and other exotic tropical plants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meson de Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing