We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and confusing!”
Review of La Joya del Viento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Joya del Viento
Ranked #3 of 43 Valle de Bravo B&B and Inns
San Francisco del Rincon, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and confusing!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

For the price you pay for a family to stay two nights in this B&B we expected a decent breakfast. Continental breakfast in La Joya del Viento is very poor, and nothing that will fill you for a good morning in the mountains. Be aware that they charge 80 pesos extra per person, including the kids, if you order one egg each! We also had to pay extra for a mattress on the floor.

The weekend ended up quite pricy and not good value for the money. Next time we rather pay the same or more, stay in a real B&B and have a decent breakfast included. I don´t like to leave with the feeling that the B&B tries to squeeze out every buck in small annoying extra charges. The principle of these extra charges is wrong, a price list should be clear!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgitta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here two nights and we found a lovely, charming and comfortable place. All the rooms are very clean and have their own fireplace. The terrace is very cosy with its chimney and hammock. I loved a lot the illumination and smooth music in the evening.
A small but delicious breakfast will be served in the morning. As the rooms are situated right next to the owners house, you will get a really personal and familial service. The owners are very nice people, who were always attentive and gave us suggestions for our daytrips.
Everything is very close and accessible: Nearby you have the choice between different sportive activities and the town Valle del Bravo is just a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nata80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I have been at this B&B a few times; if you are looking to get away from the city, maybe for a second honeymoon or simply a great solo weekend with your partner, this is fabulous. I love that they have a warm pool (probably the only one in Valle de Bravo), you also get a real fireplace both in your room and in a small lounge just outside the rooms (next to a jacuzzi). Inside your room you can watch TV or videos in an LCD TV. I love its location, since you can just step out for great walks in the woods, and if you take a mountain bike with you its even better. The rooms are very clean (contrary to what I read in another review), the water in the shower is hot, breakfast is nicely served. It might not be the best place to stay if you plan on being in the town most of the time, but even so it isn't a bad option since its only a short drive into town. If you like getting away from the hustle and bustle, to relax in a very romantic and exclusive place, without the high price of a "boutique" hotel, this is a great option. You do need mobility since they do not offer restaurant service except for breakfast. Do not expect full hotel service either, but your room will be made up and clean.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I had heard about this beautiful bed and breakfast from friends in Mexico, but did not expect such magic! I visited Valle de Bravo and stayed at La Joya del Viento for a long weekend at the end of October. This B and B is elegant and comfortable, a difficult combination to achieve. The rooms are large, clean, chic, and very cozy. Each room is fully equipped with a fully stocked fireplace and a pretty state of the art entertainment center. Outside our door is a gorgeous warm pool and jacuzzi and an outdoor living room with a large fireplace. Each morning we were served a breakfast feast in our very own outdoor dining area. We met the owners who were warm and very welcoming, as was the rest of the staff. During the day, we lounged around the pool and enjoyed the spectacular views, especially at sunset! There are great places to go hiking right outside the hotel, and it's about 15 minutes away from a very cute and picturesque town. I can't wait to go back! The Joya del Viento is a hidden jem for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljunkiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We arrived after dark, but not late, around 8:00 after getting lost,. I phoned the hotel but the person there said she was inable to help with directions! When we got of the main road we had to travel through an unpaved road, luky we drove a suv, but a regular car would have a hard time getting there. We finally got there to find out that the room I booked was taken. the lady in charge, the maid, showed all the available rooms and tried her best to solve the problem. The room we chose, the cleanest, had a leek , the bathroom smelled and the closet was very stinky, I understood why they provide incense stiks, not out of romance but to make your stay less dificult. The towls were ripped and smelly. the beds had dirt as if no one had made them fresh for weeks!
The hotel is very far away from town, not 7 min drive as they say but 20 to down town valle de bravo, and there is nothing near to eat or drink.
It was so bad, we could barly wait for down to get out.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle de Bravo
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
#5 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
La Capilla
#13 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#10 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya del Viento

Property: La Joya del Viento
Address: Mesas de Jaime, Valle de Bravo 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Joya del Viento 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located at the withe mount only a 13 minutes ride form downtown, we are located in the middle of the forest with a very nice view. The B&B has 3 spectacular living rooms with fire ,poll, hot jacuzzy. Every room has a fire place, tv and very nice bathrooms. This is a B&B, breakfast is included. Hope to see you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Joya del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing