We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Avandaro”
Review of La Joya del Viento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Joya del Viento
Ranked #3 of 44 Valle de Bravo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This a small and nice boutique hotel. Even if you want to spend the weekend at the pool and just relax, this is the perfect place. They keep the pool always warm which is something unique and rare comparing to other places in Valle de Bravo.
It is only 90 minutes from Mexico City. By doing a search of the hotel on Waze, it will guide you directly without getting lost.
Valle de Bravo village is around 15 minutes by car.
Rooms are clean and all equipped with fireplace, LCD TV and CD movies are for free.
Pay $80 pesos more for breakfast and you will get delicious "Chilaquiles", they are worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. If you a are a couple, make sure you get the room Bugambilia.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axelr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for La Joya del Viento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Probably the best value for money in Valle de bravo, this b&b has everything you need. Cozy rooms, pool, jacuzzi and your own lounge. Just outside the doorstep you have scenic forest trails for a morning walk. Don't miss the Main Street of avandaro just a short drive away where you will find high end gourmet stores for eating in or take away. Notes: make sure you take the highway exit "avandaro" to save an extra 20 min by not having to cross the village of Valle de bravo. Read the instructions of your room since the hot water only lasts 7 min in some cases. Make sure to bring your dog since it'll have a blast. This is our new weekend getaway!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

For the price you pay for a family to stay two nights in this B&B we expected a decent breakfast. Continental breakfast in La Joya del Viento is very poor, and nothing that will fill you for a good morning in the mountains. Be aware that they charge 80 pesos extra per person, including the kids, if you order one egg each! We also had to pay extra for a mattress on the floor.

The weekend ended up quite pricy and not good value for the money. Next time we rather pay the same or more, stay in a real B&B and have a decent breakfast included. I don´t like to leave with the feeling that the B&B tries to squeeze out every buck in small annoying extra charges. The principle of these extra charges is wrong, a price list should be clear!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgitta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My husband and I stayed here two nights and we found a lovely, charming and comfortable place. All the rooms are very clean and have their own fireplace. The terrace is very cosy with its chimney and hammock. I loved a lot the illumination and smooth music in the evening.
A small but delicious breakfast will be served in the morning. As the rooms are situated right next to the owners house, you will get a really personal and familial service. The owners are very nice people, who were always attentive and gave us suggestions for our daytrips.
Everything is very close and accessible: Nearby you have the choice between different sportive activities and the town Valle del Bravo is just a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I have been at this B&B a few times; if you are looking to get away from the city, maybe for a second honeymoon or simply a great solo weekend with your partner, this is fabulous. I love that they have a warm pool (probably the only one in Valle de Bravo), you also get a real fireplace both in your room and in a small lounge just outside the rooms (next to a jacuzzi). Inside your room you can watch TV or videos in an LCD TV. I love its location, since you can just step out for great walks in the woods, and if you take a mountain bike with you its even better. The rooms are very clean (contrary to what I read in another review), the water in the shower is hot, breakfast is nicely served. It might not be the best place to stay if you plan on being in the town most of the time, but even so it isn't a bad option since its only a short drive into town. If you like getting away from the hustle and bustle, to relax in a very romantic and exclusive place, without the high price of a "boutique" hotel, this is a great option. You do need mobility since they do not offer restaurant service except for breakfast. Do not expect full hotel service either, but your room will be made up and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I had heard about this beautiful bed and breakfast from friends in Mexico, but did not expect such magic! I visited Valle de Bravo and stayed at La Joya del Viento for a long weekend at the end of October. This B and B is elegant and comfortable, a difficult combination to achieve. The rooms are large, clean, chic, and very cozy. Each room is fully equipped with a fully stocked fireplace and a pretty state of the art entertainment center. Outside our door is a gorgeous warm pool and jacuzzi and an outdoor living room with a large fireplace. Each morning we were served a breakfast feast in our very own outdoor dining area. We met the owners who were warm and very welcoming, as was the rest of the staff. During the day, we lounged around the pool and enjoyed the spectacular views, especially at sunset! There are great places to go hiking right outside the hotel, and it's about 15 minutes away from a very cute and picturesque town. I can't wait to go back! The Joya del Viento is a hidden jem for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveljunkiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We arrived after dark, but not late, around 8:00 after getting lost,. I phoned the hotel but the person there said she was inable to help with directions! When we got of the main road we had to travel through an unpaved road, luky we drove a suv, but a regular car would have a hard time getting there. We finally got there to find out that the room I booked was taken. the lady in charge, the maid, showed all the available rooms and tried her best to solve the problem. The room we chose, the cleanest, had a leek , the bathroom smelled and the closet was very stinky, I understood why they provide incense stiks, not out of romance but to make your stay less dificult. The towls were ripped and smelly. the beds had dirt as if no one had made them fresh for weeks!
The hotel is very far away from town, not 7 min drive as they say but 20 to down town valle de bravo, and there is nothing near to eat or drink.
It was so bad, we could barly wait for down to get out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mayetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valle de Bravo hotels
62.2 mi away
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
#4 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
419 reviews
62.2 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
143 reviews
62.8 mi away
Meson de Leyendas
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.4 mi away
Hotel El Rebozo
Hotel El Rebozo
#7 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
59 reviews
63.2 mi away
La Capilla
La Capilla
#13 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
57 reviews
64.3 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya del Viento

Address: Camino Las Joyas, s/n, Valle de Bravo 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Valle de Bravo
Price Range: £87 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Joya del Viento 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is located at the withe mount only a 13 minutes ride form downtown, we are located in the middle of the forest with a very nice view. The B&B has 3 spectacular living rooms with fire ,poll, hot jacuzzy. Every room has a fire place, tv and very nice bathrooms. This is a B&B, breakfast is included. Hope to see you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Joya del Viento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing