We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option, close to Valle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good option, close to Valle”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a nice hotel between Valle de Bravo and Avandaro.

I booked a standard double room for a Wednesday. They assigned us a room to the left of the corridor in the main building. Those rooms have a window to the parking lot, very few light.

I asked to be moved to a room with a view to the waterfall. The staff was friendly to attend my request. They told us that the room was the same, but that the ones looking to the parking lot were quieter.
The room was indeed the same, but you get more light and a better view. The main window does not open, there's a small "window" for ventilation that you can open and close. True, you can hear the waterfall in the room even with the window closed. That was not a problem for me though.

The room was clean, the bed and linens were good. It had a contemporary decoration, a small LCD TV and a small table with a couple of chairs.

The main attraction of this hotel is the waterfall. You have a great view from the restaurant, lobby, pool area and from the SPA. The SPA is good with a wide menu of services, nice cabins and the relaxation area looking at the waterfall. The food in the restaurant is not very good though, just ok. I think this is one of the weak points of the hotel.

The grounds of the hotel are very nice for a walk, you are in the woods and can walk to the river that follows the waterfall. We with this on the next day. After walking within the grounds the chalets seemed like a better idea, so I asked to see one; it felt much more cozy than the rooms and they have a terrace. There are three set of chalet blocks, the 200 numbered chalets are close to the main building where the reception and all the services are. The 300 chalets are a little further, on the top. The 400 chalets are within the woods, closer to the river. You don't get to see the waterfall from either of the chalets, but you get a nice view to the woods or the property in general.

This was my first time in Valle and I haven't stayed in the other more expensive hotels in the region, but this hotel gives a good value, if I go back I would definately book a chalet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajer0mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    111
    59
    35
    20
See reviews for
155
144
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A Citizen of the Globe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Most Valle de Bravo hotels have remained stuck in the no-frills/rustic type of accomodation that was expected when Valle de Bravo started developing in the 1970's. However, I have yet to experience a true world-class mountain-style resort in the area.

The Mision Refugio del Salto occupies a very large property next to the main road between Valle de Bravo proper and Avandaro. The property does not overlook the lake nor does it have a scenic mountain view. The only scenic highlight is a nice waterfall on the entrance side of the hotel, which can be too noisy at times, but which is certainly a welcome view, especially when having breakfast or lunch on the restaurant terrace.

Upon arrival, you enter a tight internal road that takes you around the several cabaña-style rooms and to the reception area, which hosts the main lobby, restaurant, pool and spa.

Check-in was uneventful and proper training was clearly noticeable with the reception staff, although not with the bellboy and fireplace staff, who where less polished and probably too "raw" in their service.

The rooms could be the highlight of this hotel (and of the entire Valle de Bravo) if certain key issues were addressed. First, the size. The standard rooms are quiet large for a Valle de Bravo room, essentially the size of small Manhattan apartments, boasting a small bedroom with king-size bed and an adjacent living room / breakfast room with fireplace and outdoor terrace plus a medium-size bathroom with shower (no tub).

The bedroom and living room have flat-screen televisions (with no in-demand/movie system, but only local cable).

What the rooms are missing are cozier appointments. The potential for the rooms to really shine would be for the owners to emulate a true luxury mountain resort, using more wood, warm mats, better lighting and wall-art. This place could really benefit from a well travelled interior designer. At almost US$300 per night, this hotel could easily recover investments and increase the nightly rate slightly.

Another big oversight is proper heating, especially in the bedroom and bathroom. Yes, I know this is Valle de Bravo, but it does get very cold here! Who likes loosing sleep from being too cold (only a small bed comforter is provided) or showering in almost freezing temperatures (why not a small heater in the bathroom as well as floor mats?...

The outdoor terrace could have great potential if only appointed properly.

The last improvements would be a minibar in the room, an iPod compatible sound system (even love-hotels have them nowadays) and proper sound isolation in doors to adjacent rooms.

Although I did not use the spa, other guests in my group did and their comments were all bad.

DO NOT get a room next to the road, which is VERY busy and you will have trouble sleeping with that many cars and buses passing by all the time.

Room Tip: DO NOT get a room next to the road, which is VERY busy and you will have trouble sleeping with that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ultraplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed several nights in this beautiful hotel. Rooms and amenities are all new, with modern design. The big waterfall in front of the hotel is a amazing. You can see and hear it from virtually every spot in the hotel!

Staff, food and service are superb! Prices a very reasonable.

I would definitly return next time I visit Valle de Bravo!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Beautiful hotel, nice view; unfortunatelly not a good SPA service!. Not for meetings or conventions. Could be for a weekend at Valle de Bravo, be sure your heater works! At night it is cold.

Before you take a shower be sure there is water in your room.

Room Tip: They have a building with regular rooms, they are ok! not too cold and the space is ok. Also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perla35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We spent a weekend in Valle with a few friends. We booked three rooms in the Mision Refugio del Salto hotel for one night. We paid 100% in advance which is necessary if you do booking online. When we arrived it was clear that they gave our rooms to someone else and claimed to have no rooms available in the hotel. We spent a very long time arguing with the people at the reception desk, asking for an accomodation option similar or better than the one we paid for but it seemed that the hotel didn´t think there was any problem at all and kept offering us cabañas which had a lower rate than what we paid. We ended up staying in 2 cabañas and one of them had one bathroom which we needed to share and was very close to the main road so was quite noisy. The hotel ended up compensating us with a free breakfast and dinner.
Just to add something else to the experience the waitor gave us a wrong price for the wine and ended up charging us double for it. We didn´t pay for that but it was just another unpleasant situation.
Overall the hotel is pretty and located in a nice spot. I just wish the service was better!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
México City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel is nice; it is surrounded by a waterfall and lovely vegetation, but there were some issues with service:

We stayed in a junior suite. One junior suite has a gorgeous view to the waterfall, the others to the parking lot. We got one of those.

It was hot at night, so I called frontdesk to ask for the remote control for the A/C. They told me that they will send it right away. Half and hour later nobody had appeared so I went personally to the frontdesk. They told me that the remote control was lost and they didn’t have another one, but I could climb in a chair and turn it on. Well, I had to do that, but I couldn’t change the temperature, so the room remained very hot both nights.

We had a couple of drinks at the bar and when I asked for the check I saw that they were charging $120 pesos ($10 USD) for a non-alcohol pina colada and $150 ($12 USD) for one with rum! We told the waiter that those prices were wrong, but he said that those were the prices printed in the list of prices. He was right. The thing is that food and beverages prices were pretty decent and only cocktails (with and without alcohol) were totally out of range. It’s absurd to try to abuse from clients like this. Be alert!

When we arrived, there were several hairs in the bathroom floor.

The hotel is kind of aged and lacking maintenance in some areas.

The pool is too small, but with a great view. There are no enough chairs and tables in the area.

Service at the restaurant is polite but very slow. Food was good.

A fridge in the room would be nice since it’s a hot place.

I will try Hotel Avandaro next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgnava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valle de Bravo hotels
4.2 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meson de Leyendas
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Luciernagas
Las Luciernagas
#1 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Rebozo
Hotel El Rebozo
#7 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rodavento
Hotel Rodavento
#5 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision Grand Valle de Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision Grand Valle de Bravo

Property: Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Address: Fontana Brava s/n | Col Avandaro, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico (Formerly Refugio del Salto)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mision Grand Valle de Bravo 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mision Valle de Bravo, located in the Avándaro Forest, beautifying our facility is located the Natural Waterfall Salto and Rio, so I we turn into the ideal place to carry out their important work meetings in a relaxed atmosphere surrounded by the nature or enjoy a wonderful weekend with family or friends. We have 93 rooms, standard sized, Jr. Suite, Villa Classic and Luxury Villa, so that any of them live the unique experience Mission in Valle de Bravo and the combination of forest and river with the comfort and luxury of our facilities , will make you feel in an atmosphere of total relaxation and recreation. We come discover our renewed SPA Real A'ayaní, Integral Development Center where you can achieve a body connection - mind - spirit, because we have everything necessary for you to achieve the perfect balance daily life with an extensive menu of services such as ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mision Grand Valle de Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing