We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Romantic and beautiful!”
Review of Hotel Rodavento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rodavento
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So Romantic and beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend just organized a beautiful day and night stay in this lovely resort to surprise me! We had a wonderful time, it was a great experience from the minute we walked in the door.. The gentleman at the reception desk took the time to go over all the information and ammenities with us. It was raining so we had a lovely dinner and even played scrapple by the fire.. Pur food wax excelent... The room was georgous clean and romantic and even had a loft a clawfoot tub and a wood fireplace. Then we spent the next day in the jaccuzzi.. It was honestly the most fantastic time. The scenery is beautiful and we didnt want to stop eating pir breakfast and watching the view. I am including photos. Thanks, Amber

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    57
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
68
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador,
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in the mountains, the rooms are very peaceful and clean, the bed is perfect! The food is not so good and is very expensive. The Spa is well attended and all the people there is very helpfull and nice.

Room Tip: We asked for a Suite with one bed and in the middle of nowhere. Very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've been to Rodavento for 3 nights, is about 1:40 hours driving from Mexico City. The hotel is good, it's like a mountain/valley hotel, is really good to rest, the room is good ( besides they just need to change the mattress which isn't good), also all the suites are identical with 2 double beds plus 2 twin beds at the mezzanine which is fun if you have older kids, and it's also dangerous if you have small kids as the stars are really unsafe. The wine list is not good, the food is ok if you stay just 2 days, as the menu is so small, the service is really good. They have some good entertainment like a lake, zip lines, boat ride, escalate, swimming pool (which is very hot and i am not sure if they take care of the water properly), they also have a kids club, I recommend just for a regular weekend,

Room Tip: You should ask for a room close to the reception, if I am not wrong the room numbers are 11 and 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My new fiancé and I had an incredibly wonderful experience with Hotel Rodavento. Daniela de Silva went above and beyond in every aspect of helping to coordinate a very special and customized experience with my remarkable Travel Agent (Barbra Bishop – www.mexpeditions.travel). From ensuring an early check-in that was imperative to our plans to tour the Piedra Herrada Butterfly Reserve later that day to creating one of the most romantic dinner experiences my fiancé and I have ever had on the Terrace outside the lake. Daniela also went to great lengths to ensure arranging a safe and timely transfer that left the hotel for Mexico City at 5AM. As spread out and quietly secluded as the hotel is laid out, Omar Torres seemed to be everywhere anticipating everything we could possibly need. He was especially helpful with Spanish-English translations and made us feel like we were the only guests staying at Rodavento.

The accommodations were truly unique with the individual “habitacions” that again, made us feel as if we had an entire hotel all to ourselves. Having not packed as warmly as we should have, the in-room fireplace was as practical as it was beautiful and romantic. We will never forget the view of the floating candles across the lake during dinner after we got engaged. The servers could not have been more polite, attentive, and enjoyable. While at dinner, the staff decorated our room with many more rose pedals and candles than we could ever count – another delightful touch.

My tour guide stopped in for a cup of coffee before we headed to the reserve and noted that Rodavento was by far the most impressive in the Valle de Bravo area. We would highly recommend the accommodations, staff, and experience to anyone who is interested in visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here in Feb 2014. We didn't have any great expectations - we booked it at the last minute for a weekend away from Mexico City, and got the last room available. But we had a wonderful time.

The real attraction is the location. The hotel is set amongst wooded hillsides about 5km outside Valle de Bravo, around a small lake. I hadn't realised it from the website, but the rooms are all individual cabins in the trees. Nicely furnished and spacious, our cabin was very quiet, and we spent our first couple of hours there having a calm picnic on our terrace.

The hotel has a nice, heated pool which our children spent hours in. There are also a few walks through the woods. All very relaxing. You can go kayaking, zip down the flying fox or indulge in archery, but we were happy just taking it easy.

There is a nice restaurant overlooking the lake, with good food at surprisingly reasonable prices considering you are at a hotel out of town - $10 for a good burger and chips, for example. The hotel personnel were also unfailingly friendly and helpful, with a special mention to Alexa who was very attentive.

So all in all a great trip, and while Rodavento isn't the cheapest option in Valle, I would be surprised if it isn't the best.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Fantastic weekend getaway from Mexico City.

Pros:
- secluded location and individual cabins, all located close to the main lobby/restaurant/pool
- great kids club with rock climbing, ziplining, kayaking, etc.
- has a spa (never went but I was told they have yoga classes as well)
- good food, kids menu
- rooms have a 'purified water' bottle that they refill everyday (Bonafont)
- turndown service at night with chocolate kisses
- heated pool

Cons:
- a little pricey, but worth it
- reserve with the hotel itself to get free breakfast included
- service at the restaurant was mediocre... would have expected more for the price

Definitely worth going, even if for just one night. If you ask, they will give you a late checkout.

Room Tip: We had room #2.. all of them seem decent but I liked this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to go to Valle de Bravo in early december. A friend had stayed there and had a good time.
We spent New Year's eve and had dinner and drinks. Dinner was good and they had a DJ with descent music.
In my opinion the room was expensive for what we got. It included a great breakfast but that was it.
Service was good but SUPER slow. There is not a fitness center.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valle de Bravo hotels
1.8 mi away
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
Mision Grand Valle de Bravo
#4 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
409 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
394 reviews
4.0 mi away
Meson de Leyendas
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Las Luciernagas
Las Luciernagas
#2 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
196 reviews
4.0 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Rebozo
Hotel El Rebozo
#7 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rodavento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rodavento

Property: Hotel Rodavento
Address: Km 3.5 Carretera Valle De Bravo, Valle de Bravo 51200, Mexico (Formerly Rodavento Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Estado de Mexico > Valle de Bravo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Valle de Bravo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rodavento 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic Scenery where architecture merges with unique natural sorroundings, simplicity and good taste in design, authenticity and hospitality of its staff.Rodavento features 28 beautiful suites all decorated in earthly tones and elegantly equipped with king and double beds, cozy linens, fireplace and loft outfitted with other inviting nest and exquisit interior design. Sliding doors open to a sleek wooden deck and provide beautiful views of its sorrounding forest, gardens and private lake.Soft adventure and wellness that offer unforgetable experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rodavento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing