We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Experience in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho San Cayetano
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Experience in Mexico”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We traveled to the state of Michoacán, Mexico over the Christmas holidays to visit the sanctuaries where the Monarch butterflies migrate to each year. After flying into Morelia, we rented a car and drove to Zitacuaro. The expedition to the Cerro Pelon sanctuary was arranged by our hosts at the resort, and it was absolutely magical! Far, far, far more amazing that we had ever allowed ourselves to hope for! Our lodging was as perfect as the butterfly trip, as well as the gorgeous grounds and delectable meals. Everywhere we went we encountered outstanding hospitality and felt completely safe. We dream of returning someday!

Room Tip: If there were 6 circles, we'd click on that one. Excellent just doesn't seem to be a strong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    11
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
37
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shorashim
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Staying here is like staying at a friend's beautiful ranch. We were warmly received by owners Pablo and Lisette and felt right at home. Our room was lovely and the dining room felt like home. The fire was going in the fireplace, the food was great and Pablo joined us for dinner! Afterwards he showed some very interesting videos about the butterfly migration. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seashel1982
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Rancho San Cayetano over New Years Eve. I was welcomed by lovely Lisette the owner who welcomed me over lunch and wine looking over the beautiful pool and garden. My room could not have been cozier. The beds were incredibly comfortable and having the fireplace in the room was just perfect for those slightly chilly nights.

Celebrating New Years Eve there was so fun and memorable. The live band and delicious dinner was just beautiful. The owners, guests and staff all celebrated the countdown at midnight with champagne and desserts.

The butterfly tour arranged by Pablo the owner is also a must. Not only was it well organized, it was a once in a lifetime sight. Pablo is incredibly kind and knowledgable about all things Monarch Butterfly related. He let me watch some great butterfly documentaries in the common room which made me appreciate the butterflies further. I am looking forward to returning to Rancho San Cayetano in the future. Can't wait.

I would also recommend booking a massage for after the butterfly tour. After a long day of riding horses and hiking it was a perfect way to unwind!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashel1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel and resort was perfect. It was small and intimate with beautiful, manicured grounds. The rooms were very cozy with comfortable beds and a fireplace in each room. The husband and wife owners were very hospitable and went out of their way to answer questions or arrange tours. The best part was the tour they arranged to see the Monarchs. If you go to Ziracauro between November and March, do not miss this phenomenon. You will be awe struck!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the King rooms with in-room fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We arrived to Ranchero San Cayetano at night, after the kitchen had closed. Despite this, the wonderful host made sure we would have a nice light dinner and a good glass of wine to settle in from our journey on the road. With the weather being a bit chilly, the wood burning fireplace in the room was the perfect way to fall asleep. Because we had arrived at night, waking up to the lush green surroundings and singing birds was a very pleasant surprise. After a quick dip in the gently heated pool, we enjoyed a delicious, breakfast on the terrace. Everything was made from scratch, and the selection of preserves and freshly baked baguettes were wonderful.

From pottery to linens, embroidered fabrics to handicrafts, the hotel perfectly combines traditional Mexican aesthetics with modern touches. Rich terracottas, browns, golden yellows, lime greens blues and reds are a lovely contrast to the natural greens of the landscape. It was perfect for the Urban-Hippy in us, we will definitely come back another time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrowandwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

After six and a half hours on buses of various sorts and two very long cab rides we pulled off the road, through the stone gates and found ourselves in a veritable oasis... vast expanses of manicured lawns, stone pathways, shade trees and flowers... It really is breathtaking... We felt very much like we were on one of the gulf islands of British Columbia... lots of stone and wood... and the kind of quiet you rarely experience in a Mexican city. We were travelling with our daughter and her beau - a delight in itself - and stayed in one of the new two bedroom suites at the back of the property. It was beautiful.
Pablo and Lisette are very kind and gracious hosts. They planned our excursion to the butterfly reserve (the lunch they packed was so good), made sure we had everything we needed and on our weary return from the mountain had a hammock hanging on our porch...
You need to be aware that the Ranch isn't cheap. The food is expensive, the menu is singular and a bit lacking... But regardless - we felt it was definitely worth all the travel and cost...
Will we return to the Ranch again? Absolutely. Do we recommend the Ranch? Absolutely. Our only regret is that we didn't plan an extra day to just kick back and relax around the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveljaneAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

What a charming discovery (we found it on Tripadvisor): the perfect spot to overnight before and after a day climbing the mountain on horseback to see the monarchs. Luxurious and relaxed, this country lodge has a variety of spacious and character-filled rooms (every one with a working fireplace: very welcome on cool evenings), a generous open-air pool to ease the muscle-aches from the invigorating climb to the butterflies, broad and shady gardens for a contemplative stroll among the flowers and shrubs, and a splendid kitchen overseen by the charming and gregarious hosts (get Lisette to sit down and tell you about her amazing life). For a fee they'll take care of all the details of the monarchs trip, right down to a group packed lunch (they go to Cerro Perron, which is not the most popular of the sanctuaries, probably because of accessibility challenges, but comparatively close by and very much worth the effort), and they have a very helpful video and book library on the butterfly story. Great accommodations; great company; great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diaghilev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zitacuaro
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Monarca
Hotel Villa Monarca
#1 of 2 in Zitacuaro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
22.8 mi away
Meson de Leyendas
Meson de Leyendas
#3 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
20.7 mi away
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
El Santuario Hotel And Spa
#6 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
Loto Azul Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Valle de Bravo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel-Boutique La Casa de los Recuerdos
1.8 mi away
Hotel Irekua
Hotel Irekua
#1 of 6 in Zitacuaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho San Cayetano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho San Cayetano

Property: Rancho San Cayetano
Address: Carretera a Huetamo | Michoacan, Zitacuaro, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Zitacuaro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Zitacuaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rancho San Cayetano 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho San Cayetano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho San Cayetano Hotel Zitacuaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing