We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Unparalleled excellence.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My partner and I have been fortunate enough to visit a number of great hotels and resorts around the world, including properties such as the Four Seasons and Banyan Tree.

The St. Regis Punta Mita is, hands down, one of the best resort properties we have stayed at. The resort is immaculate and very well designed. The staff is excellent - we are greeted by name by staff members that I didn't recall meeting. The butler service is a very nice touch.

Like many reviewers I struggled with whether to stay here or the Four Seasons. We visited the Four Seasons one day and I must agree with the other reviewers that it felt more cramped and older than the St. Regis. We were very happy with our decision to stay at the St. Regis.

A couple of quick tips:

- The resort is quite small. I wouldn't worry too much about the room category you book unless you need the space.

- The car service from the airport was great. However, look specifically for the person holding the St. Regis sign and avoid talking to anyone else. There seemed to be some people trying to take advantage of the confusion in the airport.

- All three restaurants at the St. Regis are excellent - but all unique. Sufi is in the same complex as the St. Regis and the Four Seasons and was also excellent.

- I highly recommend the town tour - you see a lot of the town. Parts of the town appear a little rough, but we enjoyed learning more about where we were staying.

- The whale watch boat trip was incredible. Shouldn't be missed if you are there in the right season. However, the boat is very small (purposefully so, because its easier to get closer to the whales.)

- During the slower times, the upper level of the pools (two of the pools are two levels - amazing) were more relaxed and laid back... however service up there was also just a bit slower.

- You will hear that the beach is rocky - that is somewhat true. Walking into the water is definitely rocky. However, the rest of the beach is beautiful.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank EWR2AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Sir

Greetings from Punta Mita - thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to our Resort. Your tips and advice on waht to do and how to do it are indeed spot on and I sure readers will find them useful indeed.
We hope to welcome you back soon and havev a wonderful 2012

Carl Emberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,974 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just got back...whaaa. Wish we could of stayed longer. We have stayed with Starwood all across the nation. This is a top rated luxury hotel. They don't miss a thing and we were spoiled rotten by the staff. The food, drinks and accommodations are exceptional. The beach is stunning and there wasn't a soul on the beach. Nothing like chips, salsa, fresh guacamole and off the charts margs served to you with a smile on the beach....life just doesn't get better than that. Home less than 24 hours and booking my next trip!

Room Tip: Request top floor and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Madam Sir
Greetings from Punta Mita - we thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us and we are indeed glad you had such a wonderful stay and found our team dedicated to service, the Margaritas and Guacamole yummy and indeed we do have a long beach some parts of which are rocky and another very swimmable area. In fact the rocky islands in front give the whole scenery a special touch which is great.
Hoping to see you again soon and have a wonderful year
Carl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have travelled to luxury resorts all over the world and the St Regis at Punta Mita met all the expectations we have. From
the GM, Carl Emberson to the servers at the restaurants everyone is focused on satisfaction.
Attention to detail is great. The two golf courses are excellent and, although we did not use the tennis facility, it looked really nice too.
The spa services were terrific and the facility itself second to none.
This resort is about an hour north of Puerto Vallarta so several of the best restaurants there have opened near the St Regis. Sufi being one of the best. In town the restaurants are great too. It is a 100 peso ride in one of the resorts Escalades. These are also used for transfers to and from the airport.
This is a seamless experience for any age guest.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the upper levels with a balcony although the lower rooms have great patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Escaping the cold in London we just spent a wonderful few days at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort. I loved the Sea Breeze Beach area with Ricardo our Pool Butler who was always smiling and ever so helpful. The ice lollies at around midday were delicious. Went to Punta Mita a few times for lunch at Boca Deli- a great spot and where lots of the local residents catch a bite to eat. Dinner in La Carolina was one of the highlights of my stay - just loved the mango dessert as well as the Cappuccino, and Cesar was a great waiter. Whale watching was great as well as swimming with dolphins in Vallarta. The Champagne Ritual in Alta Mira on Friday nights is not to be missed! Would definitely recommend a half day at Sayulita Beach town- bohemian, fun, laid back but not luxurious. However, it was a taste of real Mexico. Loved the outdoor showers in the rooms, the food was sublime and definitely want to come back sooner rather than later. The staff made every effort to make our stay everything we wanted it to be.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have the best views and all come with their own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned from a couples trip to Punta Mita and had a fabulous time! The St. Regis is a lovely property that is spread out with beautiful gardens throughout, three pools and lots of privacy. An easy place to get lost and relax...there is a very large beach with a specific area designated for swimming and snorkeling, the rest is very rocky. We enjoyed beautiful sunsets on the sand. Service was nice, yet slow, but I believe that may be typical of Mexico. All staff were courteous and helpful. We had an oceanview suite which was large and nicely appointed. I saw several other rooms. Since we do not spend alot of time in our room, I would stay in a Oceanview Junior Suite or even a Oceanview room on our next visit. Loved the outdoor shower! The food was good, as were the drinks! This is a great location for a wedding or honeymoon. I would definitely stay here again...alone, with friends, and with my grown children. Not sure there would be enough to do for young families who like action. Oh, there is butler service....they will bring you coffee in the morning, unpack your bags, press your clothes, etc. A nice extra. I found the coffee to be weak and preferred walking to lobby and getting a fresh cup there...

Room Tip: I think most rooms are really nice, just depends on how much space you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are looking for a very relaxing tranquil vacation with exceptional service - St. Regis Punta Mita is for you! Immediately upon arrival, the high level of service was palpable. We felt every staff member was there to assist in any way possible. The butler service was an added plus. The champagne ceremony (ceremonial sword uncorking of bottles) was nice. Carl Emberson, the general/property manager, checks on and meets the guests. The culture of service excellence was ubiquitous. The gym and spa are great. There is a nice Children's play center as well with activities for kids from 5-12.

The property is simply paradise. It is very quiet - which is exactly what we needed to relax. It is family friendly too. Pools are very nice. the property never feels crowded. In fact, its easy to carve out a little private space anywhere on the property. Rooms are very nicely finished with indoor and outdoor showers. I would concur with another reviewer that the St Regis successfully created an upscale hacienda type atmosphere.

The only very mild criticisms I have for the St Regis Punta Mita is 1) their internet via WIFI and ethernet cable was very choppy - (but I probably should not have been interrupting my vacation with checking email anyway), and 2) dinner at Seabreeze was a bit bland. although service was still top notch. We did visit the neighboring property at the Four Seasons for dinner. Their Asian fusion restaurant was excellent. We did not have the chance to visit the St Regis' fine dining option but heard it was very good. The beach is nice but rocky - but this is true of any beach on the Pacific coast. Although I did not have a chance to play golf, the course appears to be a golfers paradise.

Whether you are looking for a adult romantic getaway, or a family friendly trip for relaxation, St Regis Punta Mita must be on your to-do list! Outstanding property and experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My family of 8 people just returned from 10 days vacation to St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, where we spent the New Year and we had a fabulous time! There are many wonderful and value added reasons to book your stay at this paradise!
The hotel has a great location, excellent spa, many swimming pools and jacuzzis, private sand beach and you can enjoy astonishing sunsets every day!
The service at the resort is fantastic! The General Manager, Mr.Carl Emberson, is always present and friendly with the guests. Having the sunset as a background, we were invited to join him for a champagne happy hour and the highlight was the bottleneck cut with a sabre!
The staff members are extremely kind and courteous, serving us a variety of margaritas, delicious ceviches and guacamoles prepared on the beach. Sea Breeze and Marieta are two of the restaurants my family enjoyed the most, with excellent food, charming atmosphere and impeccable service.
The New Year's Eve party on the beach was definitely a night to remember! Delicious and well prepared food along with very good music that made everyone get up and dance!
No doubt, we all enjoyed a memorable time!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
7 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
215 reviews
9.3 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
250 reviews
14.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#9 of 11 in Punta de Mita
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,042 reviews
3.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Address: Carretera Federal 200, km 19.5 | Lote H-4, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: £349 - £2,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches at the Riviera Nayarit, in a a 1500-acre resort and residential community, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort is an exquisite luxury resort in Punta de Mita, Mexico. Our property features 120 accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. We offer an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing