We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud Nine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Cloud Nine”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

If you want to visit Mexico in style, St. Regis Punta Mita is definitely the place to go.
We have just returned from this magnificent resort and were thoroughy impressed from the minute we arrived. A cold towel and welcome margarita in the sunset lounge while our bags were wisked away. We did not lift a finger and were taken to our beautiful suite. I have never felt more like royalty, the suite was enormous & the ocean views just breathtaking. Our friendly butlers Cayetano & Luis were at our service 24/7 for whatever needed. There was even a baggage unpacking service on offer...!
This resort has everything, you can choose to spend the days just relaxing by your own private pool or getting more adventurous. We went golfing, spearfishing, surfing, horse riding(not for the novice) & exploring the quaint Mexican village nearby.
The activities manager, Tony, was fantastic. We had guacamole & margarita making classes which were both brilliant.
The cuisine at the resort was excellent & SeaBreeze my favourite restaurant. Nearby Sufi is close and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gege_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    133
    43
    12
    9
See reviews for
472
1,023
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My family and I just spent 9 nights in the Presidental Suite at St Regis Punta Mita. The location of this resort is second to none, surrounded by beautiful white beaches and lushious green golf courses. We were greeted upon arrival with a refreshing Margarita and from that moment until the day we drove out of the gates the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The 24hr butler service was fantastic and nothing was ever a problem for them. We ate several meals in our suite and the food was with out a doubt the best room service we have ever had. The suite is well equipped and very comfortable and we could have easily spent every moment of our stay lounging around the suite and swimming in our private pool and jacuzzi. The 2 outdoor showers off the main bedrooms were fantastic and the bathrooms are very spacious and well appointed. We ate at all 3 restaurants during our stay and our favorite would have to be Sea breeze for value and variety although we did have a fantastic dinner at Carolinas one evening. If you feel like getting out of the resort for a meal I would recommend Sufis for dinner which is a 3 minute drive down the road and definitely worth a look. The town of Punta Mita is only small but there are some nice little shops and restaurants which are worth while exploring. For the surfers there is a great little wave out the front of the Resort which I surfed every day and there was never more than 4 people out at any one time. The 3 pools are great and while we were there the Resort was full and we never had a problem getting a seat at either pool and I have to say it was never crowded anywhere in the resort at any time. The girls spent a bit of time in the day spa and were very happy with the services provided and my wife said it was one of the best massages she has ever had. We had an amazing stay and would like to thank all the staff for making us so welcome and taking care of us. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crackers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I decided we needed a quick 3 day break from the world (and our 4 year old daughter), so we booked a long weekend at this resort. I read many reviews here on TripAdvisor before booking, and all were positive. Needless to say, we agree! The resort was beautiful, the service fantastic, and we couldn't have been treated any better. We came in late on Thursday and enjoyed the fresh fish on the beach on Friday at 11:30 (they'll cook it for you for lunch or dinner that day) as well as the champagne happy hour on Friday night in the lobby. The pools are beautiful and the food was great. We did go off the property for dinner for a night or two, and had some great meals at Casa Teresa and Sufi. The biggest downside-it rained on Saturday of the weekend we visited. But that's not their fault. It did put a damper on the weekend, but we still enjoyed ourselves immensely, and would highly recommend the St Regis for those who just want to get away for a while and enjoy being pampered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We chose this hotel partly based on other Trip Advisor comments, and we were not disappointed. Beautiful grounds, amazing beach, lovely room, and the service is outstanding. Xavier and Tony were especially helpful and friendly on the beach. We loved the section of the beach in front of the "adults only" pool - it wasn't crowded and it was very quiet. Carl, the manager, is extremely approachable and he went out of his way to make our stay incredibly special, thank you! We will not forget the service at this resort, it truly is above and beyond!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and the sound of the waves was wonderful! We were all the way on the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Getting there is a little bit of a schlep from the Puerto Vallarta airport. But the personal greeting with a cold towel and cold water at the hot & humid airport made the hour long ride to the property bearable.
Note: We pre-booked a ride through the hotel which adds approximately $15 per person to the $75 per person ride in the air conditioned SUV. The driver was jamming to Barry White so no complaints there. You're going to the St. Regis so get ready to shell out some $$$.

Check-in was warm and gracious and a fresh margarita w/ salted rim was in our hands before we had time to get frustrated by the few minute wait for staff to arrive. We took the golf cart to our room and settled in. Bags arrived 15 minutes later but no butler to unpack them which we were sort of looking forward to. Oh well.

The rooms are appointed with lovely and fresh decor. Feels more home-like than hotel like and it has a certain charm. There really isn't a bad room in the resort. Some are closer to the adult pool but then those are further away from the restaurants. Others that are closer to the family pool are further away from the adult pool. Pick your pleasure. Each room features an outdoor shower which is relaxing and exhilarating. A perfect way to end the day.

The butler greeted us but his services were never very clear to us. Throughout our stay he stopped by a few times but his purposes other than perhaps making a reservation was not entirely understood. Nice gentleman though.

Most of our days were spent lounging at and in the adult pool. My partner and I found chairs we liked and stayed at them nearly every day. It was pleasure to stroll down to the pool in the late morning and find that the pool attendant had the chairs ready with towels and an ice bucket full of water bottles waiting for us. I wish I could remember his name as he helped us throughout our stay - drinks, lunch, drinks, drinks, afternoon snacks, smiles, and friendly chit-chat. The pool was so enjoyable and relaxing for us that after a few days we were there from late morning until sunset. We had lunch at the pool side and didn't even bother going to the restaurant during the day because we were so content in the pool area. We read in the pool, floated, swam, sipped our cocktails, occasionally chatted with other guests, and only got out to either nap on one of the lounge chairs or use the bathroom.

One of the restaurants was closed as we were there in the off season. The food was good but not fantastic. We ordered room service several nights on our romantic vacation and the prices were a bit on the high side. Value-wise it was a little disappointing. And one time the two gentleman who brought us room service knocked and came right in not giving us a chance to open the door. This was a bit unsettling but not the end of the world.

The beach, in a word, stinks. Too rocky to enjoy but pretty to look at. Nonetheless it did not detract from our enjoyment as we were not planning on a beach vacation.

This is sad to admit in a way but we never left the grounds except for a few visits to the Four Seasons for dinner. (The food is much better there although the staff at the Four Seasons pales in comparison to the warmth and personal attention that you get at the St. Regis.) We were so relaxed that we never wanted to leave the compound to venture into the town. Other guests found a few good places to dine at and walk around but it was not compelling enough for us to leave the St. Regis.

A few things I would like to see the resort do:
1.) wifi in pool areas
2.) more prompt service at poolside - like when you want to order a drink
3.) make shuttle service to the Four Seasons and back free

Other than those recommendations things are pretty fabulous at the resort. Thanks for a great vacation...we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HppyTravlr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at the St. Regis Punta Mita. We have stayed at several very "high-end" resorts (e.g. Palmilla, Jumby Bay, St. Regis Princeville, Little Dix Bay), and we felt that the St. Regis Punta Mita was in that same class of resort, if not nicer.

1) Property-- the property is perfectly located right on the water, with many of the casitas having ocean views.

2) Accomodations--We had a junior suite, and it was perfectly appointed--comfortable bed/linens, 3 flat-screen TVs, double vanity, indoor and outdoor shower, and outdoor patio.

3) Cleanliness--.our room, the restaurants, the spa, and public bathrooms were all SPOTLESS. We also experienced no issues with food-borne illness, despite consuming fresh fruit/vegetables as well as drinks with ice cubes (presumably made from tap water).

4) Service--This may be the resort's biggest selling point. It's hard to imagine better service. Every portion of our trip was handled perfectly by the St. Regis, including our arrival at the Puerta Vallarta aiport, transportation to the resort, and check-in. Throughout our stay, every possible need that might arise was handled efficiently by the staff, whether by our assigned butler, pool attendants, waiters (special thanks to Paco), concierge, and lobby staff (special thanks to Jorge, the MOD). We were repeatedly amazed by how the staff (at all levels) seemed to genuinely care that our stay be as enjoyable and carefree as possible (e.g. I called the gift shop one evening to inquire about sun tan lotion. Unsolicited, the clerk offered to have the product we wanted delivered to our room (at no added charged)--it arrived 5 minutes later. On another occasion, one of the pool attendants (Paco) discretely arranged for flowers to be delivered to the Carolina restaurant for a Valentine's dinner we were having later in the evening).

5) Food. Excellent. As mentioned, no issues with food-borne disease. We did the buffet each morning and lunch at the pool each afternoon. Dinner at Carolina was top-notch.

6) Price. The St. Regis was not cheap, although we were able to take advantage of a promotion in which our 4th night was free. Further, when I looked at comparable resorts in Cabo (Palmilla, Ventanas) or in the Carribbean (Cap Jaluca, Jumby Bay, etc), I think the St. Regis was actually a good value.

7) Based on the news, we had some concerns about safety. In fact, there is a US state depart ment travel advisor for Nayarit (although, this applies to areas somewhat remote from Punta Mita). With that mind, we never had any safety concerns during our stay. As mentioned above, we got through the Puerto Vallarta airport very quickly and our St. Regis arranged transportation was waiting for us. Further, Punta Mita is a small peninsula with only one access road (which appears to be heavily guarded). Thus, I had *zero* safety concerns during our visit.

Overall, I would highly recommend the St. Regis Punta Mita as an ideal resort vacation for anyone looking to have a relaxing experience in top-notch accommodations and spectacular service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

When we stayed at the St. Regis, there weren't many other guests at the hotel, which made it feel very private and relaxing. The beach spans the entire length of the hotel with three different pools bordering it, so there are many lounge chairs, umbrellas and cabanas/beds to choose from. We liked that there are trees on the beach that provide extra shade. The beach is a little rocky, but we wore flip flops into the water and it was fine.

We both were sick (unrelated to the hotel) and the hotel doctor had to come to our room. After that, everyone from the General Manager to our Butler continuously asked if we were feeling better and if they could get us anything. It was really amazing how much they went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

The food is amazing--very authentic Mexican cuisine. We loved the Mexican breakfast and lunch options, especially having the choice of all the restaurant menus for lunch at our beach chair. We went to Bahia at the Four Seasons and highly recommend that for a sunset dinner right on the beach. There is a small charge for a ride to the other hotels and restaurants.

We enjoyed the tennis center and golf course, which are both a short golf cart ride from the St. Regis. We took a private lesson and used a golf caddy--recommend both. It was also helpful that the hotel stored our clubs at the golf course, so it wasn't in our way in the room.

We used the hotel car service to and from the airport. I highly recommend it as a portion of the trip is through a bit of a windy section of roads. It was nice to be a comfortable, safe SUV. After a long flight, it was very convenient to be greeted by the driver and have water waiting for us in the car.

Safety is never an issue and you should not be concerned at all. Punta Mita is a secure area with guard gates and check points. There is not reason to worry when traveling here.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jammop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlitosembo, General Manager at The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Sir
Greetings from Punta Mita and thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay your insights are indeed to the point. Concern for our guests well being is our razon d etre and I am glad you felt that was the case when you were not feeling well. Your tips on transport are fine and indeed we are in a world class destination with a fine neighbour in the Four Seasons great golf and great restaurants in the destination - from what I see you found that the case. We are grateful for your feedback and shring with our TA followers
Have a wonderful year and hope to see you soon
Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
14.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
3.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,812 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 11 in Punta de Mita
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
16.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
2,481 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Suites Punta de Mita by Palladium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort

Property: The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
Address: Lote H-4, Cond Maestro Ramal | Carr. Federal 200, km 19.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#1 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst one of the world's most alluring beaches, The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort features 120 exquisite accommodations, thoughtful amenities, and spectacular grounds. The Resort offers an experience that transcends ordinary travel, immersing guests in unsurpassed luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Punta Mita Hotel Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta De Mita
St Regis Punta Mita Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing