We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond expectations...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta de Mita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Quinta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Hotel La Quinta Del Sol, is, put simply, the perfect getaway. Amazing location, amazing staff, clean, relaxing, laid back... we really can't say enough. Tanya and Anibel make you feel so at home from the time they pick you up at the airport, it's a great home away from home. You guys are doing an amazing job, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrizzlyAdams76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed here 2 nights on our way from Sayulita to Nuevo Vallarta. Small hotel on the edge of Punta Mita (not on the main drag which is a good thing). This means you have to walk on a steep dusty path to get to the main part of town-- a 3 minute ordeal, but not pleasant at night. Beach right across the street. They provide beach towels. Can rent foam surf boards for 10 bucks a day. Top floor is a roof deck with lounging chairs, hammocks, sunscreen, a grill for your use, sink and blender to make your own margaritas-- and an amazing view. Owners are super nice and got us cold beers on arrival. Rooms include a small kitchen to make your own dinners. 30 minute walk up the beach to la lancha surf spot- really pretty walk. Great place, I would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleywraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This was a amazing part of our vacation. We had such a wonderful time with family and friends. Tanya and Anival were so great and helpful in anything and everything we needed. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. My favorite was the beautiful view from the great roof top deck. Memories we will have forever. Thanks!!!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Pamristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This little hotel is a treasure and the staff is what makes it terrific. We felt like we were staying with friends, even though this was our first time to Punta de Mita. We opted out of our house rental in Sayulitta and decided to look for something less of a tourist town. This was perfect, a true fishing village with a long surfing beach. Most of our time was spent at the beach, but coming home to cook, check e-mail or visit with other guests on the patio was special. Anibal and Tanya were the perfect host couple. Anibal picked us up at PV airport, (no need to rent a car) made our boat arrangements for whale watching and he was a wealth of information about the area. Tanya was ready to help in any way we needed. After you read your books, leave them for her, she will appreciate the new material. I can't wait to go back, a truly relaxing vacation. Each room is supplied (and refilled as needed) with a 5 gallon water bottle, so just pick up a small sport type bottle. Everything you need for cooking is there. The restaurants were excellent and the newly opened "Como No" has a perfect roof top dining area....great food. I know it sounds like all the reviews are saying the best of this little hotel, but it is all true, a delightfully perfect place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilesRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Thank you fellow reviewers, now I know what you know! The atmosphere of La Quinta del Sol is transforming and it starts with the warmth of Tanya and Anibel (Ah-KNEE-Bawl). Don't drive unless you have to, having Anibel shuttle us about was fun and easy. The terraces are beautiful and the beach felt very private.

A condo complex has gone up next door but a beautiful new bamboo screen keeps the rooftop terrace private. Restaurants we liked were Como No (Chicken enchilada special in an amazing red sauce) and Las Margarita's (Mexican combo with Red Snapper). The Bicycle Baker and the Muffin Man show up like magic whenever you need them.

We went to Sayulita one day but couldn't wait to come home to Mita!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My partner and I were originally going to Baja but then bumped into the hosts, Tanya and Anibal, while in Oaxaca. They told us about Hotel La Quinta del Sol and with our plans pretty flexible, we headed off to Punta de Mita instead. And how glad were we! ?! The Hotel is in an awesome spot (but no TV or restaurant so if you like those things, then maybe it is not for you). However, if you do want to relax, chill out, go snorkling/fishing/swimming/kayaking.... AND have hosts who really look after you by dropping you off places, providing a cold beer on arrival, and help you out with any little detail, then this is the place. Just across from the beach, a five minute walk to all the main restaurants, a BBQ up on the top deck for guest use and a hammock to fall asleep in - GREAT! We would definitely recommend coming here!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pohutukawa_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Punta de Mita is a lovely little town. Amazing staff at restaurants that are more than happy to help out in anyway they can. This hotel is just off the main street and offers an Ocean view across the street. The staff we kind and provided us with a welcome bottle of Champagne as it was our honey moon. There is a roof top patio that would have been perfect as a little happy hour bar, but it was mainly vacant and the bar area was used as storage. The roof top has an amazing view though and has hammocks and lounge chairs for guests to enjoy. Very safe, very clean and spacious. The only recommendation I would make for guests is to find out about local construction. There was a building being worked on next door and it made it hard to enjoy the roof top patio when there is a construction crew working beside and above.

It is a wonder town and a wonderful hotel. It seems like a nice place for long term stays as well.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNTMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.7 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#6 of 11 in Punta de Mita
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#10 of 11 in Punta de Mita
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa De Mita
Casa De Mita
#9 of 11 in Punta de Mita
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta del Sol

Address: Calle Hidalgo 162, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Quinta del Sol is a special slice of paradise in Punta de Mita - breathtaking ocean views, white sand beaches, tranquility. All of our seven rooms come with queen sized beds, fully-equipped kitchens, spaciou bathrooms, outdoor dining area, air conditioning, fast wifi and an incredible ocean view from the large terraces. Enjoy our roof-top terrace with palapas, hammocks, sitting areas and bbq, as well as our private beach club directly in front of the hotel with a shady palapa, sun chairs, umbrellas and hammocks and restaurant delivery throughout the day! Wireless Internet, housekeeping and purified water included. Walk to restaurants, surf shops; take boat trips to Las Marietas Islands, surf & fishing spots. Close to Sayulita, Bucerias, 40 min north of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing