We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta de Mita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Quinta del Sol
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel room and grounds were clean, but that's about all I have to say positive about this place. Our first day when we checked in, our lock on the front door was broken, which took 3 days to fix. The "safe" was a lock box screwed onto the wall in the bathroom which you could tear off by hand and make off with our valuables since the front door lock was broken. The bathroom doesn't have a door just a curtain. Most women don't want to do their business with just a curtain between them a their other travel partner!!! But the worst part was the shower pressure and water temp. Nothing I hate more than after surfing for 2 to 3 hours coming back to my room and having soaped up and receiving poor water pressure with changing water temp. Larissa and Rami were very hospitable, but Rami had a tendency to make demeaning comments about our legitimate concerns!

Room Tip: Look somewhere else, unless you like poor water temp and pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickshaw T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Rickshaw T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and express some of your concerns. We realize that our guests' vacation time is precious and they want to stay somewhere where they feel safe, secure and comfortable and we sincerely apologize if at any point we missed the mark on this.

Allow us to clarify the issue of the broken front door to which you were referring. It is true that the lock on one of two gates leading into the property broke 11 months ago (when you stayed at the hotel), not a lock on a guest room door. Although we were able to obtain a new lock right away, it needed to be properly welded into the metal gate, and unfortunately it was several days before we could get a welder to come to the hotel. Anyone who lives in a small town can attest to the difficulty of getting professionals to make house calls in a prompt manner. In the meantime, in the evenings, we put a chain and lock around this gate and asked the guests to use the other entrance. We take our guests' safety very seriously and never, at any point, was there ever an issue of security.

With regards to the lockboxes, you'll be happy to hear that they have all been replaced by proper safes. We made this switch, not because we have ever had any issues with theft here at the hotel, but because we understand that it gives our guests peace of mind, which is very important to us.

Another issue you mentioned was with the water pressure in the showers. We're happy to let you know that we did a full renovation of all the bathrooms in the hotel this past summer and they are now equipped with marble sinks, natural stone floors, beautiful mexican accent tiles, and....rain shower heads that have incredible water pressure. We're sure you would approve.

Finally, the most important matter for us that you brought up was that when you expressed your concerns to the management, you felt you weren't being taken seriously. For that, we truly and sincerely apologize. Although we do try to create a light hearted and relaxed atmosphere here at La Quinta del Sol, our number one concern is with the health, happiness and well being of our guests.

We wish you the very best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
141
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Loved every minute of my time at la Quinta. Everyone was more than accommodating and super friendly. Board selection for surfing was fantastic and convenient. It made the trip "muy tranquila". Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenMcConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola Helen, It was lovely to have you here at the hotel and we thank you for your kind words. They are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

What to say about this wonderful hotel that has not been said before?
At the risk of repeating other rave reviews, this supremely comfortable, charming boutique hotel has it all: Magnificent Management, Luscious Location, Ravishing Rooms and Beautiful Bathrooms!
But it also has so much more... your own kitchen, rooftop terrace with sunset views, private Beach Club just across the quiet road, wonderful restaurants within walking distance and easy access to spend a day at the markets and shops of old Puerta Vallerta and then return to the idyllic La Quinta del Sol.
Since the managers Larissa & Rami are great friends of ours, I knew the management would go above and beyond expectations because I've seen them in action before: they have Hospitality in their blood!
But I didn't expect the very high level of comfort or numerous available amenities ... I've never experienced such great value at any hotel ... ever!
This is a place to relax and call time your own. I could have watched the daily club of pelicans from the rooftop for hours... and sometimes I did just that.
If you haven't been, simply go... you'll long to return. It's that sort of place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola PVCR, We appreciate the thoughtful review and so enjoyed your visit to La Quinta del Sol. Having stayed at one of your gorgeous guest houses in Costa Rica and seen your hospitality and customer service first hand, it was nice to be able to return the favour. We hope that the next visit is sooner rather than later. Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My most ideal vacation setting for relaxation. Beautiful in every respect: the managers Larissa and Rami, other friendly guests, beach, variety of restaurants within a short walk, peace and quiet. I loved every minute!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marked0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola Marked0215, Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at La Quinta del Sol. We appreciate the kind comments. We hope to host you on your next trip to Punta de Mita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent five nights in a second floor room and had a wonderful time. The managers, Rami and Larissa, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to answer every question or curiosity that we had. They are really beyond hotel managers... they acted as our tour guides. This was my fourth trip to Punta Mita and I learned more about the region this time than in all my previous trips combined.

The rooms are clean, simple and nicely decorated with local artifacts - just what you'd hope for on a Mexican beach vacation. The hotel has a nice quiver of surfboards and paddle boards for rent with numerous others available to be delivered upon request. The rental rates are competitive or even better than the local shops and you can change your board often as the conditions change. This is a big perk if you're on a surf trip.

This hotel will be our first choice in Punta Mita on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tufist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola Tufist, We loved hearing that you had a great stay and learned a lot during that time. We agree that it's a nice perk having a selection of surfboards to choose from when staying and being able to switch them up as conditions change. Thanks for sharing your experience. We look forward to the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

it is a great place, only the annoying part are the stairs, it has a lot of stairs, not recommended for older people. But in the end very clean and has a nice view of Puerto Vallarta and it has a good location because the Malecon is about 5 min.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoCantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola MarcoCantu, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We always recommend for any elderly guests or guests with slight mobility issues to stay on our patio level, which is just 14 steps above street level but still comes with a great view. Thanks for pointing that out. We're happy to hear that you had a great time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I'm pretty much a Four Seasons type, but I would put the services of Larisa and Rami against anyone for help in arranging top quality activities, restaurants, and services. The setting is rustic but comfy, clean and well-located across from an excellent beach and close to restaurants. One of The owners was down and taught me to stand up paddle! Only 7 rooms here. Bring friends or family and buy the place out for a week for the most privacy. That's what we did - very fun!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaQuintaDelSol, General Manager at Hotel La Quinta del Sol, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hola Diane W, It was great fun having your group come and stay at the hotel and we're happy to hear that everyone enjoyed themselves. We look forward to the next gathering. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta de Mita hotels
5.9 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#7 of 12 in Punta de Mita
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#12 of 12 in Punta de Mita
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cinco
Hotel Cinco
#10 of 12 in Punta de Mita
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 12 in Punta de Mita
2,919 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita
#2 of 12 in Punta de Mita
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Quinta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Quinta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Quinta del Sol
Address: Calle Hidalgo 162, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Punta de Mita
#3 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#4 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Quinta del Sol is a special slice of paradise in Punta de Mita - breathtaking ocean views, white sand beaches, tranquility. All of our seven rooms come with queen sized beds, fully-equipped kitchens, spaciou bathrooms, outdoor dining area, air conditioning, fast wifi and an incredible ocean view from the large terraces. Enjoy our roof-top terrace with palapas, hammocks, sitting areas and bbq, as well as our private beach club directly in front of the hotel with a shady palapa, sun chairs, umbrellas and hammocks and restaurant delivery throughout the day! Wireless Internet, housekeeping and purified water included. Walk to restaurants, surf shops; take boat trips to Las Marietas Islands, surf & fishing spots. Close to Sayulita, Bucerias, 40 min north of Puerto Vallarta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing