We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible, peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible, peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 8 days at the resort. The resort is absolutely beautiful and extremely secluded. The service was phenomenal, with extremely friendly waiters. As one told us, "you are here, anything is possible". Everything was reasonably priced and overall an incredible, quiet, peaceful trip. Massages on the beach and an array of tropical drinks. What more could one ask for?. I definitely you to venture into the city for dinner on occasion, as the food options at the resort can become slightly redundant (even if fantastic).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thrilla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    53
    29
    11
    15
See reviews for
61
96
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place is over the top. Nicest beach I've ever seen boogie boarding was great horse back riding on the beach. Quading through the jungle with incredible views very close 5 min from the resort. We saw whales everyday from our 5 th floor balcony. Awesome rooms and great service. Special thankyou to miquel in the pool restaurant for making our romantic dinner so wonderful. I was a little hesitant to book this hotel after some of the comments I read. I can't understand how anyone could complain about this place. It was incredible and we will be back with more friends and family !!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 2surfpuntamita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We happened upon this place when our time share offered it, WOW, are we ever glad!! This is our 5th trip to Mexico in a year, and we have stayed at many amazing properties. (Blue Diamond, foremost of them, the platinum standard). We have a Brisas Residence Suite, and they made sure to give us the one with the best view. I am a swimming pool addict, these are THE most gorgeous, HUGE infinity pools we have ever seen!!! Not to mention, we have them to ourselves!

We noticed some of the other reviewers opined that this place feels "empty" as some of the adjacent buildings are still under construction. As far as WE are concerned, AWESOME!!! We have the pools to ourselves, no one can see us on our balcony, and why would anyone want a crowded resort?

There is only one restaurant here, we have not dined here. We enjoy the freedom of the full gourmet kitchen in our SWEET suite!!! Our balcony is HUGE, plunge pool, table and chairs, VERY cushy and comfy chaises longues, and view that make one melt.

We had no issue with security here. There are gates which one must identify one's self through to pass. Plus, we could not access the elevators without going through the lobby, with LOTS of people. In fact, we could not feel safer. There are also tons of staffers cruising the grounds, all day and all night. We can see their flashlights at night.

Speaking of staffers, the people here are SO kind, warm and wonderful. Every one here is helpful, even the actual manager escorted us to the room and gave us a tour, VERY impressive!! The La Tranquila people should be proud of their staff!!

If you want disco, action, activities, this honestly is not the place for you. If you want AHHHH in paradise, huge luxurious rooms, the largest pools and most stunning infinity pool you can conceive, and a place to regroup, (as well as a golf course, even though we do not golf), and peace, we could not recommend this place enough. We have already decided that we MUST return here!!!!!! Thank you, La Tranquila!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weloveiguanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexiko Stadt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is so beautiful and unique to stay in La Tranquila. We enjoy it so much.
People are nice, hotel is clean, silent, the beach absolutely fantastic.
We love it!! to all the staffÑ Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beabeata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The first thing you see on your arrival is a huge building with its name on it La Tranquila. Magnificent and exceptionally pretty. Once the wow factor is over you realized that there is one building half built, yes half, no walls, no roof but a sky dish so you can watch tv.
The lobby is awesome very well made nice details and a nice touch.
The grounds are amazing the gardens are really beautiful and it has amazing pools connecting to each other and at what will be a pool bar, again, not finished. At the end you find an Olympic pool running parallel to the ocean, such an infinity pool is the best I have ever seen.
They have some sofas in the pool, yes!!!!! In the pool, that gives you a feeling of chilling in water.
Again, I haven't seen it everywhere else its a nice and unique idea which is pretty cool.
The room with its private pool is very modern and nice. Everything works perfectly!!!!!
This resort has the potential of being luxurious and top end but there are few things we didn't like such as an unfinished resort, it gives you a creepy feeling for such a huge property being so empty it feels like it's abandoned.
The hotel is inside litibu, which is a nice complex but it has no security at all. Everyone can get in and out without any problem not even saying where are they going. Because the hotel is not yet finished you have no security and it gives you a feeling of being unsafe at night. We usually just close the door at night elsewhere, however this time we made sure everything was double locked.
The food off the menu is not really good, always cold or tasteless, but on the other hand we had a private dinner by the beach which was delicious!!!! We could also enjoy the sunset with private music, private chef and the best view in Mexico.
This hotel gives you bitter sweet feelings. Please be careful of the "morning talk" they are trying to sell times shares and they are very pushy. They will do everything to make you go for their talk to sell you time shares. Just say no, we didn't attend but met few people that did and weren't happy about that.
In general the hotel has great potential but is not yet finished nor are people working, they say they will retake activities in two weeks and by the end of the year will be ready.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robercs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Beautiful hotel, Great suites, incredible people!
Right now, there are only 20 suites out of 140 in service. That's good and bad. Despite having the hotel for you, service is not well trained.
Bottom line, we loved it and had a great experience!

Room Tip: All the suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thanks to the folks at La Tranquila Resort & Spa. Everything -- and I mean everything -- was top notch. View, service, stay -- everything. Loved every minute of it. The hotel was one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. Will definitely be back there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLK416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.1 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#8 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Cinco
Hotel Cinco
#7 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa

Property: La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Punta de Mita - Sayulita Km 2, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#9 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing resort located in the exclusive area of Punta de Mita in Riviera Nayarit, on the Litibu Beach, a privileged, exotic place surrounded by the spectacular Greg Norman's Litibu Golf Course. Just 5 minutes away from Punta de Mita town, 15 minutes from Sayulita and the new Marina Riviera Nayarit, 45 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport. La Tranquila Resort offers a new concept of refinement and style as the first boutique hotel in Mexico which has combined harmoniously beautiful architecture and exceptional Mexican interior design. All beach front suites, impecable service and the breath taking infinity pool are the ideal place for a memorable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tranquila Breathtaking Hotel Punta De Mita
La Tranquila Breathtaking Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing