We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Palladium Vallarta!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed at the Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa in the Riviera Nayarit (just north of Puerto Vallarta about 30-40 min) for our 5th time in early April 2009. We always have a great time here.

The beach is nice as you are not hounded to buy stuff constantly (vendors have an area they can set up so you can go to them, but occasionally someone will come around). It is on a great boogie boarding and surfing beach, but when I've been there (January and April) the water is a little rough a good portion of the time for snorkeling (however there are plenty of manta rays and blowfish to see if you do).

Many of the rooms are being updated; however we stayed in one that hadn't been yet. We did, however, visit an updated room and it is very nice (however more contemporary than the old rooms that had a more Mexican feel).

Service was fabulous, food was really good for an all-inclusive (especially the al a carte restaurants). As usual we recommend visiting this resort.

Also we recommend visiting a great family owned Mexican restaurant in Punta de Mita called Margarita's...it is fabulous...best food we have had in Mexico! You can either take a 10 min bus ride there from this resort for 10 pesos each way or a cab or 100 pesos each way.

Enjoy your stay if you choose this resort...we always do!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_and_N_s_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,647)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,816 - 2,822 of 4,647 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

Just got back yesterday from a week at Palladium Vallarta. Decided on this resort after doing a lot of research. Best part of the trip was the well maintained landscaped grounds and secluded location. If you're looking to do anything like partying this is NOT the resort for you! We were looking for a week of quiet relaxation with food, booze, water and tennis, and this was exactly what we got. The staff was fabulous and friendly, we had really great service at all the restaurants (and tipped everywhere). The best idea was to bring loads of USD$1 bills for tipping, everyone greatly appreciated it and we only tipped when we felt the service was worth it - which turned out to be almost all the time.

We definitely got lucky as our room was in building #2 at the very end looking at the ocean (#2201), so every moment was dead quiet except for the birds and waves crashing on the beach. Some rooms would have been horrible, the blasting 8am-8pm music at the main pool would definitely get annoying if you have a room overlooking that area. As well, any busy areas of the hallways would get pretty noisy as everything echos.

The beach was beautiful and clean, but not great for swimming due to the waves, but they also make for some fun boogie boarding! Being there in the low season definitely had its perks as the place was only 1/3 full. We never had to wait for anything, and beach/pool chairs were available at all times wherever we wanted.

The place is so clean overall! I never saw any garbage lying around, and it really felt like there was more staff than guests. We had two maintenance issues, dead batteries in our remote control and a constant running toilet, both were fixed immediately with no problems!

The food was fine, pretty much what I expected. Fair enough variety, nice a la carte restaurants, and it was pretty easy to not eat the same thing everyday if you didn't want to. My only complaint was everything I ate in the a la carte restaurants tasted like salt, literally the saltiest food I've ever had!

The drinks were the best! Great selection and well mixed, sure they weren't super strong, but then again I didn't want to be drunk at 11am either, and if you wanted more booze in your drinks all you had to do was ask!

Overall we had a fantastic time, and for the prices they are at right now you definitely get loads for your money!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lowseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

OK, here is my stream-of-conciousness review:

Our family (kids aged 8 and 9) travellead to the Palladium from April 4-12 and we had a great time. We have travelled to a few resorts and this one was by far the most family friendly. Our kids met other kids right away and had a blast with activities during the day and the family friendly kids games on stage and other shows at night. We were there during holy week and there were lots of Mexican families there too which added to the fun. It was still not very busy with lines or waiting though. Hardly anyone used the kids club because there was so much to do for families elsewhere.

There are tons of activities (other reviewer have listed them so I won't repeat) for all to do - no real need to leave the resort, which is good because there is nothing within walking distance. But after a short walk to the main road there are local busses that go by in both directions all the time that can take you into any town (much cheaper than a taxi and fun, too!)

Our kids loved the zoo and named all the animals. It was also a nice shady spot to temper the sun of the day. We really like that there were no beach sellers or condo sales people here. The resort is located away from all that and we didn't have to say "no gracias" even once! It is hard to beat the location for surf and beach. We boogie boarded lots and played in the waves. Water shoes are advisable and if you bring them you can wander in the tidal pools. We saw things like baby manta rays, blowfish, lobsters, an octopus and more. There is also an great salt water pool just above the tidal pool that is nice to sit in.

The system in place for the alacartes is hit or miss whether you get in or not. My advice would be to line up for the first seating, which we missed most of the time because we were still at the beach/pool. Lots of variety at the buffets and service was good. Just steps away from the main pool is a great pool buffet with burgers, hot dogs, fresh fruit, veggies, guacomole, and some of the best rotisserie chicken I have ever had. The self serve Corona station was a hit with the adults and the self serve soft ice cream was a hit with everyone.

Being that the resort was secluded and had very good security, we didn't worry that we had to keep our kids in sight all of the time, which was nice.

We did meet some couples travelling without kids and I gotta say that this place may not be the best for that given the sheer number of families (although the couples we met seemed to be having enough fun.) There is an adult only pool with awesome view but VERY quite (read: boring) and had a few older people in it talking real estate and the economy. I think if my wife and I travel solo, we would choose another place.

The only hiccup was checking in. I don't know if is a Sunwing problem or a hotel problem. But we bought an 8 night Sunwing package and we were told that when we tried to check in at 4:30am, we would have to wait until at least noon. The hotel didn't seem interested in accomodating my hotel voucher from Sunwing that said 8 nights. However, the front desk lady said that for $50 US, we could get "early check-in" and with two over tired children, that extra money was well worth it.

Like I said earlier, our next family vacation will probably be at the Palladium - I think it would be very hard top. But for just my wife and I, probably not.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canadajin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - especially the main section. The Suites section of the hotel may be worth traveling to, however. It is what I would expect from an all inclusive resort.

We were there with a large group, some of whom were staying in the Suites and others (primarily those with children) were in the main portion of the hotel. Because only Suites guests were allowed to make dinner reservations, we were not able to dine together. We had to stand in long dinner lines to eat a la carte at all times. When we were in restaurants at the same time we were told it was "impossible" to move any tables together and eat as a group. If you wanted anything other than the mediocre wine they served with dinners, it was an added cost. Plus if you wanted to eat lobster, there was a fee. I didn't like this aspect. To me all inclusive means all inclusive.

The main part of the hotel is currently being renovated, but the older rooms are not great. A/C barely works, cabinetry, beds and bath fixtures are old and falling apart. Pillows were lumpier than bad oatmeal. You could hear EVERYTHING through the walls to other rooms and the hallway.

The beach is totally stunning and I loved that all watersports were included in the fee.

The hotel is also not exactly stroller friendly or great for those who have trouble walking / wheelchairs. You can go almost everywhere via ramps, but it is MUCH MUCH longer than taking all the stairs that go everywhere. The a la carte restaurants were not accessible by ramps and strollers needed to be carried. Same is true for the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principessa_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Overall we were very dissappointed in the resort. We felt that it was only about a three star resort. Our room smelled really bad and we requested a different room but we did not get moved until the next day around 1:00 pm even though the resort was only about 30% occupied. The buffet was very dissappointing as the fool was mostly cold and there was not a lot of selection. The beach was nice and we never had a problem finding a chair. You had to wait in line for the a la carte restaurants and had to wait over an hour at the beach b-que. Much prefer the reservation systems at other resorts and did not appreciate waiting in a line at a five star resort. The beach b-que had the best food overall.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelnana_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This was one of the best trips I have ever been on we traveled with the family parents and two teenage kids (19 and 16). The place had an awesome surfing beach and both kids took the lesson on the first day and then just signed out boards and if the instructor was out there he would still help if you were not in the lesson. The beach was great we always got beach chairs with an umbrella for shade (the hotel was only 35% full). The Staff were amazing, they were so helpful and were always willing to serve you, help you, start a game with you (beach volleyball, beach soccer, water polo, water basketball etc). The a la carte restaurants had great food but the buffet did as well. The buffet had a different theme every night in order to assure the food did not get repetitive. The hotel was only a short bus ride from Buserias (for some fun take the mexican city bus it's fast and cheap). There was also a company called Vallarta Adventures which did all sorts of trips and we went to a UNESCO protected island and went snorkeling and sea kayaking and it was great. They picked us up at the hotel and dropped us off as well as provided breakfast, lunch and tons of entertainment. We never had problems with things missing from our rooms like so many people and a laptop and cell phone were always left out but never touched. This hotel had everything and the drinks were great and the nightly entertainment was fun, there was a disco that catered more to the teenagers. The Hemmingway bar had fine alcohols and you could get anything. There were spanish lessons, dance lessons, water aerobics, bingo, darts, pool, tennis and a kids club for the younger kids. It was an amazing place to stay and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Well first off. Our flight got into PV at 3 am and we were not at the resort till about 430am and we were not told that we were not going to have a room until we were on our way to the resort from the airport....no room?? You'd think that would be a main concern... they said that there was no house keeping there to clean the rooms after the last gruop left. After this we found out that the resort was not even full (40%) capacity...So we thought they might give us some kind of room even if just for the night so we had somewhere to sleep. NOPE! We ended up sleeping on the beach lounge chairs freezing our butts off! That pretty much set the bar for the rest of our holiday... We ate mostly at the buffet which had alot of the same food everyday...kinda got a little old. But the food that was there was pretty good...alot of selection! We ate one night at the a la carte Italian restaurant and it was beautiful inside...we did wait Beasome time before we got any service. The appys were ok... the main course was nothing to write home about. The Beach BBQ was the best ,eal we had there all week!! That is one thing I will definately recommend to anyone going there. One night we decided to go and check out the disco and there were more kids in there than anyone else...no thanks! The entertainment was pretty good...one of the shows they did was on different countries...they forgot Canada...even though the majority of the guests were Canadians....we found tiny little bugs in our room that bit....and I got quite a rash from them..so needless to say we will not be back to this resort nor will I recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hupnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
15.9 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,509 reviews
16.7 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,359 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Vallarta
Hotel Riu Vallarta
#17 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
5,181 reviews
10.3 mi away
Marival Resort & Suites
Marival Resort & Suites
#14 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
3,773 reviews
9.3 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: C/ Carretera Punta de Mita Km 11.5, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico (Formerly Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Punta de Mita
#5 Family Hotel in Punta de Mita
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range: £124 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular property that offers a 300 meter long private Pacific beach, from which guests can witness stunning sunsets. The construction of the hotel has maintained the natural flora and fauna of the area to provide an extraordinary setting for an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palladium Vallarta Resort And Spa
Palladium Vallarta Hotel Punta De Mita
Palladium Vallarta Puerto
Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Palladium Puerto Vallarta
Viva Vallarta
Hotel Palladium Vallarta
Club Viva Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing