We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a dream”
Review of Imanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imanta Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply a dream”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for 6 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday. It was our first vacation together as a newer couple, and we felt so lucky! It was a perfect place to get close, literally & figuratively.

What to say. So much.

We rented a car which may not have been that much cheaper than the hotel's service to/from PVR, but we enjoyed having it. Finding Imanta wasn't too hard, but it was an adventure. I really enjoyed going past the towns on the way, Bucerias, La Cruz, etc and then the drive from Higuera Blanca into Imanta was awesome. It was like a Disneyland ride and video game in one for the BF driver, since the roads are through the jungle. We were nervous about "fording a stream" in our small sedan, but in February it was dried up so no worries.

They do a great job communicating through the property, so we had people expecting us after the first check point, and our jaws were on the floor for the first 24hrs. The reception area. The main building. Our Jungle Casa. The Food. The beach. The people. everything is amazing. We are screwed for any other vacation, and I am so happy we get to remember this as our first together, and we look forward to coming back.

We stayed in a Jungle Casa, ours was just below the main building, and it was called Tetewan. We liked that it was close to both the beach and main building, but yet so private you felt miles away. Since there are only 12 (?) residences in total right now, you rarely ran into other guests, and when we did everyone was pleasant and never intruded our relaxation (except for one family on the last day, but that was no fault to Imanta). Our Jungle Casa did not have a private pool, but it had a private terrace with a king sized day bed, soaking tub made out of a large boulder rock and an outdoor shower. Inside we had a king sized bed, which allowed for good sleep, but it might have been my only complaint about the room. The entire property including our room was beautifully, simply and tastefully decorated. We had an awesome closet, shower, sink areas, all with little touches and lovely amenities. (I don't want to describe everything, the fun is getting your initial tour and discovering things as you stay! But I miss that nespresso machine ;)

The food is AMAZING. Oh wow. From room service to breakfast to The Catch on the beach to dinner at Tupika (the restaurant at the main building), it is so delicious. Definitely enjoy the specials because the fish is fresh and the ingenuity of the dishes really shows. The only complaint I have (and I heard this from a few others) was that it is pretty dark for dinner. We didn't have too much of a problem with this, but it mostly is a bummer because you can't see the presentation as it should be, which is half of it! We had just done a mezcal tasting at La Urbana in our hometown of San Francisco before coming and as big fans of the liquor we really enjoyed the Mezcal Margaritas they made for us by request. Both with fresh mango and more classic citrus versions. It was awesome they could tailor really anything to our preferences. Another highlight were the lobster sopas that were a special starter item, and the duck burritos at breakfast. The ceviches and camarones quesadillas at the Catch were our favorites down at the beach!

When I read reviews before I came, a few spoke about the chef coming to the table and asking what you wanted to eat. We instead had menus and to be honest I was glad that we did. The idea sounded cool, but I wouldn't know what to ask for! So it was nice to have options laid out in the menu, yet I knew I could ask for something different if I had a craving.

Our time was spent mostly being deliciously lazy on the beach, on our day bed, and at the main pool, and then we did a few activities too. These included a jungle hike with Alejandro, horseback riding through the jungle onto the beach and in-room massages. We also took advantage of having a car and drove north to Sayulita for an afternoon/evening trip and had fun checking out the cute little town. If you go, find a little restaurant on a side street just north of the main square, with a brick wall painted in red that says "love is love". Their food was so delicious and cheap!

One tip to pass on, is about scheduling activities. We Americans are used to having to book things weeks out and stick to times, etc, but we would call the concierge to confirm things we had requested ahead of time and it felt no different than if we called to schedule it right then and there. So changing times or more was very flexible. Caught us off guard, but it was a refreshing change from the usual way we have to do things!

At the beach, we never had to compete for, or reserve any chairs or cabanas. There were enough to go around. Same with tables for places to eat at the restaurants.

Another tip: check out the boutique! They have high end swimsuits, beach bags, clothes, jewelry and cute kid items and we loved the 3D topographic map of the property.

I am sure there is more to say, but to conclude, it was truly a dream vacation. I have been calling it my best vacation and my best birthday. They do a great job making you feel welcome, taken care of, but also left alone. If you have a chance to stay here, do. You won't regret it. But then again, don't, because I want to keep it to myself! ;)

A big thank you to Rodrigo, Maria, Alejandro, Oscar, Eduardo, Virginia, the 2 Juans and the 2 Daniels for making our stay SO memorable.

Room Tip: even though we had a Jungle Casa, we had a smidge of an ocean view from the terrace and even if we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karolynSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    6
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Is that eventually other people will learn about it. In my effort to keep this gem a secret, I will not talk about the villas (which are large, airy, beautiful and modern). I will not talk about the staff (which is caring, friendly, attentive and omnipresent). I will not talk about the beach (which is private, peaceful, well situated). I will not talk about the food (which is fresh, tasty, creative). I will not say anything about this property (which is world class, and whose guests appreciate its very special nature). Just in case I am wrong about my review, I will have to go back soon to make sure I got it right.

Room Tip: They are all excellent. If you pay more, your proximity to the ocean and quality of views will be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We both needed a restful, romantic retreat, in warm weather to escape the brutal Northeastern winter, and we found it at Imanta. From the zen-like and luxurious rooms, the fabulous infinity pool outside our room, to the excellent food, warm and gracious staff, and wonderful private beach, we found Imanta to be the perfect place, and frankly, the nicest resort we have ever visited. On top of the main building at Imanta there is an observatory, where each evening we went to see the sunsets, which were absolutely spectacular. The resort offers a gym, spa treatments, and just about anything else a couple could desire. One hour north of Puerto Vallarta, and a direct flight from Newark on United, and we were in the lap of luxury. There are many activities one can participate in, but for this couple, we had breakfast by our infinity pool, went to the beach, read and swam, had incredibly good lunches at "The Catch" right on the beach, and swam in the ocean more than we had since we were kids. We returned home after a terrific week, tanned, relaxed, reinvigorated, and already planning our return to Imanta next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We would recommend Los Templos or Norte, which are oceanfront casas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This place is paradise!! Beautiful senery, location, you feel like you are in a tropical jungle. Rooms are to die for. We stayed in the Casona jaguar. Felt like I was in fantasy island. Good job imanta you nailed it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidalexander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

GREAT trip. 4 days here relaxed me like a 2 week vacation elsewhere.

Food = GREAT. Slow, local and not a price gouge. Best fish we've ever had.
Rooms = GREAT. We stayed at the "worst" room ... just above the restaurant. It may have actually been the best room as the views were amazing. The restaurant and rooftop bar were steps away ... yet you didn't hear a sound and no one could peak in.
Nature = 2 great hikes ... remember this is 250 acres with 12 rooms or so.
Staff = great and friendly ... a little less service quality than St. Regis ... likely only because they simply have less volume and are, therefore, less likely to systemitize things

Only downside was swimming at the beach ... not a great idea. It was beautiful but too rough.

Room Tip: I'd absolutely recommend the room above the restaurant. It was great. Also, we got a deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valley village, ca
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

WOW. Hard to put into words how amazing this place is. We travel a lot and this place truly exceeded all expectations. Firstly, the property is 250 acres of jungle on a private soft sand beach. Much better sand than we found in Punta Mita. The rooms are…. insane. Ours had a private pool and a huuuuge comfortable bed. The outdoor shower was so romantic as well. We spent 4 days here and only left once. The food is absolutely incredible! Fresh, clean, and perfectly prepared. I also noticed the prices for massages and meals was much cheaper than other 5 star resorts in the area. We were one of 3 couples staying there and we rarely saw anyone since the property is so large.
All things being said, the best part of this place is the staff. Everyone knew our names after the first day and helped make the trip perfect. It was our "baby moon" and they truly treated us like royalty. Joseph at Fresh Catch (the beach restaurant) and Israel at the upstairs restaurant were the best. We are done splurging on chain "luxury" hotels like the Four Season and St Regis. THIS place is our new go to.
*I know they welcome families, but this place is much better suited for couples.
**Only advice I have for management is to offer some more "casual" dining options at the upstairs restaurant for dinner. I usually just had the chef make me a green salad since every night of "fancy" eating was not our thing. A basic green salad on the menu would be ideal.

Room Tip: EVERY room is superb. Even the "cheaper" options. Cant go wrong staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachellebrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
We are so flattered to read it was the best vacation of your lives and that it exceeded your expectations. We will share it with the staff specially with Joseph and Israel!
Thank you for your recommendation on Tukipas Menu, we want our guests to feel at home, so all is possible.
Thanks and we hope to see you again in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Absolutely amazing stay. The location makes you feel like you have the whole beach and jungle to yourself, the service from the staff is incredibly attentive and friendly. They think of every detail to make your stay completely relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_d_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImantaResort, Public Relations Manager at Imanta Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We will share your comments with the staff.
We are so happy that you enjoyed and relaxed, it is not very easy nowadays and we really try to achieve that.
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
5.6 mi away
W Punta de Mita
W Punta de Mita
#7 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cinco
Hotel Cinco
#8 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.0 mi away
The St. Regis Punta Mita Resort
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imanta Resort

Property: Imanta Resort
Address: Punta de Mita, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Punta de Mita
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Punta de Mita
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta de Mita
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta de Mita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imanta Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imanta Hotel Punta De Mita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing