We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Playa Mita
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The resort is fantastic. The beach is wonderful and the water is wonderfully warm. The pool is fun too, although it does warm up by midday. The food was fairly good at the specialty restaurants, although you do need a reservation for them. My favorites were the Mexican and Gourmet specialty. All the bars are fantastic, although alcohol selection does very from bar to bar. Best bar by far is the lobby bar. Shout out to Hector the best bartender, and the Black Sheep for wonderful performances. The evening shows are generally good, although if you want a drink, you pretty much have to get it yourself, waitresses dont come to often. The watersports are fun, and if you jetskiing, wait for the daily sale which happens after 1pm. Shout out to Jeff at the Dressel Divers Club. Great job! Overall, fantastic hotel. Would do it again if it were a bit cooler weather.

Room Tip: High floors have a better view. Splurge for the spa suites if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NormS6520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your review, we appreciate your nice words regarding the hotel facilities, staff and services.

Thank you for your comments on our restaurants, bars and the good service provided by Hector and the Dressel Divers club. We would also like to mention that Riviera Nayarit enjoys a mild tropical climate with temperatures averaging 77° F. Summer can be a bit hot for some travelers so if this is your particular case our recommendation is to visit us from November to April, the coolest months averaging 71° F.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again here at this little slice of paradise. Thank you again for your preference.

We send you warm greetings,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,965)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Playa Mita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,114 - 2,120 of 2,965 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

loved the beach, the food on the whole was good, I believe more wait staff in the themed restaurants would help as well as there own bar so they wouldn't have to leave to get drinks, also with more wait staff they could service the patrons with better time slots for dinners. The property was beautiful, best for quiet, enjoy pool and beach time, not alot of outside activities in the area. Phillippe for help was wonderful to work with..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management team, we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.
We appreciate your nice words regarding the hotel facilities, and the good service provided by Felipe.

IBEROSTAR Playa Mita is located on the north side of Bandera's Bay and some of the local activities to choose from are, zip lines, horseback riding through the mountains and beach, ATV tours, trips to Marietas Islands, snorkel and surfing among others.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

For their 60th Anniversary celebration, my in-laws treated our party of 11 to a stay at the Iberostar Play Mita. Our entire group had a fantastic time, as there was something to appeal to all. While it was a challenge to book reservations for 11 to the "special" restaurants, we enjoyed the Japanese and the "Orient Express"- themed dinners the best. The buffet was good, with variety each day.
We were very impressed with the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful, starting with Felipe, the outstanding concierge who arranged our airport transport and local excursions.

Kudos to the hardworking and entertaining guys at the pool bar, and the entertainment crew who worked all day and then performed in the nightly musical revues.

We stayed in one of the ocean-front Junior suites and that balcony really made for a good viewing platform during the tropical storm on our last night.

One thing to keep in mind... since this resort is geared towards families, we did get weary of the non-stop noise at the pool. Wish they had an adults pool, for a relaxing time... though a trip down to the beach served us just as well.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level are "garden view"--- we found them to be loud- full of famili...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willp916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

We thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your review. We appreciate your nice words regarding the hotel facilities, staff and services. We are pleased to know that all of you were able to enjoy IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Thank you for your comments on our restaurants and for giving us the opportunity of being your host to celebrate your family's 60th anniversary and make it a memorable one.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again here at this little slice of paradise.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This resort was fantastic...by far the best all inclusive that I have been to.

Rooms were clean and maids were prompt and proffesional.

Food was great! The buffets were smaller than many, but the quality of the food was there. I prefer less options with better quality...so it worked well. The ala carte's were faboulous as well. They were middle level restraunt quality here at home.

The pool was smallish, but there was a substantial amount of shade and lovely beach chairs. The ocean area was also well maintained and clean.

The resort is about an hours drive away from Puerto Vallarta, and is a long was off from most excursions. So if you are excursion happy another resort is better, but if you like to relax by the pool or ocean than this one is faboulous.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a waste of money...they aren't really ocean view at all. Spa rooms are c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest

We wish to extend warm greetings from IBEROSTAR Playa Mita and thank you very much for expressing your opinion about your stay with us; it is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations with regards to the service provided by our dedicated staff.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the good job performed by our maids and the high quality food found in the property. With relation to the pool, we would like to comment that we have a total of three pools including the one for aquatic sports plus the aquatic park for the children with a sanded playground aside.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back during your next visit.

Receive a warm greeting from IBEROSTAR Playa Mita,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We got a really good deal for this resort and were very pleased with almost everything about it. I've seen other reviews with complaints about the food, especially the buffet, but we thought the food was excellent. The buffet had a wide selection, including cooked to order mussels and tuna steaks, which are my personal favorites. All of the a la carte restaurants were very good, although I agree with the one reviewer about the steak restaurant. We were there in July and it was very warm in the restaurant as it is an open air restaurant. We really liked not having a limit on the number of times you could go to the specialty restaurants. We found the service to be very good all round. We had a standard room on the ground level with a tropical view and although the room was basic it was fine. We couldn't see the ocean from our room, but it was a very convenient location-easy to get to the pools, ocean or lobby area. The beach was beautiful-clean, no rocks, excellent for swimming. We actually swam almost exclusively in the ocean as the pool water was very warm. This would be my only complaint- it would have been a lot more refreshing to have cooler water in the pools. There was live entertainment every night. Overall it was a great place to spend a very relaxing week. I would highly recommend this resort. Great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of all our staff and Management team, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate your nice words regarding the hotel facilities, our a la carte restaurants, the staff and the services. We are pleased to know that you were able to enjoy so much of what the Bandera’s bay has to offer.

Your positive experience with us is the greatest motivation for all of our staff. Your words are inspiring to continue with our goal, which is to always exceed your expectations.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Our best regards from Iberostar Playa Mita.
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I just got back from our week long stay at this fabulous resort. There is very little that one can say negative about this place, unless they're a vegetarian, but I'll get to that later.

The overall look and feel was amazing and relaxing and fun! The lobby was grand without feeling over the top. The lobby bar was comfortable with amazing chandeliers, and the live entertainment was awesome! The front desk service was very quick and friendly and before we knew it we were all checked into our ocean front rooms, highly recommend the Spa room upgrade if given the option!

The rooms themselves were basic but nothing to complain about them. The beds were supper comfortable, the AC worked marvelously, and the mini fridge was restocked daily. The artwork and furniture were fresh but you still felt like you were in Mexico. The view was the best, we watched the sunset from our deck and just ordered room service on at least three occasions :)

As part of our room upgrade we had access to a private lounge area over looking the ocean. There was rarely anyone else here so we practically had the place to ourselves for the whole week. And while the hot tubs could be a bit too hot to enjoy, I would have preferred a cool tub to be honest, they were still nice to sink down into to escape the heat somedays.

The lounge bar was awesome and had an amazing view, just wished that it opened earlier and stayed open later. But the next nearest bar was only a 30 second walk further away, so no biggie really. There were always plenty of empty chairs and loungers up here, so never a fight to find somewhere to relax.

The main pool wasn't that cold, but refreshing nevertheless. We generally stayed on the lower section as the majority of people stayed up top, close to the swim up bar so it could sometimes get a bit busier than we liked.

The beach itself was amazing. Soft sand, lots of loungers, and the water was wonderful. Just watch out for the undertow if a big storm rolls through. We had one during the night and the next day it was crazy, a body surfers paradise lol. Speaking of storms, we had a few lighting storms in the distance, and the light show they put on is stunning. We just sat and watched a few of them while enjoying a drink or three. There are plenty of vendors on the beach but they're pretty good if you just say no thanks.

We only tried two of the a la cartes, the Mexican and the Japanese. Both were really good and highly recommend them. But I will have to say that the buffets were the biggest let down for us. I'm strictly vegetarian, while my wife only eats chicken, and I really struggled to eat here. The buffet could basically be broken up into three sections, (meat, fruits & desserts, and everything else). And sadly, a lot of the "everything else" would have meat mixed into it. As if having several nothing but meat options wasn't enough, they would dice ham up in the rice dish, toss salami in the salad, cut up hot dogs in a veggie dish. Even the pizzas, which was the bulk of my diet, were more often than not meat pizzas. Considering that being vegetarian is becoming more and more popular, that there are plenty of people out there trying to eat healthier, and even tons of people with religious factors preventing them from eating meat, one would hope that there would be more options than what they were offering. I've been to several all inclusive resorts and this one was by far the worst in selection. Sadly, by the end of our week, this one factor was actually enough to have me looking forward to returning home so that I could have a decent meal :\

That being said, I would still highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a relaxing get away, tucked away in a beautiful pocket of Mexico!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Spa rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank ChickenPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your host.

We would like to thank you greatly for taking the time to share your experience with us at IBEROSTAR Playa Mita.

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our personalized and friendly service, the entertainment, the facilities and the restaurants. It has always been our main purpose to provide a service that exceeds expectations.

In relation to the lounge bar hours we would like to comment that it has recently been extended from 4:00 pm to 11:00 pm so our guests have now the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful sunset with the drink of their preference. With respect to the vegetarian options, we provide our guests with a special menu for vegetarians that can be offered at any of the a la carte restaurants. We are also happy to assist with any special requests coordinating efforts with our Chef.

Thank you again for choosing us as your destination, we hope you give us again the opportunity of offer you our hospitality at this little slice of paradise.

Receive warm greetings from IBEROSTAR Playa Mita

Best regards!
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at this resort. It's a smaller one so you are able to walk everywhere and it never felt over run with people. We never had an issue getting loungers on the beach, pool or deck overlooking the ocean. We upgraded our room to be ocean front in the spa section of the resort. It was money well spent. We spent a lot of our time on the private deck with jacuzzi tubs. More often than not it was just my husband and myself on it. It was so private, and probably about 3000 sq ft. If this is your first time in Puerto Vallarta the location might be too far for you especially if you're city people. It's about an hours drive from downtown PV. You are 20 minutes away from the surfing town of Sayulita which is pretty cute and Punta de Mita is about 10 minutes away by taxi as well.

This resort is isolated, but we loved that.

The beach is amazing. Soft sand, clear water and it stretches forever! The ocean and mountain views here are untouchable. It's one of the most beautiful locations ever. With being right on the beach you never felt overwhelmed by the humidity as there was always a breeze.

We loved that they have so many sitting areas around the resort. It gives it a nice cozy feeling. Also the decor is really charming. I love there's a hint of steampunk here and there. They have a lot of industrial and natural art. Cool chandeliers and lots of beachy type wood and furniture made from tropical wood.

The beds were comfortable and we thought this resort was excellent value for the money. The one thing we didn't enjoy was the food. We are pretty easy, not fussy eaters. However, we did struggle to eat here. My husband is 100% vegetarian and I eat chicken occasionally. Even the salads had ham or bacon in them. I think if you're a big meat eater you will have no problems enjoying the food here, for us it was the only thing about the resort we didn't really enjoy. My hubby ate pizza when he could find it meat free. The breakfasts were the best meal of the day we thought. We wish the all inclusive resorts would also offer a veggie burger. Everything they need to make one is on their buffet and so many people are trying to eat less meat now that it would be a really nice option for people that want a change.

Overall, this is a great family/couples resort that is in a beautiful setting with amazing service and staff that works so hard to make sure you have a wonderful vacation. If the price is right we'd definitely go back again. We also do not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. It's geared to intimate relaxation time. I can't stress enough how hard everyone works and we just loved the people here :)

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with children we recommend the ocean view spa rooms. We sat on our deck wat...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeaChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Mita, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest

We are delighted to read your positive comments, thank you for giving us the opportunity of being your hosts.

Your positive experience with us is the greatest motivation for all of our staff. Your words inspire us to continue working towards our goal, which is to exceed your expectations and put special attention in all the details for your total comfort.

With respect to the vegetarian options, we would like to comment that we offer a menu for vegetarians at all of the specialty restaurants. Our staff is also happy to assist with any special food requests.

We will happily share your experience with all our staff, thank you again for choosing us as your favorite destination and for recommending our property.

It is gratifying to understand from your comments that you intend to return to our hotel; we are looking forward to your return.

Receive warm greetings and a friendly HOLA from paradise.
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta de Mita
19.3 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,509 reviews
20.1 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta
Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vall...
#14 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,359 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
ClubHotel RIU Jalisco
#20 of 28 in Nuevo Vallarta
4,436 reviews
20.1 mi away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#15 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,878 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Playa Mita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Playa Mita

Address: Comercial Camino Ingreso a Litibu, Lote 15, Punta de Mita 63734, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Punta de Mita
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Punta de Mita
Price Range: £123 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iberostar Playa Mita 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBEROSTAR Playa Mita, a 5-star Premium Gold hotel located in Punta Mita, Riviera Nayarit, offers a relaxing and all-inclusive atmosphere complete with mouthwatering international dishes and endless activities for guests of all ages. Standing tall in beautiful Punta Mita, on Mexico’s Pacific coast, IBEROSTAR Playa Mita is conveniently located 25 miles from Puerto Vallarta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Playa Mita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing