We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on the beach”

La Buena Vida Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: On the beautiful beachfront of Half Moon Bay in North Akumal is a one-of-a-kind restaurant and bar: La Buena Vida - The Good Life. La Buena Vida always has a festive atmosphere with great music, cold beer, scenic ocean views, and good fresh food. Meals are served on the beach under shady palapas with a casual atmosphere and an appetizing menu, ranging from fresh ceviche to tasty hamburgers. La Buena Vida is a popular restaurant venue for weddings. The rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and reception can all be planned by the team at Akumal Weddings. Reservations Not Required! Reservations are accepted for groups of ten or more. We accept Visa, Mastercard, Pesos, and US Dollars.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem on the beach”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We visited this retaurant during our snorkel trip to Akumal. You walk up the stairs to a white sandy beach floor. Swings for bar chairs and stumps for stools.It even had a treehouse you could go eat in for an even better view. Your service is provided via a bucket on a pulley.
La Buena Vida is located in a bay and is 10 feet from the water.
The food was extremely good and very authentic. Our waiter was quite efficient and looks after us well.
Do drop in for a very nice experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meezleedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,818
    863
    216
    73
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place to enjoy Akumal”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I've been to Akumal twice in the last two years and I love coming to this restaurant! The atmosphere is great and so is the staff. Love their fresh guacamole, salsa, and chips. It has a great view of Half Moon Bay. The swings at the bar are cool and I really like the tree forts, but most of all I like the hammock circle. However on this most recent trip the circle was half gone, because they had some kind of construction going on behind that area. Hopefully they will have it back up the next time we come to visit. Definitely pick up a shirt from one of the stores near by. Love this place! We nicknamed it the Thirsty Lizard! Too much fun was had there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buffcode91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz Hill, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“What a Blast”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I truly enjoyed myself here, had some of the best meals from the Lobster on the way out to the Gigantic LBV Burger, they need to bring this burger to the States I could go for one now. The View ahhh Relaxing. This is defiantly World Class with friendly staff. Dont forget to try the Burito

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Spot for Happy Hour & Best Atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were in Akumal for three days and ate here twice! The atmosphere was some of the best we encountered on our 20 day holiday. The bar has swings, a tree house, and big bean bags near the beach as well as traditional chairs and tables. The floor was the sand of the beach. It was family friendly so keeping our 5 year old occupied while we ate was no problem. The lighting was awesome. The meal was really good and seemed affordable for the location and atmosphere. We saw a mix of guests from Mexicans to Americans. We can't wait to go back here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen_in_Frisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's a must!!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant...located on the beach...it has a gorgeous view! The food is really good...and it's also very fun! it's a must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buena Vida Restaurant also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Buena Vida Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing