We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good - we ate there twice!”

La Cueva del Pescador
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So good - we ate there twice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

When on vacation, we like to try as many places as we can. We made and exception during our last trip. We ate at La Cueva twice, because of the seafood, the ambiance, the seafood, the service, and the seafood.

The setting is palapas on sand, which suits us just fine. The beer is cold, and the staff was checking frequently to see if we wanted anything else.

my wife had the shrimp brioche, which was grilled expertly, with just a light seasoning.

I has the mixed seafood platter, which included 3-4 halves of the local lobsters, half a dozen grilled shrimp, a nice grilled fish filet with nice seasoning, and a pile of pan fried calamari.

It was a perfect place to wind up our days of snorkeling at Akumal's beaches.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scan1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    290
    92
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The fish I ordered was not the fish I received and the staff didn't understand this.wine was lousy and when did Al La Carte mean self serving salad bar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 107555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was good (not great) but felt rushed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We enjoyed our fish dinner at El Pescador which was served quickly and efficiently. There wasn't much atmosphere and the service was rushed and impersonal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arty_woman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were introduced when they cooked up our fish from fishing. Truly fantastic and simple. Our 10 yr old even raved about how good it was. We returned again for our farewell dinner and had the most amazing grilled lobster, calamari , grouper, shrimps and stuffed fillet. Truly wonderful food and the waitstaff are great. So attentive to your every wish. This is a local restaurant that the locals pointed us to. Always busy but never a wait!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location and setting, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We can confirm... yes the margaritas are strong and tasty! The food is very well priced and while not the most amazing ever, its very very good. We would definitely recommend this place and will be returning on our next adventure to Akumal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank priorlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva del Pescador also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing