We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casitas Playa Caribe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Caribe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Caribe
Certificate of Excellence
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Casitas Playa Caribe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

While I know most places on this coast of the Yucatan boast the friendliest staff and great this and the best that, This place is it! Walking distance to several great restaurants, Turtles right out your front door. Great people! almost too nice. We're coming back May of 2014 and again, and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    19
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just got back from two glorious days in Unit #5 and I wish I was still there. I booked directly through the owner, Annie, who was very helpful and easy to deal with. The unit is spectacular and the view does not get any better. It was clean, quiet and had everything we needed and more. There is security so no need to worry about anything. As a matter of fact, the guard came and got us one night when there were baby turtles about to make their run for the sea! We sat with others from the surrounding area and helped guide them to the water.It does not get any better. The condo is walking distance to Buena Vida and Akumal beach, which is important because it is tough to park around there. Leave your car in their lot and walk to what you need.

Room Tip: #5 in front and center overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing! We stayed in room number 11. This was just beautiful amazing views! The night watchmen was cool and helped my girlfriend see the escape of the baby sea turtles right in front of the condo. The rooms were kept real clean and had everything we could need for a extended ten day stay like we did! I highly recommend it to any one interested!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was my fourth trip to Akumal and Playa Caribe. It is absolutely heaven on earth! I have been fortunate enough to return to Unit 7 each time. Beautiful ocean views right out your back door! I have enjoyed watching all the wildlife. Especially the turtles popping their heads in and out of the waves! Unit 7 is clean, so accommodating with wonderful kitchen items to help make your stay even more homey and comfortable. Plus the decor is just beautiful. A true artist put this all together. The staff are amazing and truly such sweet, caring, humble workers! You will fall in love with this beautiful little town. Full of wonderful food and beverages, art and nature, and most importantly wonderful people. My best advice to anyone thinking about it, is go! Best vacation ever! You'll feel rejuvenated and relaxed! Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waterski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We visited Akumal for the first time in April and can't wait to return to this new-found paradise! Playa Caribe provided the most wonderful condo experience we could have hoped for: perfect location, beautiful ocean views, a private pool, snorkeling in the bay, gorgeous units, friendly/professional/helpful staff, and all within walking distance to town. With a full ocean view to the front and a jungle view to the rear, Unit 7 was a special treat: impeccably decorated in a highly-tasteful manner, it offered more than enough space for our group of four with comfortable beds that provided extremely restful nights of sleep for everyone. Always unobtrusive, the housekeeping staff did an amazing job of keeping everything clean and tidy throughout our week-long stay. We enjoyed excellent drinks and meals at local restaurants during our stay, and we found the locals to be most warm and welcoming. We honestly can't think of a more beautiful or peaceful location to rest and rejuvenate, and we definitely look forward to planning our next stay at Playa Caribe!

Room Tip: Highly recommend Unit 7. It is an extremely well-maintained and beautifully-decorated unit with ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
239 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was our fourth visit to Akumal and our second time staying at Playa Caribe. It will also be our last time staying there. We stayed in #8 again & this was the worse vacation in Akumal for us.

We booked Playa Caribe #8 again because we remembered it as the best vacation we had ever had. The beautiful view from the balcony, hearing the waves from the bed, and the beautiful water made it the most relaxed place we had ever stayed. However on this trip we arrived on a Saturday with four families (8 adults & 2 children) and they seemed very nice, but they kind of took over the pool area. The pool is small and is great to jump in for refreshment. It has always been a quiet pool for the guests. However, the kids had their toys all over the place and their rafts took up the whole pool. The parents did not even care that they were being intrusive. The kids were jumping and splashing and there was no supervision by the parents. We could not even sit on the balcony to relax or read (like we did before) because the noise carried up throughout the whole complex from the pool. So we ended up spending no time at the condo because of all of this and just stayed at our dive shop down the beach (they have a pool).

The condo itself is beautiful. The beds are comfortable and the maids did a great job keeping it clean. Everyone that works at the condo is nice and very helpful. We cooked most of our meals in the condo and even hired Daveed to cook us a great dinner one night.

One big issue that made our stay a bit uncomfortable was that our AC stopped working the second day of our visit and never worked right for the remainder of our stay. It was so hot that we had to open all the windows (yes it was hot). Management would come in daily to fix it, but every day it seemed to break again. They felt so bad that they gave us a key to another room to use for only one night (the building was completely booked) Being July with the heat and no AC and the open windows, and all the noise from the pool area, this was not the vacation we expected.

To top of our vacation, we returned to our condo from our last dive day to clean our dive gear and take a quiet nap before dinner. Screaming kids in the corridor waked us up and we ran to the balcony to see 15 kids, ages 3 to 13, running around the condo pool area. During our dive, four families (or one big one) had checked in as a group and there were at least 15 kids among them. This did not include the other 4 kids already in the condo. The condo is clearly not equipped to handle all these families. I can’t even begin to tell you about all the high pitch screaming and yelling.
We had to go to bed early that night because we were scheduled for a snorkel tour to swim with the Whale Sharks the next morning at 5:30, but it was impossible. By 10:30pm, I went down to speak to the families and they were very rude to me. My husband went back at midnight and told them to please keep it down. The condo has rules about noise after 10 p.m. but this was totally ignored by this group. Other couples in the condo had issues with this noise as well, and they also went down to say something. These families should have rented a house or stayed at one of the many all-inclusive resorts in the area.

It was then that we made the decision to check out a day early and stay somewhere else. We made reservations and when we returned from the Whale Shark Tour the next day, we packed and left.

Management tried to talk to them and it turns out that other people complained about them as well. I do not blame the management at the Playa Caribe; I blame the Playa Caribe booking management. They booked these families and knew they would impact this very small condo. They should have told us (and others that stayed during these dates) that these families were coming, allowing us the option to move our reservations to the left or right of those dates. But they said nothing.

I love to party and have drinks with friends like everyone else, but if I were in a large group I would have rented a house or went to an all-inclusive resort. We come to Akumal to relax, dive and ride bikes around the town. Other that we met at the condo was also there for low maintenance relaxation. That was not an option.

After we had originally complained, management (back in the states) told us they would give us one free night when we return. When we return? Never again will we stay here or recommend this place. We were actually looking to buy a unit here. I have friends that were going to book this place for October and I told them our story and they are now looking at another condo on the bay. And I am very sorry that I had to write one here. We used to love this place.

I do realize that this does not always happened, but we are not willing to take the gamble again by staying here.

I love kids. We go to Disneyworld at least once per month and I never expect things to be quiet, but Akumal is different. If you want to have a family reunion with lots of kids, party, play and shout all night long, then go to Playa Del Carmen or Cancun. It is sad to see one of the last quiet places on that coast lose its charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank ScubaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pabloxdiaz, Manager at Playa Caribe, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We are very sorry that you feel this way. It was an odd thing having that many children. I don´t think that our reservation´s department was aware that they were one group, since there were different names on the reservations. If you decide to give us another try, I´ll be happy to see you again. Thank you and again, sorry for your troubles.
Pablo Diaz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The first 8 days of our 14 in Mexico were spent at Playa Caribe and, in hindsight, we'd happily have spent the whole fortnight here with a tour to Chichen Itze.

When we arrived we were absolutely delighted by the location and the spacious rooms in the condo (no 12, right at the top). We booked through Scott at Loco Gringo who was the most helpful and informative agent I have ever come across. He recommended Playa Caribe and he couldn't have matched us with a better accommodation.

The condo was equipped with everything you could possibly need for self-catering. The lounge was spacious as were the bedrooms that were extremely comfortable. I've had plenty of experience of uncomfortable beds that have been over used but theses were firm enough without being hard.

The manager, Augustin was friendly and helpful and rented us bikes that we enjoyed riding back and forth from Akumal town centre, a 10 min ride away. Along the path we regularly saw raccoons and animals called 'Tahom' (I think), it made our walk (in the evenings after happy hour!) even more interesting.
We loved the safe, relaxed feel of the whole area. Akumal itself is divided into two halves, the main town is the other side of the highway and we didn't realise it was there until about day 4. The beach side of the town is small with just 5 restaurants, all excellent, and is perfect if you enjoy diving, snorkelling, or a peaceful, away from hustle and bustle holiday. The beach was stunningly beautiful both in the town and at Playa Caribe. Waking up to the sound of the ocean directly behind us was the biggest pleasure and something that will stay with me.

Places we enjoyed
- Turtle Bay restaurant - my daughter was obsessed with the coconut shrimp tacos! Go between 5 - 7 for 1/2 price tacos and happy hour, we ate there 4 times and the food was superb every time.
Lol Ha restaurant - for breakfast. We indulged most mornings by sitting on the verandah overlooking the turquoise sea eating beautifully presented and very tasty breakfasts. Try the Celine eggs benedict - delicious!
- Buena Vida we loved for the atmosphere and we'd stop there for Happy Hour en route to dinner in town. It's right on Half Moon Bay beach a 5 minute walk from Playa Caribe.
- Tulum ruins - beautiful and intriguing - don't miss these. The salesmen at the beginning will try and convince you to take the boat trip they're selling as "there's no shade in the ruins". We didn't do the trip although it sounded good but there is shade in the ruins so you can do one without the other despite their insistence!
- Tulum town - Take a collectivo for 30 pesos each. Try El Capitain's at the far end of town, past HSBC on the left. Their shrimp tostadas are to die for!!!

Enjoy Playa Caribe, we loved it and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room 12 - top floor condo. It's 4 flights up so a challenge if you get out of puff or have any m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.6 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Caribe

Property: Playa Caribe
Address: Lote 34 | Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Caribe consists of twelve 2 bedroom condos and 3 studios. Generally regarded as the best on Halfmoon Bay. We have the only water treatment (RO) system that allows you to use and drink the water safely just like home. We have a pool and are centrally located to all that the Akumal area has to offer. Some of the best snorkeling is right off our beach. You will see turtles all year round right from our patio. Hope to see you soon in paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Playa Caribe Hotel Akumal
Playa Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing