We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
Nearby Hotels
US$354
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$467
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$393
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,871)
Filter reviews
7,871 results
Traveller rating
5,575
1,627
465
115
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,575
1,627
465
115
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelsalux restaurantcenote snack barpenthouse suitelobby bara la carte restaurantsprivate beachrooftop jacuzzifull length mirrorgala nightdon pablosushi baran adults only resorttrolley ridedinner reservationsnever waited more than minutesbutler service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,898 - 3,903 of 7,871 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Arrived in Cancun to torrential downpour. Claudia was at reception and remembered our e-mails and welcomed us. Our room was great, had a partial view of the quiet pool, steps from the Cenote snack bar and a short walk to the lobby. Everyone at the front desk was pleasant, efficient and couldn’t have been more helpful. Special thanks to Claudia, Marvin, Rolando and George.

Room was clean comfortable, towel animals every day. Champagne arrived with glasses and fruit bowl on day one. Most nights we had turndown service, sometimes with plates of hors d’oeuvres and pastries and once with a bottle of wine.

The buffet was great, Aurora made omelets, Renauldo, Demetrios and Sylvia and made sure we had juice and coffee.

The ala cartes were all wonderful. Ate lunch at the Tulum buffet, extensive and very good.

Trams generally came within 5 minutes, once we waited 10 minutes. No problem, drivers were friendly and fun.

Saw the Elvis show and enjoyed it, entertainment in our lobby most nights, Michael Jackson, bands, Karaoke, etc.

The entire resort is lovely, clean and the service on both sides was exceptional.

Everything was exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay and would return, although we do like being closer to the beach.

My only complaint was with the Apple vacations people, not any reflection on the resort. The Apple representative insisted our private transfer pick-up time was 9:25 AM for a 2:15 PM outgoing flight. Having been to Mexico many times, I told the rep that pick-up was too early but the Rep insisted on that time, citing traffic, construction, etc. The pick-up arrived at 9:15 and we reached the airport at 10:25 and had to spend almost 4 hours at the airport. I was not feeling well and had arranged private transport so that I would not have to leave the hotel so early.

I will NEVER use apple transport again, this was not an apple pick-up but was adventours. Very disappointed with this service from Apple.

Again Sian Kaan was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Lynn,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays. It is great to know that we met your expectations during your stay at our hotel facilities.

We are grateful for your comments and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the buffet, your room, the a la carte restaurants, the trams service and the entertainment.

We really appreciate you mentioning service at our hotel and for mentioning our staff. Your kind words touched our hearts and will definitely encourage us to continually provide all our guests with the best experience they truly deserve.

Thank you again for your valuable comments, we wish we can welcome you back in the near future,

Kindest Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Very enjoyable. The whole resort was very nice. Service was excellent, employees were constantly working hard at their jobs.

Only a few suggestions: to have a better orientation to the whole facility. We got one map that was not easy to decipher. Explain where things are just in our area, the shuttle service, how to make dinner reservations ( book your al la carte dinners a head of time, via email, reservations fill up quickly, Alux and gran tortuga were great) times of buffets, and activity schedule and locations of shows, and how and where to book tours.

We felt very safe, at all times. I would of even done my own activities if I had a map of the city and the colectivo schedule, or better transportation to see things. The tours were nice. The taxi's were expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjenk896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are very happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate that you mentioned the excellent service of our hard working staff.

We also want to thank you for bringing to our attention the point where we can improve; the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

We hope you visit us again in the near future!

Receive our warmest regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband, two friends and I just got back from a week stay from Dec 13 to Dec 20th at Sian Ka'an.

We had a great time it is a beautiful resort. The rooms are nice we upgraded our room to a superior room which really only gives you more space and a tables and chairs. Our friends had the standard room and it was also very nice.

Sian Kaan is adults only and when you stay there you have the ability to use any of the amenities or services or any of the other 3 affiliated resorts (Akumal, Tulum and Coba). Each resort is large and when put together it is an absolutely massive complex. You can access any of the resorts by shuttles which come by about every ten minutes. There is also a place called Hacienda near the Tulum resort which has the disco tech, a big market place of shops and vendors, a sports bar and on Thursday nights they throw a Mexican themed night that costs $15.00 to attend.

Sian Ka'an is a very very quiet resort no one from any of the other resorts can use the amenities of Sian Kaan and although there is no beach by this resort there is a private section of beach and bar reserved for Sian Kaan- although it seemed that this wasn't really enforced. Taking the shuttle to the beach was no big deal for us however if you want to be near the water you may want to stay at Akumal, It was nice having the option of getting away from all the noise and excitement however Sian Kaan was maybe a little too low key for us. The pools all played quiet tranquil music and everyone was pretty well reading of sleeping around the pools we kind of felt like we were in a library.

The food at the resort was excellent we booked our a la cart dinners before our trip through our travel agent and everything was arranged when we arrived. The Alux restaurant is very gourmet and we were all impressed with the menu and food. Service was top notch at all the restaurants we went to. For breakfast and lunches we went to the buffet and it was the best buffet I have been to at an all inclusive. There was an egg station where you could get omelets, or eggs any way you like them. Aurora worked the station most days while we were there and she is amazing! She is so fast, efficient and friendly I was really impressed! Don't forget to tip her she works very hard.Our waiters at the buffet were also so incredible. Demetrio, Ramon and Silvio remembered us and always gave us friendly service. We were very happy with the service!
I think our favorite restaurant for the food would be Arlequin at the Akumal resort or Alux. They were both delicious! We were a little disappointed with the service at Le Gourmet. It was so slow that we ended up leaving before receiving our after dinner coffees.

The lobby bar Tikal was nice and comfortable and there was live music there in the evenings. During the day we always made a point of going there to see Carlos Chan - a very talented bar tender who was a lot of fun and kept whipping us up drinks and shots to try. In the evening we often sat at a table and Citlali our waitress was very sweet and friendly.

There is also a snack bar called Cenote where there is a smaller buffet during the middle of the day and you can order food there 24 hrs a day. The waiter who worked nights there was so warm and friendly and he worked so hard, waiting tables, cleaning, and even cooking and he did so with utmost professionalism.

Our room was 40512 and if you go to sleep early the lobby is very loud however we were generally late to bed so it wasn't an issue for us. The cleaning staff were excellent and the fellow who cleaned our room was very very kind and friendly.

Everything in the resort was very clean and well kept.

We traveled with Air transat and the flight and bus to and from the resort were great the only complaint here is that we wanted to speak to the airtransat rep at the resort to ask questions and book tours however she was constantly busy and five or 6 times I sat there waiting to talk with her before getting frustrated and giving up. Twice I managed to speak to here and she didn't have an answer to our questions, which was fine, but she asked me to let her look into it and come back and everytime I went back I had to sit in line again most often I just gave up and left. In the end this was a good thing. We wanted to book the express tour of Coba and by the time we finally spoke to the air transat rep there were no more express tours left during our stay. The only way we would be able to go was by ourselves. Instead of spending $65.00 per person the 4 of us shared a cab which was $100.00 USD round trip and we could have negotiated a better price I'm sure. The entrance to the site was 57 pesos and we hired a guide which was $45.00 USD. All in all it was cheaper and we went straight there and back without any unwanted stops. We also learned while we were in Playa del Carmen that you can book tours directly with the tour companies for much less because the resorts act like a middle man and add on their own profit for booking.

Tipping on the resort was appreciated but unlike other resorts we've been to it didn't seem to change the service but since the service was already good I guess it didn't really matter.

One other piece of advice is that cigars and alcohol seemed to be cheaper at the duty free then at playa del Carmen.

All in all it was a great week and we were all very happy. We would all go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, PubIic Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking the time to review Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an on Tripadvisor, your comments help us to maintain our high standards.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the resort and that you found the food excellent. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service of our staff.I will pass on your comments to the persons you mentioned by name: Aurora, Demetrio, Ramon, Silvio and Carlos.

We would like to apologize that you had an issue reaching your representative; we will forward your comments to them in order to improve their services.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Erika made our whole stay wonderful. She is so friendly and checked up on us often. We did not eat dinner in any of the buffets. We had Ala Carte every night which i booked ahead of time and we never had to wait. We had dinners at Tequila (average), Alux (excellent the first time, not quite as good the next), Arlequin (excellent), Doice Vita, Don Pablo and the Le Gourmet, all excellent.We were there to celebrate our 18 years of marriage. They brought a bottle of champagne to our room and had our table at the Alux decorated with a heart shaped decoration made from rose petals. Beach was wonderful, but you do have to get there early to get a good spot. It rained pretty much for two of our 6 days, but we still had fun, talking with guests, bar tenders, and playing bingo. All of the staff were very friendly. The rooms were spacious and they do have a pillow request, so if you do not like the pillows, you can get different types. The buffets were good, not great, but we did not have dinner in any of them. We only spent about an hour in any of the pools, which seemed nice,but the beach is awesome. All in all I would recommend this resort and would return.

Room Tip: rooms in building 4100 are quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7225laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for trusting in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, we are honored that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your 18th wedding anniversary.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the a la carte restaurants, your room decoration, the buffet, the beach, pools and the service of our staff specially from Erika; we will forward your comments to all our team.

Thank you one again for sharing your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards from Mexican Caribbean!

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Wife and I stayed there for 6 nights in early December 2013. Overall, very good stay with great weather (it rained every day at some point in the afternoon but cleared up quickly, a bit chilly at night make sure to bring a sweater. Also not terribly hot).

The good:
1) Hotel grounds are beautifully manicured (especially considering it's in the middle of the jungle), extremely clean.
2) Staff is extremely polite, "hola" everywhere
3) Small resort with pools scattered among the buildings, so it's not too crowded and definitely no spring breakers (most guests in their late 40s/mid-50s)
4) Junior garden room - huge by all accounts, don't bother upgrading
5) Food at the buffet restaurant is great - however, steaks are not a forte anywhere in the Yucatan...

The bad/not-so-good
1) By far, the trolley/cart system - they DO NOT come every 5-10 minutes, actually scheduled every 15min, in reality 20min - witnessed absolute chaos one rainy night when one of the carts broke down and it took me ONE HOUR to go from GB Tulum to SianKaan - families with kids screaming at La Hacienda. Tried to speak to staff that night: "Bad luck" was the reply... definitely a no-no. A trip to the beach thus takes up 45 minutes of your day. Take that into account. Also, as another reviewer pointed out, cart colors don't match....

2) Being inexperienced in these resorts, tried to make reservations for the la carte restaurants the first morning - forget it. People schedule them way in advance (perhaps even email them before?). Only odd hours available and people don't show up (restaurants were 60-70% full). We felt it was kind of a scam - saying there are 12-15 restaurants to choose from and then being unable to make a reservation. Anyways, the buffet is better than any of the la carte...

3) Guests leave beach towels on the beach chairs and disappear, especially at the "private" beach area, so 50% of the time we had to move to other areas of the resort. Staff could make a better job of getting rid of towels and leaving only personal objects, so chairs would be available.

Probably would not come back, especially because of the cart situation. The other GB resorts also didn't seem that rowdy. My advice: if you really want to come here and can avoid spring break/school holidays, spare the extra bucks and stay in another part of the resort close to the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbvfontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an has been honored to be your host on your recent stay; we would like to thank you for choosing us and for left a nice review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you mentioned that you enjoyed the hotel grounds, room facilities, the buffet and our extremely polite staff.

We are sorry to know that the trolley service, the restaurants a la carte booking and beach chairs were not up to your expectations, I would like to thank you for mentioning the points where we can improve; be sure we will give proper attention.

It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great and unforgettable stay.

Warm Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews