We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My thoughts on this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My thoughts on this resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have just got back from a full week at this resort and this is my own personal view.
We read many reviews about the sian kaan and knew what we were expecting...to some degree.
The bus ride from the airport was a little long as we hit traffic and construction so it lasted 2 hrs. but on the way back 1.35 much better 6/10.The front counter was excellent as check in was very smooth and we got upper floor as we requested by email.10/10.The hotel looks great and the rooms ..no complaints10/10.Our room keeper ..a young man was just fab..kept our room nice and clean 10/10.Lots of green everywhere you look and lots of birds chirping all day long.They go to sleep at night but other forest animals kept us up a few nights..nothing the resort can do about this its jungle.7/10 All the restaurant we went to were great and the food at the buffet was also great 9/10.The staff at this hotel is extremely accommodating from counter ,cleaners waiters.waitreses,managers towel girl,etc 10/10 All were fantastic.The pools very quiet with one with light music and entertainment.8/10.The ocean...the spot wich was reserved for sian kaan was a little disappointing for me as it is very rocky.(If you walk a little to each side you can get better there 6/10.I did like the service at the beach 10/10.The trams...my wife kept on saying geez cant lite a cigarette and smoke all of it as they were very efficient and friendly 10/10.Bring bug spray as you may need it and for those of you who don't like bugs well there are some creepy crawlers here and there..i'm still here so i'm not dead...The sun is extremely hot so you must need high protection 80 plus ...There were so many good people there that I cant name them all but Thank you Gang well done.WE tipped as needed and let me tell you the tips were plenty as the service we got was fantastic.Overall this hotel would get 4.8 if it wasent for the beach and late night critters keeping us up.Hope this gives you a little idea of the hotel.(We spent a lot of nights at the coba as the shows there were great)
If you need info just email me through tripadvisor
Cheers

Room Tip: Upper floor pay the extra and get top floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luckyluke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for sharing with us your thoughts about your recent visit to our hotel, thank you for the time you have taken to send us your feedback.

Your comments will be forward to our staff as they will feel honored to read the things you like the most regarding your stay. Also, thank you for advising our future guests!!

Do not hesitate to visit us again in the future is your plans lead you back to the Riviera Maya,

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,842
    1,387
    395
    96
    67
See reviews for
652
4,819
99
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,738)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

All the staff were so polite and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was breathtaking. Only drawback was the grapple for chairs on the beach, although we always managed to find two without much issue. Met wonderful people and really enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Cheryl,

We do appreciate hearing from our guests after visiting us at the Riviera Maya; their comments are vital for us to continuously improve our service.

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for the comments you wrote about it in which you experienced the great food and service of our staff.

We would be delighted to assist you in the future,

Best Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week in May 2014 at Sian Ka'an and it's been one of the best experiences we've had in an all-inclusive resort.

The staff took care of all the small things well and made the big things memorable. In passing, we had mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and Vanina (concierge) surprised us with a candle lit dinner, flowers and our own special cake.

The resort has 2 top notch restaurants; Alux (gourmet) and Maiko (Japanese) and had access to all of the a la cartes in the 3 resorts. We enjoyed most of the restaurants and our favourites were definitely Alux and Maiko. Only regret was that we didn't reserve multiple dinners at these two. Since reservations are limited, make sure to call the resort about 1 week before your trip and make the reservations. Upon arrival, they will have the reservation confirmations ready for you.

Sian Ka'an also had the best buffet out of the 4 Bahia Principe resorts so we made sure we had our breakfast and lunch at Sian Ka'an. As a guest at this resort, you get access to the 3 other resorts (Akumal, Coba and Tulum), but not vice versa.

Sian Ka'an also sported couple of pools, once was very quiet, surrounded by trees and the other with DJ and a bar.

This resort is away from the beach so you'll need to take a shuttle and there was one every few minutes so we didn't wait no longer than 10 minutes. The wait never bothered us and it was great to see that they used electric vehicles where possible to reduce the pollution. Sian Ka'an also had a exclusive section at the beach but you can go anywhere you like.

Thanks to everyone at the resort for the hospitality and making our trip special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby. It's away from the pools but close enough to walk over if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Senthuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm greetings from the Bahia Principe Privilege Club and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. We are thrilled to learn these vacations, became a special experience for you and your wife while celebrating your anniversary. I am also thrilled that the Privilege Club benefits represented an added value during your stay.

It is always encouraging when the expectations of our guests are met and exceeded. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with the celebration arrangements made by Concierge Vanina, the resort facilities, and with the restaurants Alux, Maiko and Yal-Ku buffet.

Your compliments on the hospitality received from the resort staff are also welcomed. I am positive the different teams that assisted throughout your stay will be most happy to learn they were part of such special memories.

We look forward to welcome you back at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and create yet more memorables vacations.

Best regards,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited this resort in April 2014. I usually don't like all inclusives as I mostly feel that quality is often sacrificed for volume or pleasing the majority. At Sian Ka'an this was not the case. Everything was top notch, from the service, to the well kept grounds, clean rooms, private jacuzzi , transportation to the beach, variety and quality of food at restaurants and quality of drinks.

We enjoyed the fact that it was a quiet elegant adult resort. Some days we heard some music and activities from the main pool but generally this is a quiet relaxing resort. There's such a large variety of food at the main buffet that it's hard to choose an a la carte restaurant after eating at the buffet a few evenings as the food was always excellent. The beach trolley was frequent and it didn't bother us that the resort was not directly on the beach. The beach was OK and I agree with previous commenters that reserving beach loungers is tolerated in spite of the signs. It was difficult to find a lounger until about lunch time when people left. We ended up lounging directly on the sand on the towels provided. That was pretty much the only negative experience we had.

The resort is big enough that you can jog every morning for a few miles or go to the TAO centre for a yoga class. Having access to the other adjacent Bahia Principe resorts also gives you some variety in case you get bored at Sian Ka'an. We visited one resort per evening, saw the nightly show and one a la carte to switch things up, but ended up staying at Sian Ka'an our last few days of the vacation because it was so great. It was easy to hop on the colletivo at the main road to go either to Playa del Carmen for the day or Tulum (we did both and it was super easy and convenient).

One final tip: U know how people usually diet a month or two before vacation because they want to look good? Don't do that. Instead, do exactly the opposite and start about a month or two ahead of time, a process of gentle stretching of the stomach, so you don't end up like us staring at a platter full of giant shrimp unable to eat one more, and regretting every green smoothie we survived on until we took off for vacation. The food was amazing.

Highly recommend this place to couples and honeymooners. We will return! Thank you Sian Ka'an for a dream vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to have been part of your dream vacation! Thank you for your trust in our hotel to spend your holidays.

It is always a pleasure to know the things that our guests enjoyed and also to learn from your experience and identify the points where we can improve.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back!!!

Kindest Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sorry for the late submission, but life returns hard when vacation is over. My husband and i stayed from Jan. 12 - what wound up to be the 22nd due to snow in NY.

The Sian Kaan is our favorite vacation spot, although we have stayed at many all inclusive resorts. The rooms are modern and clean, the resort is adults only now and is relaxing. The staff never lets us down. We had to be moved to Akumal area due to our flight cancellations and no availability in our section, but Claudia accommodated us and made sure we still had access to all the Sian Kaan facilities.

They have there own private beach which is accessible by a tram that runs every few minutes to take you over the bridge to the beach. The restaurants, bars are all top notch in Sian Kaan.

Shout out to Carlos at the Lobby Bar.... Best bartender ever! And to the entire entertainment staff, especially Kristi.

Thank you for more fabulous memories. We made great friends from the UK last visit who we are still in touch with.

All the best,

Sherry

Room Tip: 1st and 3rd floor jacuzzi's available for some sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrydarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Sherry,

We are glad to read that you had a fabulous experience in January! It is always great to recieve a good feedback!

Thank you very much for your trust in our hotel and for mentioning the great job of our staff. I will forward your comments to Claudia, Carlos and Kristi.

Hoping to see you soon for another great vacation,

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Sian Kaan in the spring, and overall it was a nice resort. Definitely not the best we've stayed in and I do believe the reviews are more generous than it deserves. The property is well maintained, but very wooded so several pools are shaded most of the afternoon, esp. the one closest to our far-away room. Please note there is NO BEACH at Sian Kaan, and while the hotel provides access via trams that take you to the other Bahia properties, this can take about 30 minutes with waiting for a tram and transportation time (and the trams' exhaust will be in your face the entire time!).

There will be LOTS of walking from the room to the lobby area, so if mobility is an issue, you will need to make special room accommodations. The trams take you over the highway to one of the other three Bahia hotels chains, which is large and family-filled but plenty of beach and pool chairs. Sian Kaan does have its own 'private beach,' but all those chairs were filled by about 10:00am.

We enjoyed visiting the other resorts for both the day and dinners out. Word of warning: make your dinner reservations the DAY you arrive! I tried to email to get reservations before we arrived, and they told me they can't do that, but when we checked in, they did honor a request and already had us booked at a restaurant. You can choose from all four property restaurants, which is nice because Sian Kaan is kind of quiet. There is also a casino at one of the properties! The drinks at other properties are really weak and sugary.

We did watch a water show at one property for a brief bit that was slightly entertaining.

The hotel is on the non-beach side of the main highway down from Cancun, and you can actually take the tram to the highway access area and catch a van to Tulum for next to nothing - we are so glad we did that. Those little vans are very safe and go directly to Tulum, which is maybe a 30 minute ride from Sian Kaan. That was the best part of our trip.

The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffet at Sian Kaan is the best buffet I've seen - there were very healthy options along with the regulars and I loved all the vegetable choices. The steak house restaurant was good, but we found the atmosphere very stark and the restaurant is very small - too small. But it certainly had top-notch cocktails and delicious food. We were only able to get a reservation to the super-popular sushi restaurant for 5:30pm and as we approached the restaurant and saw we would be the only patrons at that time, we opted for drinks in the lobby instead. Those were very good.

This was a nice resort but nothing really stands out - it needs a little more charm and character. I preferred our stay at Villas del Palmer on Playa Mujeres and it was much cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovessmalltowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you enjoyed our quiet resort. Thank you for taking time to post your experience in Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food, the a la carte restaurants and the access to our sister properties. It will be great to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the Bahia Principe Sian Kaan in Rivieria Maya with Air Canada Vacations. June 6 – 12, 2014. My wife and I are experienced travellers and have stayed at over 40 all-inclusive resorts in the last 10 years all around the Caribbean.
Fortunately the arrival at Cancun airport went well and there was no waiting and it didn’t take long that we were on the bus and on our way. The resort is about 1 ½ hours from the airport however the bus ride was very comfortable and hotel check-in was fast as well.
We had the basic Junior Suite which was fine with us. The rooms are modern, a bit small and lacks some drawer space but the air conditioning worked great and we enjoyed our stay. On our side there was a nice pool with a Sushi bar and on the other side of the lobby there were more pools and a 24 hour snack bar.
Overall the Sian Kaan is a top notch adults only resort with access to the 3 other Bahia Principe installations (Coba, Tulum & Akumal). It has a private part of the beach with great butler service at your chair. The 2 restaurants at the Sian Kaan, Alux – gourmet & Maiko – japonese are by far the best all inclusive restaurants that I have ever eaten at before. Congratulations. We also had unlimited access to the restaurants in the other parts as well and they were excellent as well.
All in all the service and the food were the best I have seen. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But the only down side is it is too far to walk from the Sian Kaan lobby to the beach. You have to rely on the little trains to bring you there (Wait time is usually between 5-10 minutes). Not a big deal but personally I prefer to walk if possible. In addition, if you are a beach person, you may be disappointed. There are a lot of rocks and they have installed those artificial sand reefs so you can really only go out in the ocean about a hundred feet before you hit the reef and water up to your thighs. Optionally you can use the pools in all the sister resorts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Feelix_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Felix,

First of all thank you very much for your recent visit to our resort and for taking the time to write your positive impressions about our hotel.

We are very happy that you and your wife as experienced travelers appreciated the rooms, the access to our sister hotels, the a la carte restaurants and the service provide by our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Mexico.

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
9.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing