We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to imagine a resort being better than this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard to imagine a resort being better than this one!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here from June 10 to 17, 2014. This was our first all-inclusive vacation and our first time "down South". We absolutely loved our vacation at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Kaan!! We can't imagine how any other resort could be better than this place. It's not a mystery why the reviews on TripAdvisor are overwhelmingly positive. We had three main criteria we were looking for: delicious food, beautiful beach and the possibility of off-resort adventures.

FOOD:
The food at the Sian Ka'an buffet is amazingly delicious! For the first 2-3 days, we couldn't get over how good everything was in the buffet. There is a wide selection of foods from various cultures. Most of the desserts weren't that fantastic though (i.e. "fake" cheese cake), but we rarely wanted dessert anyway. The two à la carte restaurants at Sian Kaan are astounding (Alux and Maiko)! Maiko (Japanese) was our favourite - we couldn't resist going twice (delicious sea food curry, appetizers and mouth-watering ice cream tempura). Having unlimited à la carte reservations is a wonderful bonus of Sian Kaan as the buffet does get a bit repetitive after eating there daily. It's also possible to eat at the other 3 resorts (buffets and restaurants) so that's another incentive. We believe the best buffet is at Sian Kaan.

BEACH:
The beach is beautiful. White sand, turquoise water. The beach is also very clean. Sian Kaan members have a private beach with umbrellas and chairs as well as bar service. The resort is not located on the beach. Sian Kaan is about a 5-10 minute (free) trolley ride to the Sian Kaan beach. We enjoyed the trolley ride (a lovely breeze for the hot days). You can also rent jet skis, go parasailing or scuba diving but these are slightly expensive.

ADVENTURES:
Bahia Principe is not located within a city or village. It is kind of isolated (which is not necessarily a bad thing). It is easy to get around with the Collectivo which is the public transit (large vans) for only 3-4$ each way. We went to see the Tulum ruins (10 min ride) which were amazing and we went to Playa Del Carmen (35 min). We also did an ATV Tour and went snorkeling with sea turtles in Akumal (10 min - you can go by collectivo for a lot less), swam in a cenote and rode ATVs in the jungle. We would recommend going to Tulum, Akumal beach and Playa del Carmen (if you want to see a bigger city with shopping).

ROOM:
Clean and spacious, stocked mini-bar, very nice bathroom. We had a junior suite. No complaints.

ENTERTAINMENT/PARTY:
Bahia Principe has a variety of shows which start around 9PM each night. Most were very good and quite entertaining. Our favourites were (in order of preference) AcroDance, Mini MJ Show and Circus Show. During the day they also have lots of events (pool volley ball, water polo, water aerobics, etc.) at the beach and on the resort. It's a great way to meet people. The entertainment crew is good at what they do. In terms of night life, there isn't much. Sian Kaan is not the party resort. Lots of couples and older guests. Everything is pretty much over by 10-11pm. The discoteque at the resort's Hacienda complex was excellent on the Friday night. We went to the Gran Fiesta Mexicana which was $15 usd each. It was fun but I don't think it was worth the $15. The fiesta did get rained out so maybe it would've been better if it had lasted longer.

SERVICE:
The service was mostly excellent. Staff were very nice, attentive and helpful. The only place which had mediocre service (and food) was the Cenote Snack Bar. We would like to acknowledge Demetrio at the buffet who was always cheery and attentive, Carlos at the main bar who was very friendly and quick to prepare delicious drinks, Diego at the reception desk who was very helpful, friendly and always in a good mood, and Javier with BD Tours (Air Canada Vacations) who was very resourceful and helpful.

SAFETY:
We wanted to acknowledge the fact that we felt very safe on the resort complex and never felt uncomfortable.

We will definitely be returning to Gran Bahia Principe in the future! This place is a Mexican paradise! We believe Sian Kaan is the best option of the 4 resorts because of the perks of being in the luxury section (unlimited restaurants, access to everything, private beach, better service on the resort, etc.). For those wondering about the other resorts, we would rank them as follows after Sian Kaan: 1) Akumal, 2) Coba, 3) Tulum. You can't go wrong with Bahia Principe, trust us!

Enjoy your vacation! Bring your bug spray (we never thought of that)!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Luc,

We are really happy to read and feel honored to know that you absolutely loved your stay with us!!! Thank you for taking time to write your detailed review about the food, beach and adventures.

I completely agree with you regarding the food, specially the mouth-watering ice cream tempura. It is always great to know that you not only enjoyed the resort but the surroundings.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards from Mexican Paradise!

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,989
    1,431
    412
    98
    72
See reviews for
666
4,985
102
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,774)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Bay Islands NL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

May 9-16, 2014
As an adult only luxury resort the hotel delivered on all of the advertised amenities and services. It is not for anyone looking for the beach as it is set back in the jungle with the golf course being the major draw. The jungle surrounds the villas and the walkways and it is a beautiful and luxurious setting. Although the hotel was full when I was there you never had the feeling of crowds or having to wait for service or look for a deck chair. The buffet and the restaurants were first class. The staff from the front dest to the cleaning staff were all beautifully attired, well trained in good service delivery, and accommodating. The only area that fell short was the entertainment at the Sian Ka'an. The setting was odd because the huge statue in the middle of the outdoor loung obstructed the view for many and must have been very difficult for the entertainers as well. The band and lead female singer was painful to listen to and not up to the calibre of the resort. The dance shows were excellent and would have been better if the staging was improved. As a writer for The Widow's Travel Guide focused on the single female traveller I would say that the on-sale price for the package more than compensated for the double occupancy rate and that it was more than safe for anyone travelling alone. My only other observation was that it was so professional and sleek that it discouraged fun, or maybe it was just the crowd that was there that week. A great place if you want to get away from the kids, are on a honeymoon, or are travelling in a group. Not the spot if you are looking for an adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for the main floor of the villa close to one of the four pools unless you want to be climbing up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AuntEdnasLBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you found great things in our hotel. It was a great pleasure for all our team to be at your service during your recent stay.

Thank you for mentionning your perception about the entertainment; I will forward your comments and suggestions to our Management.

Thank your for advising our future guests; we hope we can see again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts!!

Warm Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing resort. The buffets are amazing the al a cartes are nice but not what I would have expected. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Rooms are small and no elevators if you are on the second or third levels.
Very nice wading pool.
To go to the beach a train took us as you are across the street.
Nice to have an adults only that is not around other resorts that are for families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Colleen,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay at our amazing resort. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a great time enjoying the adults only concept.

It will be wonderful to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest Regards from Paradise,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My stay was very nice, we had a very good time. The property isn't on the water, it's across the street, you need to take a golf cart shuttle to the beach. The beach is nice, a lot of rocks in the water but the beach-side service and 3 pools back at the property make up for it. Our room was better than expected and the private, outside, hot tub was definitely a bonus. All the staff was nice and went above and beyond, they seemed to think of everything and we didn't want for much. It was one of the best properties I've stayed at, I know sometimes it hit or miss but this was a hit.

Room Tip: Only the ground floor rooms have a hot tub, the upper rooms looked to be bi-level with a private dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kobie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Kobie,

We are really happy to know that you had a very good time in our hotel. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure read very nice comments as the ones you have kindly posted.

We really appreciate you mentioning the work of our employees and we hope to welcome you back at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Receive our warmest regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have just got back from a full week at this resort and this is my own personal view.
We read many reviews about the sian kaan and knew what we were expecting...to some degree.
The bus ride from the airport was a little long as we hit traffic and construction so it lasted 2 hrs. but on the way back 1.35 much better 6/10.The front counter was excellent as check in was very smooth and we got upper floor as we requested by email.10/10.The hotel looks great and the rooms ..no complaints10/10.Our room keeper ..a young man was just fab..kept our room nice and clean 10/10.Lots of green everywhere you look and lots of birds chirping all day long.They go to sleep at night but other forest animals kept us up a few nights..nothing the resort can do about this its jungle.7/10 All the restaurant we went to were great and the food at the buffet was also great 9/10.The staff at this hotel is extremely accommodating from counter ,cleaners waiters.waitreses,managers towel girl,etc 10/10 All were fantastic.The pools very quiet with one with light music and entertainment.8/10.The ocean...the spot wich was reserved for sian kaan was a little disappointing for me as it is very rocky.(If you walk a little to each side you can get better there 6/10.I did like the service at the beach 10/10.The trams...my wife kept on saying geez cant lite a cigarette and smoke all of it as they were very efficient and friendly 10/10.Bring bug spray as you may need it and for those of you who don't like bugs well there are some creepy crawlers here and there..i'm still here so i'm not dead...The sun is extremely hot so you must need high protection 80 plus ...There were so many good people there that I cant name them all but Thank you Gang well done.WE tipped as needed and let me tell you the tips were plenty as the service we got was fantastic.Overall this hotel would get 4.8 if it wasent for the beach and late night critters keeping us up.Hope this gives you a little idea of the hotel.(We spent a lot of nights at the coba as the shows there were great)
If you need info just email me through tripadvisor
Cheers

Room Tip: Upper floor pay the extra and get top floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luckyluke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate for sharing with us your thoughts about your recent visit to our hotel, thank you for the time you have taken to send us your feedback.

Your comments will be forward to our staff as they will feel honored to read the things you like the most regarding your stay. Also, thank you for advising our future guests!!

Do not hesitate to visit us again in the future is your plans lead you back to the Riviera Maya,

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

All the staff were so polite and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and the beach was breathtaking. Only drawback was the grapple for chairs on the beach, although we always managed to find two without much issue. Met wonderful people and really enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Cheryl,

We do appreciate hearing from our guests after visiting us at the Riviera Maya; their comments are vital for us to continuously improve our service.

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for the comments you wrote about it in which you experienced the great food and service of our staff.

We would be delighted to assist you in the future,

Best Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week in May 2014 at Sian Ka'an and it's been one of the best experiences we've had in an all-inclusive resort.

The staff took care of all the small things well and made the big things memorable. In passing, we had mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and Vanina (concierge) surprised us with a candle lit dinner, flowers and our own special cake.

The resort has 2 top notch restaurants; Alux (gourmet) and Maiko (Japanese) and had access to all of the a la cartes in the 3 resorts. We enjoyed most of the restaurants and our favourites were definitely Alux and Maiko. Only regret was that we didn't reserve multiple dinners at these two. Since reservations are limited, make sure to call the resort about 1 week before your trip and make the reservations. Upon arrival, they will have the reservation confirmations ready for you.

Sian Ka'an also had the best buffet out of the 4 Bahia Principe resorts so we made sure we had our breakfast and lunch at Sian Ka'an. As a guest at this resort, you get access to the 3 other resorts (Akumal, Coba and Tulum), but not vice versa.

Sian Ka'an also sported couple of pools, once was very quiet, surrounded by trees and the other with DJ and a bar.

This resort is away from the beach so you'll need to take a shuttle and there was one every few minutes so we didn't wait no longer than 10 minutes. The wait never bothered us and it was great to see that they used electric vehicles where possible to reduce the pollution. Sian Ka'an also had a exclusive section at the beach but you can go anywhere you like.

Thanks to everyone at the resort for the hospitality and making our trip special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby. It's away from the pools but close enough to walk over if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Senthuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm greetings from the Bahia Principe Privilege Club and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. We are thrilled to learn these vacations, became a special experience for you and your wife while celebrating your anniversary. I am also thrilled that the Privilege Club benefits represented an added value during your stay.

It is always encouraging when the expectations of our guests are met and exceeded. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with the celebration arrangements made by Concierge Vanina, the resort facilities, and with the restaurants Alux, Maiko and Yal-Ku buffet.

Your compliments on the hospitality received from the resort staff are also welcomed. I am positive the different teams that assisted throughout your stay will be most happy to learn they were part of such special memories.

We look forward to welcome you back at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and create yet more memorables vacations.

Best regards,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
9.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing