We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a wonderful location, but some issues.”
Review of Tanik Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanik Condominiums
Ranked #11 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have stayed at Tanik many times and still think it is the best location on Half Moon Bay but we're thinking of shopping around for a better deal next time. Also the bedding really had a strong musty odor and the pillows were hard. I recommend they replace these ASAP!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2009

We stayed at Tan-Ik for a week in April ‘09. The location is great --- right on Half Moon Bay which is quiet, uncrowded, and has great snorkeling (but water shoes are needed!) Our condo was clean, but rather sterile and charmless. The pool was nice to have and was one of the reasons we chose Tan-Ik. The bedrooms were large, with nice cross breezes, and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was okay, but it lacked a toaster. An awful sewage sewage smell was present in the bathrooms, although it appears that is a common problem in Akumal and not unique to Tan-Ik. The on-site manager was friendly and helpfu. Our major problem—since this was a working vacation for both me and my husband—was the lack of internet access. Tan-Ik is advertised as having wireless internet access, but it does NOT. If you carry your computer downstairs to the property manager's office you can get a signal, but no signal is available in the condo itself. We were disappointed that the US-based booking agent was not at all up-front about the the internet access isssue. We also would have preferred a nonsmoking environment. A large (15-20) group, apparently a family, was in the condos below us; they left their doors open most of the time, and we could not escape the cigarette smoke. There was almost always someone (from this family group) smoking by the pool also. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator -- no problem for us, but it wouldn't work well for an elderly or handicapped guest.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed with our two kids, ages 11 and 9, in February of 2009 in one of the first floor condos. Tanik condo is right on a beautiful beach along Half Moon Bay about a 5 minute drive from "downtown" Akumal--therefore we recommend you rent a car if you stay here, although we have seen many people walking or renting bikes as well. The drive from Cancun airport is a straight shot (about 1 hr 10 minutes) it is not difficult to find Akumal. Tanik has its own parking spaces.
Why we loved Tanik:
1) The kitchen gives you the flexibility of cooking a quick breakfast, or lunch or grabbing a snack whenever you need one, saving you time and money.
2) Tanik's beach is carefully groomed every morning by the friendly gardener (best on Half Moon Bay). Tanik is currently surrounded by empty lots on either side which means a very private, quiet experience. The bay is perfect for snorkeling--we saw sea turtles, large schools of fish, a barracuda, coral reefs, rays...the list goes on and on.
3) The condo just seems to have everything you'd need--plenty of room, nice hot showers, a safe for your valuables, even a utility room to hang wet suits. The beds are quite comfortable and Adrian, the manager, is very helpful and will get you an extra cot or supplies if need be.
4) The palapa (covered outdoor patio) is fabulous--tables and chairs for sipping coffee in the morning or playing card games, whatever. The shade/ocean breeze feels wonderful. There are also plenty of lounge chairs for sunning yourself by pool or on beach.
5) Tanik is walking distance from a small grocery store and is next door to a great restaurant La Lunita at Hacienda de la Tortuga. Prices are not cheap, but the food was always high quality. Try La Buena Vida restaurant for happy hour, or climb the towers to get a bird's eye view of the bay.
6) Tanik is close to Yal-Ku lagoon--a must for snorkelers.
7) Akumal, just a short drive away, offers another great beach w/ more fabulous snorkeling (see the turtles!) plus several more restaurants. We recommend you eat breakfast at Turtle Bay Cafe at least once. Also, there is a yoga studio and spa in town! Akumal is close to several worthwhile excursions: Tulum ruins, Xel-Ha zoo, Atkun-Chen caves and much more!
8) Our kids were delighted with the hermit crabs that come crawling out on the beach at night time (don't worry--not in the rooms!)
Overall, we had a fabulous vacation at Tanik condos in Akumal!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Spent 1 week here with family and friends. Will definitely return, and recommend to anyone looking for a quiet condo on the Maya Riviera. A few key points:

- Very quiet. Removed from the hustle of Akumal Resort center, but not too far. Short walk to small store and restaurants.
- Only place on Half Moon Bay with a beachfront pool. This is especially nice for families with children.
- Super friendly staff is always on hand. If you can speak a bit of Spanish that will go a long way.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Small quiet and enjoyable!

The snorkelling right out front of the condo is great. The staff was friendly and helpful. They did a great job of keeping on top of cleaning and day to day maintenance.

The only negative was that the kitchen wasn't well equipped for 2 couples. It was Okay but not great.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Zmaguiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanik Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanik Condominiums

Address: Beach Front Road | Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: £128 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tanik Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanik Condominiums Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing