We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Within Reach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental
Ranked #19 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stumbled across Chan Chemuyil online a few years ago and have been twice to the same charming house (Ak Kun). The entire process was personal and easy, including the owner letting us reschedule due to an unforeseen medical emergency! There is so much to do around the area and we loved going to Xcacel, the local beach, which has been rated one of the top beaches in the world. We even got to snorkel with sea turtles at Akumal bay for free since Ak Kun provides snorkel gear!

The house is roomy and comfortable, with all the amenities we needed (including a/c). The on-site managers are lovely and so helpful.

For transportation, if you are the adventurous sort, it is easy to get around using only colectivos, however you may want to rent a car if you have a family or want to see ruins off the beaten path. We easily went back and forth to Tulum for meals, shopping, etc. and it was wonderful to return to our own home to relax in privacy. We saved a ton of money by cooking in the fully equipped kitchen.

Thanks for everything! We'll be back, and next time, we're bringing the family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teamgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked a 2 month trip to stay in Casa Risa..we weren't disappointed ..everything you possibly need is there , all you need is a few groceries..Patricio & Evelyne are close by for any problems, you might encounter..they are a sweet couple ,will do anything for you..keeping the pool spotless, or aiding in any house problems..
We spent many days sitting around the pool, or out front relaxing..walking around the town..
we rented a car from ((Pay less car rental))), from Tadao in Tulum who treated us like family, him and his staff,where so accommodating..we where going to Merida vis bus, he let us park the car for 4 days at Payless, gave us a lift to Bus depot..thanks Tadao..we will be back again..
we spent many days at the beach across from chan chemuyil..not too busy..Chemuyil is a small town in walking distance ,we ate there often, Leo's has really good food..we shopped at the small groe stores..at the Internet cafe, you can also buy from the back meat shop the best pork chops I have ever had..This Little town is so friendly it is like going back in time, when everybody was out side visiting, kids all playing on the streets.it is safe to walk all over.I just only wished I could speak Spanish to talk to more people..All and all we had a great holiday..we will go back for sure some day..you won't want to leave Casa Risa it's like home..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Casa Marbella was wonderful. Patricio and Evelyne met us right away and helped us get settled in. The beaches were close and beautiful. The community was very friendly and we shared wine with passers by and even an impromptu jam session with the local giutar players. The outside shower and pool were great.

Room Tip: Probably best for a couple. A little close for more than 2 people. A car is helpful but public tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Marbella in Chan Chemuyil. Wonderful stay! Casa met all our needs, and having our own private pool was absolutely wonderful! Chan Chemuyil is a lovely little community, complete with it's own cenote! It's only a short walk to the town of Chemuyil and also a short walk to the beach! Will definetly come back for another stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Last minute, we were able to schedule a quick holiday to the Tulum area, where my Brother-in-Law lives. We've spent a fair amount of time in the area, in different housing arrangements and had a great stay this time. Chan Chemuyil is a delightful little community, well-taken care of and convenient to pretty much everything. Thanks to Heather, the owner of Casa Maare, and Cowboy and Debra, our 'hosts' for the stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAbrams72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We will miss Chan Chemuyil! It is a perfect location to see everything..The casa is very clean and Jen was very helpful giving directions to first timers in Mexico! The location is in the middle of the Riviera Maya...All the people in the community are very friendly! Leos Pizza is right around the corner good for a quick meal! Would defiantly want to return to Ak Kun again! Cheers!! Good by Chan Chemuyil! Back to reality!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank purprincess33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just spent a month at Casa de Risa in Chan Chemuyil. There is so much to do and see in the area; wonderful beaches, ruins, wildlife, local culture, adventure, parks... something to suit every taste, we have tried a bit of everything and are still leaving things undone. Chan Chemuyil is perfect if you are like us and want to be away from the all inclusive resorts and crowds. The village and supermarkets close by make it easy to self cater, but there is plenty of choice if you want to eat out in authentic and good value local restaurants. The house had all we needed and the pool was very welcome. Jen was very helpful sorting out our rental and answering questions to help us plan our trip. Hire car recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Verduyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
15.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
16.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
19 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental

Address: Calle Belize | Chan Chemuyil, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming location at an affordable price. We offer single family vacation rental homes close to all the popular attractions including Akumal, Tulum ruins, Xel-Ha, Hidden Worlds. Homes are walking distance across from Xcacel Beach - the protected turtle nesting sanctuary with great body surfing and snorkeling plus a cenote and bathhouse. "Paradise within reach" that's Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rentals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Hotel Akumal
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing