We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Marbella”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental
Ranked #19 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Casa Marbella”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 10 days in March, we loved it! This little house is fine for up to four people in two bedrooms. (There's a futon in the living room, but it doesn't look very comfortable for sleeping.)

The house is very completely equipped with everything you need for self-sufficient living. There's a TV with disk player and a large assortment of movies. The little kitchen has a large fridge/freezer, 4-burner gas cook-top, microwave, toaster oven, a full complement of dishes and pots & pans - even a blender for frozen drinks! We also found many basics (like condiments, even sugar & rice) thoughtfully stored in little jars.

The beds (one queen & two doubles) were comfortable with plenty of blankets, pillows & covers. The three separate (remote controlled) AC units were quiet and very effective for those nights when the evening temp remained above 75°F.

One of the best features of Casa Marbella is the beautiful little azure pool out back. It's completely private and perfectly clean, it even has a whirlpool circulator, if you want it. Our granddaughters spent many happy hours out there with the resident (inflatable plastic) alligator and water toys.

Also included were two bicycles, snorkeling gear and outdoor hammocks. We were 100% happy with this rental and would certainly recommend it. The caretakers (Elena & Patricio) live just around the corner and are available for any issues, but we had none - everything worked perfectly!

Chan Chemuyil is a cute little residential community with many friendly, English speaking owners and renters. The cenote right here is a fun diversion on a hot afternoon. The beautiful beach (and another large cenote) are a 10-minute walk - as is the town of Chemuyil where there are some small stores and several restaurants. We ate a couple times at "Leo's" and enjoyed it thoroughly.

You could get to other places using the Collectivo mini-buses which pass by the palapa out on the highway every 20 minutes or so, but we chose to rent a car - from Easyway. It's about a 1:15 drive from Cancun airport, then only 10 minutes to Tulum where there's a large supermarket with everything you could wish for.

Pretty places to go near here are Akumal where you can snorkel in the ocean right off the beach as well as enjoy several restaurants (we liked the Turtle Bay Café).

The giant natural water park of Xel-Há is just a 5-min drive south of Chan Chemuyil and is worth the rather steep price of admission. We spent nine hours there with daughter and granddaughters and we all loved it. I gather in the winter high season it can be very crowded, but this week, it was perfect. All food and drink is included - including booze. The main activity is snorkeling, but there are also zip lines, aerial bicycles, jungle walks and cenotes. It's a well-managed, friendly place - we were impressed.

All in all, it was a great 10 days. With a bit of time to spare before our flight departed, we checked out the Hotel area up near Cancun. We are soooo glad we didn't stay there! You might as well be in Miami Beach! Why pay the airfare to Mexico? The Mayan Riviera becomes prettier as you head south, down here (near Akumal & Tulum) you really feel you're in Mexico!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HClews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Chan Chemuyil is a sweet, little, colorful neighborhood in a prime location. We enjoyed the small neighborhood cenote, the big cenote up the road, the beach and all things Yucatan as this is the center of all sorts of fun adventures. The pueblo of Chemuyil is a charming place. A close walk for buying most necessities and even getting a pizza at Leo's. There is also a cash machine in town. Don't miss the sweet woman who sells delicious pastries in the evening out of her little store front. It is not marked but she opens every evening to sell her treats...buy some for your breakfast the next day. This little town is safe and delightful.

The casa Ak Kun interior is well furnished and beds are comfy. They have great wi-fi in the house which allowed us to work remotely making this escape to Mexico possible for us this year. Disadvantages of this house is the loud highway so nearby. They also do not have a comfortable outdoor space to enjoy which is a bummer because in Mexico it is nice to be outdoors (they do have a back patio but no shade, no plants and furnished with only a small plastic table/chairs and hammock). Other homes in Chan Chemuyil do have nice outdoor spaces which I would consider for our next trip. This house could also use a deep cleaning; bathroom kind of scuzzy.

Jen and onsite managers were all super accommodating. Patricio came by to check on us. We told him about a couple plumbing issues (leaking kitchen sink faucet and shower that did not drain) and he fixed everything very promptly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisaMaria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are a resort person, don't get a house in Chan Chemuyil. If you want the Cancun experience (a horrific, Vegas like, environmental disaster area filled with people who think they are having fun), don't get a house in Chan Chemuyil. If you want the "all inclusive" experience behind the big gate, behind the big wall, in a big resort along the highway, don't come here. We stayed in Casa Abeja. Remember those funky beach houses your parents took you to in the 1970's with the drizzly shower, the lumpy beds, and chtotchkies scattered here and there? The T.V. didn't work really, but it didn't matter? That's what you get here. The house was PERFECT!

Perfect in that it's in a beautiful neighborhood of colorful, small house of similar design owned by a blend of local Mexican families and expats. People greet each other in the morning, and hang out on their porches at night. There is a charming little cenote in the neighborhood, and it is a short stroll to the beach. You have to cross the highway, but everyone is so chill in the Maya Riveria that I had no fear taking the kids across the 307. The beach, Xcacacel beach across the way, is quite simply one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to including the beaches of the Mediterranean, Hawaii, Belize, and the Pacific Coast.

Moreover, you are at the epicenter of all things Yucutan. You are only ten minuets from Akumal (more beautiful beaches! sea turtles! snorkeling! and delicious restaurants!), ten minutes from Tulum (more beautiful beaches! snorkeling! ruins! delicious restaurants! hippies and hipsters!), and less than five minutes away from family attractions like Xel Ha (swim with dolphins! go snorkeling! jump off a cliff into beautiful water! have another margarita!) or Aktun Chen (go snorkel in a cenote! go zip lining with your kids! go walk through ancient caves!).

So, to sum up, for a family, it is a great place. You have a kitchen which we used for breakfast, dinner, and our evening cocktail on the porch (supermarkets are very close in Tulum), We had a place to sleep. We had a place to take a shower. They gave us beach chairs, a boogie board, and beach umbrella. Simple. The rest of day we were on adventures. It's a perfect homebase for a family vacation that we will hold dear in our hearts for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stumbled across Chan Chemuyil online a few years ago and have been twice to the same charming house (Ak Kun). The entire process was personal and easy, including the owner letting us reschedule due to an unforeseen medical emergency! There is so much to do around the area and we loved going to Xcacel, the local beach, which has been rated one of the top beaches in the world. We even got to snorkel with sea turtles at Akumal bay for free since Ak Kun provides snorkel gear!

The house is roomy and comfortable, with all the amenities we needed (including a/c). The on-site managers are lovely and so helpful.

For transportation, if you are the adventurous sort, it is easy to get around using only colectivos, however you may want to rent a car if you have a family or want to see ruins off the beaten path. We easily went back and forth to Tulum for meals, shopping, etc. and it was wonderful to return to our own home to relax in privacy. We saved a ton of money by cooking in the fully equipped kitchen.

Thanks for everything! We'll be back, and next time, we're bringing the family!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We booked a 2 month trip to stay in Casa Risa..we weren't disappointed ..everything you possibly need is there , all you need is a few groceries..Patricio & Evelyne are close by for any problems, you might encounter..they are a sweet couple ,will do anything for you..keeping the pool spotless, or aiding in any house problems..
We spent many days sitting around the pool, or out front relaxing..walking around the town..
we rented a car from ((Pay less car rental))), from Tadao in Tulum who treated us like family, him and his staff,where so accommodating..we where going to Merida vis bus, he let us park the car for 4 days at Payless, gave us a lift to Bus depot..thanks Tadao..we will be back again..
we spent many days at the beach across from chan chemuyil..not too busy..Chemuyil is a small town in walking distance ,we ate there often, Leo's has really good food..we shopped at the small groe stores..at the Internet cafe, you can also buy from the back meat shop the best pork chops I have ever had..This Little town is so friendly it is like going back in time, when everybody was out side visiting, kids all playing on the streets.it is safe to walk all over.I just only wished I could speak Spanish to talk to more people..All and all we had a great holiday..we will go back for sure some day..you won't want to leave Casa Risa it's like home..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Casa Marbella was wonderful. Patricio and Evelyne met us right away and helped us get settled in. The beaches were close and beautiful. The community was very friendly and we shared wine with passers by and even an impromptu jam session with the local giutar players. The outside shower and pool were great.

Room Tip: Probably best for a couple. A little close for more than 2 people. A car is helpful but public tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Marbella in Chan Chemuyil. Wonderful stay! Casa met all our needs, and having our own private pool was absolutely wonderful! Chan Chemuyil is a lovely little community, complete with it's own cenote! It's only a short walk to the town of Chemuyil and also a short walk to the beach! Will definetly come back for another stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
14.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
15.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
16.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
13.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
14.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental

Property: Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental
Address: Calle Belize | Chan Chemuyil, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming location at an affordable price. We offer single family vacation rental homes close to all the popular attractions including Akumal, Tulum ruins, Xel-Ha, Hidden Worlds. Homes are walking distance across from Xcacel Beach - the protected turtle nesting sanctuary with great body surfing and snorkeling plus a cenote and bathhouse. "Paradise within reach" that's Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rentals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Hotel Akumal
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing