We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy Home Away From Home”
Review of La Bahia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bahia
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Cozy Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We've stayed at La Bahia in Akumal twice now, renting each time from the lovely Paul and Donna Clark. The first time was just myself and my fella, while the second was with another couple, and both visits were comfortable, well-furnished, and so close to the Caribbean waves you could almost touch them from your back door. The staff of La Bahia is always friendly and helpful, and you could easily spend your vacation just around the condo and feel like you got some serious R&R. We will only stay with La Bahia when we visit Akumal!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creedence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a great property! La Bahia is in an extremely convenient location in the middle of Half Moon Bay and seems to be one of the better-maintained places (with onsite management) in this great vacation location.

We were in Unit 7 on the top floor, which is a hard climb the first few times but gets easier as the week goes on. The unit was well-equipped and beautifully decorated. Unlike all of the other condos, it has balconies overlooking both the jungle and ocean. Great for birdwatching and looking at the turtles in the bay.

In fact, one night the security guard climbed the four floors to let us know that a turtle was nesting on the beach. Seeing two different turtles nesting was an experience we'll never forget.

The one inconvenience was that the maid came somewhat late in the day and we barged in on her twice, once escaping from a rain shower and once when we were done with the beach and wanted to shower and go out for dinner. The immaculate cleanliness (and having someone to wash your dishes) more than makes up for it.

Highly recommended and extremely reasonable in the early part of the offseason.

Room Tip: They all seem to be great but because they're individually owned the decor and kitchen equipment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I believe we stayed on a 2nd floor condo and it was great. The condo was big and the views were awesome. The sound of the ocean was soothing and it was nice to go right out and snorkel whenever we wanted. The condo had just about everything you would need. My favorite parts were the peace and quiet, the beautiful view, and the nice jungle view from the bathroom window. I can't wait to go back. I would definitely recommend La Bahia. I will post more photos of Akumal under Akumal on trip advisor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We flew into Cancun after 4 nights in Oaxaca city. Akumal beach felt completely different. We were driving and after passing under the arch, it takes 5 or 10 minutes to get to La Bahia. We we arrive around 2:30, it was very warm but breezy. The office was closed, but one of the cleaning staff rushed to assist us.

As we climbed the stairs, the view was terrific and the breeze was awesome. She showed us #3 (second floor unit) which is what we had rented, and just for future reference, the one below, which I understood was owned by the husband of the owner of #3. Both were very nice, but I think the second floor has big advantages view (and probably breeze) wise.

When we returned to the office, the manager was back and she was also very friendly. Check in was ridiculously easy...no worries about cleaning fees, check out inspections, etc. It felt like we were staying at a nice hotel. Free purified water is refilled whenever you like, the unit was big and comfortable.

The beach was very nice. Swimming / snorkeling was good for the area although you need to go out a ways. Note that there is a submerged rock pathway that makes entry easier (we didn't find it until our last day).

Mostly American visitors it seemed to us. The nearby Turtle Bay Cafe has good quality food, but the menu is light on regional food.

After La Bahia we went to Tulum and stayed at the Nueva Vida de Ramiro which was more romantic, but if we return to the area we would stay at the La Bahia. Staying in a condo had a number of advantages and the overall experience was the best of our entire trip.

I want to end by repeating that the staff at La Bahia was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I should not tell you this because it may get to popular and then we can't book it (LOL)
We stayed in La Bahia nu 5-excellent- windows,views and more.does need upgrading but hey was still perfect location.We did not even use the air-just leave front and back windows open and ohhh.. the breeze and sound !Soothes you into relaxation state-yoga holds nothing over this kinda God induced eye and body candy (LOL)
Looked at a few others in the same unit-more upgrades in them.
All said and done,Staff was great,from property manager,office staff ,and housekeeping.
We will return.
If you like quite,no late nights,snorkeling-this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Lovely view! The unit is in dire need of an update: old curtains (holes in them), worn-out bed linen, few kitchen items (needs more breakfast items: bowls, tea kettle please). It is a top-floor unit (lots of stairs!) and the balcony is not covered. The unit is a studio, the bathroom very cramped (when you sit on the toilet you nearly bang your forehead on the wall in front). We stayed 3 nights in this unit and 3 nights in unit #5 (a far superior 2 bedroom unit $20/night addl.). It was very windy while we visited Halfmoon Bay and we had better luck snorkelling at Akumal Bay (calmer water, gorgeous sand and no seaweed).

Room Tip: I recommend unit #5 or one of the beach-level units. I would prefer to stay on Akumal Bay. The beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We were looking for a place to stay for our 3rd week in Mexico and absolutely loved this spot. We stayed in unit #1 (walk out to the beach) & it was fabulous. It looks better in real life than in the pictures provided through Playa Paradise Rentals. It was spot less & the maids do a fabulous job on a daily basis if thats what you need. Unit #1 is a 2 bedroom with both bedrooms having their own ensuite bath which makes it great for couple or family. The beds/mattress were extremely comfortable (better than our previous week where we had stayed at a 5 star hotel). There was no need to use the air conditioning as the cross breeze & fans were sufficient. The place was equipped with all kitchen items one could need & they provide purified water so this is no issue. We did buy the drops to put in water when washing fruit of veggies but this was no issue.
The walk out was wonderful, each morning I awoke, watched the sunrise & had a coffee on the lounger watching the turtles bob up & down. And the sound of the waves will lull you to sleep & awake you gently in the morning. The only one negative about the half-moon bay side is that it is rocky so you do need to wear your water shoes.
There are 2 nearby corner stores (1-2 blocks away), 2 nearby places to rent bicycles $6 for the day (or golf carts). There are also 2 nearby restaurants 2 blocks or so, La Buena Vida (palapa type place) with fabulous cochinta, lime soup & other favourites (very good value for your money)--also make tart & tasteful margaritas. The other is La Lunita which is a bit more expensive but also very good -- we had a lobster that was so large it fed 2.
The great thing about visiting Akumal is that it is low key/laid back. From La Bahia you can also ride a bike or walk to the Akumal beach which is the best for snorkelling. No need to rent or go on a tour. You see turtles, sting rays & colourful fish abundantly. While you can bring your beach blanket, the hotel are good about letting you use their loungers if you buy drinks or food from them.
The other restaurants in Akumal are also fantastic (both taste, assortment & pricing). You have the Bakery Cafe & La Pescado right as you come in. Lots of other little artsy shops which are also neat to browse through. We rented a car so had the freedom to run to Tulum beach & other areas which are also great to explore. Your also real close to Xel-ha (great value for the day -- would recommend) & there is a large store Cheraudi 15 min away (at Tulum)...brand new. We have been in that area for last number of years & it is changing (more development) but it still has its rustic/laid back appeal.
Hope this is information is useful.

Room Tip: All seem to have great views, it really depends if you want a walk out or not. Walk outs do perhaps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadaWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#22 of 23 in Akumal
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bahia

Property: La Bahia
Address: Akumal, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Bahia Hotel Akumal
La Bahia Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing