We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Beach Location and With Privacy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jagged950...
Gilroy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Beach Location and With Privacy”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us (3 couples) have traveled together every year since 2000. Over the last 13 years we have stayed in 10 Villas on beaches in Mexico (both coasts), Turks and Caicos, California and Costa Rica. The Taj Kamal is one of the best properties we have had the pleasure of staying in.

Must haves on the checklist for our group are
a minimum of 3 master suites
b swimming pool
c costal access
d it must look amazing!

The TK is very well cared for. The daily maid, pool and yard service provided was friendly and professional. The house manager helped us rent bikes and a golf cart and insured that we had everything we needed.

We loved the seating areas both inside and out. The main dinning area is spacious and comfortable. The pool area has a great big bed for naps and many chairs and lounges.
Two tables (in shaded areas) with chairs for outdoor dining too.

They moved a huge new outdoor grille into the pool area the day we left.

There are many interesting decorations from around the world in the villa that express the rich family history of the founding father of Akumal.

Good AV equipment for watching movies viewing pictures from the days adventures and wifi for setting up tours and researching the local area.

The location is within 5 minutes walk of five (or more) very good restaurants.

We enjoyed it very much and recommend it. As a matter of fact we are planning a return trip with our kids and grandkids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool Area and the roof top deck for sunset and star gazing
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Greenfield, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful villa with spectacular views from all areas of the home!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We so enjoyed our trip to Mexico and our stay at the Taj-Kumal. There were 3 couples and we each had our own large suite with private baths. We had so much fun we even named a drink after the villa. It is called the Taj-Kumal Run Special!! The weather was terrific! The staff was so helpful and kind. We had a chef make us dinner 4 nights and that was really fun and delicious. The home is truly beautiful. I hated to leave. But will be back next year. 10 days was not enough maybe 17 days next time! I would recommend this vacation villa "hands up".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The outside walkway to the beach was very hard on the feet - but not too bad.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabelle...
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Concrete jungle”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The first house I've rented that was very disappointing. Not a comfortable room or a comfortable chair in it. The house actually has 2 bedrooms, one up (from hanging spiral stairs that not everyone would even try) and one off the dining room. The others are only accessible from the pool area. The room above the garage was rejected by everyone in our group, dark sad and lonely. The floors throughout the house are textured concrete which was very odd. The bed in the master room is on a large platform which has a pretty high step. I fell the first night, my husband the second. Crazy and very dangerous. The house had extremely poor lighting, you need more than amber mood lighting to hang out with folks. Just an odd uncomfortable house. We didn't have hot water the first 2 days in one of the rooms and had to leave notes and run out to the main lobby to tell them. The kitchen was dark all the time. The utensils and knives were just terrible and looked as though they had been rescued from someones dirt pile. Of course there's no dishwasher. There were at least 7-8 cats around all the time and they were going in and out of the owners cat door so I guess they're hers. We found 2 of them on our kitchen table one morning and then 2 in the master bedroom another night. One jumped on my bed and then scooted through a small hole in the bedroom's screen door. Outside the pool's gate it looked as though they took the left over concrete from building the house and tried to pour it into some kind of formation except it dried before they finished. Really ugly and rough. Just an all around terrible place. It detracted so much from the natural beauty of the beach that you couldn't even see the beach through all the interference. Terrible place and terrible food. That's a first for us in visiting Mexico.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the entire area was terrible
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIMaryand...
MI
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finest Home and Location in Akumal”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our adult kids and their partners met up with us for a family retreat. We could not have found a better home to suit our needs. We normally rent rooms at the Hotel Akumal, but for a large group this was a better value. The home is spotless, the decor is spectacular, the staff is very friendly, professional, and extremely trustworthy. A cook is availible for a reasonable fee that can prepare exquisite meals. Right outside the door is the finest beach on the entire Mayan Riveria coast. I did not find the staff presence intrusive at all, as another reviewer did, if guests take care of the property as they would their own home I'm sure everything would be fine. People that rent motel, hotels, or homes to party and trash stuff should be made to feel unwelcome by the owners. Our security deposit was refunded in cash as we checked out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location location location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN, United States
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flip_wils...
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location....”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Taj Kumal the second week of February in 2013. I was quite concerned with a recent review about the intrusiveness of the owner, but to my relief we did not have an issue. First to note is that this is not your normal "rental" property in Mexico. This property was designed as a family home and that's what it was for many years. This is why the owner is so attached to the property. That being said, if you respect the property, you won't have a problem.

The home was well stocked with necessities, including all kitchen items; utensils, bowls cups and cooking oil and spices. We never ran out of a supply of towels, and there is also a washer and dryer for use off of the kitchen. All of the televisions worked in each room, and all were flat screens. A/C in each of the bedrooms also worked without a flaw. We also never had an issue with electricity outages, and there was always a plentiful supply of hot water for showering. Wifi worked just fine, but range was limited to the main floor and near the pool.

First and foremost you are paying a premium for one thing: Location. This is the only home directly on the main bay of Akumal. You are literally steps from the ocean and restaurants of Akumal. The home is well cared for, but some items are showing their age. For instance, the stove in the kitchen needs to be lit with a bic lighter each time it is used. Something I wouldn't expect for $6500 per week. Additionally, many of the homes I've rented in Mexico for less have reverse osmosis water systems in place. There is, however an unlimited supply of fresh drinking water in the kitchen and a jug in each bathroom for brushing your teeth. Nobody in our group got the trots from the water or eating in Akumal over the week. Finally, the beds..... Oh my! The beds are rock hard, and I mean ROCK hard. (most places we've stayed in Mexico have harder than average beds, but these were by far the hardest) Even venturing to Chedraui to get a mattress pad hardly made it more comfortable. The most comfortable bed in the home is the small twin daybed in the new Prana Bungalow, otherwise, be prepared for a hard sleeping surface.

As for the new Prana Bungalow, it''s very nice, but also very new. To that end, the entire week there was an odor from out-gassing of the building materials. It smelled similar to freshly laid ashpalt. It was hardly minimized with opening every window, but the kids who slept there got used to it (hopefully with no long term effects)

Also worth noting is the owners cats that roam the property. Wasn't really an issue for us, but some have allergies to cats or are afraid of cats. I know that if my mother would have been with us, she would not stay there due to her being deathly afraid of cats. Also, we were told that racoons roam the property at night, so you cannot leave any of the sliding glass doors open (screen door shut), as they will work their way into the home.

The pool is decent sized and has multiple depths so that kids of all ages can enjoy. It is not heated, but was a comfortable temperature for our trip. Worth noting.... I don't believe the pool has a filtration system as you would find in the States. As the week went on, the water became a bit more cloudy. Perhaps this is the reason the owner requires an additional $250 for any guests that use the pool. There are plenty of chairs available at the pool to sit, and they were all comfortable. Also, the thatched hut beside the pool has a powerful fan that helps when the wind dies down. Also kept the no-see--ums and mosquitos away.

There is a small beach in front of the home to the left that has chairs set up, but as guests of Taj Kumal are not to be used. It would be great if a couple of chairs could be set up for Taj Kumal directly in front of the home as it seems there is plenty of room for this (and you are not permitted to take any of the pool loungers to the beach for obvious reasons).

Overall, we had a great week at Taj Kumal. We would definitely stay there again if we wanted to stay in Akumal. Akumal is a great base location for exploring the Southern end of the Riviera Maya as it is 20 minutes to Tulum and about an hour to Coba. Don't fear in renting a car as once you get out of the tourist zone of Cancun, getting around was simple. Thanks again to Myrna for the use of her home, we had a blast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Extremely hard beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi Texas
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing