We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Caribbean Sea and Cenote Snorkeling Adventure from Tulum
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a really cool place, we saw tons of fish and even saw a stingray when we swam out toward the ocean area. Make sure you bring ORGANIC sunscreen as they will not let you use any other kind. They do sell organic sunscreen, but you will pay a lot for it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Collette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    639
    261
    107
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Time at the Lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

cannot believe what a treasure this is. We snorkeled for several hours, ate lunch and then snorkeled some more. The views and the area was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like Snorkeling in an Aquarium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Yal-ku Lagoon is a VERY tranquil place to snorkel. The lagoon is well-protected from the waves of the ocean and is very calm - a great place for a beginner snorkeler. There is a good variety of fish to see. It's just like snorkeling in a huge fish aquarium. The only drawback to our snorkeling experience was that the lagoon has a mixture of fresh and sea water. When the two mix, it makes for somewhat cloudy visibility. Not a major drawback, but there were times when I wished I could see better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ToledoMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We did not go onto the grounds at yal-ku so I can't speak to those. We swam into the lagoon.

The lagoon itself is really amazing. The rocks and the formations are amazing. Some people have complained about the oily water. Its not oily. Its nature. Its what happens when salt water mixes with freshwater. It also happens when cold water mixes with warm water. Yal-ku has both. We were in Yal-ku almost everyday for a week. We had some days that were bad. Others that were clear.

The waters are cooler in the lagoon. We felt most comfortable in a short wetsuit, but I'm sensitive to cold.

In the waters we saw all sorts of fish. We saw tangs, a sea hare, sting rays, parrot fish, one barracuda, lots of upside down jellyfish, and many other types of fish. It was really fun. Everything is clean and pristine in the water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladywild76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average to very good, go early for best visibility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yal-ku is a privately owned cenote that is connected to the open sea via a lagoon and estuary. It offers a beginner level snorkeling experience with depths ranging from three feet to over twenty feet. Fish and an occasional turtle or ray can be seen, but go early!

Every year this lagoon gets more attention - and more crowds. Remember to bring only certified "biologico" sunscreen as each container will be scrutinized by the owners and rejected if it contains non-ecological ingredients (anything other than zinc oxide). In by 9, out by 11 and you'll enjoy your day.

There's a cafe, shaded areas to keep the sun off, and beautiful bronze statuary throughout the park. It's a gem, but don't expect much in the way of varieties or numbers of fish or corals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing