We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this area!!”
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Caribbean Sea and Cenote Snorkeling Adventure from Tulum
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
Tulum Combo Tour: Archaeological Site, Cenotes and Yalku Lagoon
More Info
US$119.00*
and up
Yax Kin Cenote, Yalku Lagoon and Xpuha Beach Combo Tour with Snorkeling
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Culiacan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this area!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was scared to swim and snorkel all throughout,but the guide was very helpful and got me through! You would love this lagoon! I loved it here!! It is very safe and all the coral reef and fish is so pleasant!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    668
    281
    108
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little place of heaven”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The place is amazing for swimming or snorkeling. Very clean and well maintained by a local administration. You can rent all snorkeling equipment there and remember not to bring sun blocker as just the eco friendly brands are permitted in order to prevent pollution in the lagoon. I recommend buying the ones sold at the place to avoid bringing a brand that is not allowed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gtovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I love this place. The grounds are small, but beautifully landscaped with a blend of tropical vegetation and wonderful sculptures. The lagoon itself is full of fish (which seemed more plentiful at certain times of the day). I like the fact that Yal-Ku doesn't allow regular sunscreens and repellents -- you have to use "natural" products that have less of an impact on the environment. The grounds also have a variety of benches and picnic tables, an outdoor shower area, lockers for your valuables (only $3 for the day), and a snack bar. I actually spent almost two full days there, going early in the morning before the crowds arrived, and staying until late in the afternoon. In between snorkeling, I relaxed and read. Thoroughly pleasurable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AssikoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not many fish... pity”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Been here many times. Gorgeous location, the statuary art on the grounds is absolutely stunning. Unfortunately the lagoon seems to be over attended by humans, many of them likely wearing chemical sunscreen (which kills the coral). Not many interesting fish to see most of the time, but sometimes you get lucky. Nevertheless, a lovely little place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travels0metimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First timers perfection”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My first time snorkeling ever. How amazing. The water is so clear that you can see the fish swimming around before you get in. It took me a while to get the hand of the gear, not because it's hard to use but because I'm a chicken when it comes to being on water with sea creatures around you. The views of the area are simply amazing. Even when I was not in the water, I was amazed at the beautiful surroundings. The drive to get to this lake is also gorgeous. It's one of those little towns where you wish to one day retire.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank calarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing