We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Cozy although a little aged”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Panoramic ocean view of Casa Balam Ek
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic ocean view of Casa Balam Ek
Villa Balam Ek Caribbean front view Ocean view from Balam Ek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
28 reviews
Panoramic ocean view of Casa Balam Ek
Villa Balam Ek Caribbean front view
Ocean view from Balam Ek
Garden Bench
Terrace table and charcoal grill
Small bedroom for children, attached to the master bedroom
Master Bedroom balcony
Complete kitchen and pantry
Diving in Akumal
Sailing trips and secluded beaches
Snorkeling in Akumal Bay
Cenotes
Sailing Tour in Akumal
Fishing in Akumal
Akumal Bay Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basse911
Hanko, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Cozy although a little aged”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There is not much to criticize when writing about Villa Balam Ek, the fact that it is a little worn being one of the few things I could come up with. But it was also the only villa in Akumal we could afford and I think it was very good for the money!
When you come all the way from the outskirts of Europe to Akumal, you have been travelling for at least 24 hours when you arrive.. so the brains aren't working as good as they should! Therefore I would have hoped there had been someone to meet us when we arrived and not one hour later. But these are details of course. And they were very helpful when they arrived, and we even got help via e-mail later on during our 8 nights stay. The housemaid was also a very kind and hardworking woman, we were grateful that she helped us to have that "on holiday" feeling!
The position of the villa is close to perfect; very peaceful area and yet close to beaches, restaurants and of course the Caribbean Sea just in front of the villa. We watched many beautiful sunrises! And the best snorkeling for us was to go right out in front of the villa and snorkel just inside of the reef in Half Moon Bay. Much to see there! The area feels safe but still the huge windows from floor to ceiling had me wondering during awake moments of the night. But that's just me.
At Villa Balam Ek many solutions are made to be eco-friendly and that is great, I really support that kind of thinking. A little hint I would like to give though; all lightbulbs could be changed into energy light bulbs to save even more energy.
Overall it was a very positive stay we had here (3rd time on Riviera Maya) and I would gladly recommend this villa. We were 3 adults and 2 children.
As usually in my reviews, I am gonna let the pictures do the rest of the "talking".

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The position of the villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2013
Dear Sebastian,

Reviews are always welcome, bad or good, that help us to improve our services.

We had so much rain the last couple of months that the house it is not in its best right now. We will start working on the house next week to have it ready for the season. Painting and a lot newer things for interior and exterior. We´ll post new photos as soon as the house is ready.

Thanks again for your comment we really appreciate them.

Sincerely,

Ingrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noeway
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico city
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chesapeake City
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 May 2013
Dear Judy,

Thank you very much for your message and for choosing our home for your family vacation in Akumal.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Ingrid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paris
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 May 2013
Thank you Francois for your message.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Hasta pronto
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$400
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing