We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Comfortable, Relaxing”
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Oceanside view of Valhalla
Street Side Entry
Evening view of Half Moon Bay
Enormous Roof Terrace
The Roof Top View
Outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lance R
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Comfortable, Relaxing”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had the pleasure to spend a week at Villa Valhalla in Akumal when our friends got married there. What a place! Its sparkly clean and well maintained, the infinity pool is out of this world with multiple levels, and the water and snorkeling is fantastic right out front. Every room is ocean front and spacious and every room has its own bathroom. I enjoyed catching the breeze on the hammocks, and the wireless speakers with ipod dock were great for listening to Bob Marley while relaxing in the pool. The staff cleaning the house and pool every day (Lupe, Christina, and Luis) were very friendly and did a great job. The La Buena Vida restaurant right down the road is one of my favorite places to eat ever and is only a few minutes walk away.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, hammocks, pool, location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Hi Lance! We always aim for your vacation here in Akumal to be the best one ever, and we are delighted to read your feedback about Villa de Valhalla! Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3daughter...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent home”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

House is located right on ocean, walk to several restaurants and beaches. Great for extended family, 6 bedrooms with ensuites in each. Hired chef so cooked for us arrival day and had him come one other night. The only thing I didn't like was there is no beach only a rocky coast. You can snorkel from there though. Would recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Villa de Valhalla, Diane! You're right, the snorkeling out front of the villa is fantastic! Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blaise318...
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING DREAM COME TRUE VACATION”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I AM BASICALLY TAKIING THE SAME REVIEW FROM ANOTHER VISITOR AND ADDING TO IT....

We love Akumal. We came with my Mother, 2 brothers, their wives and kids and my son and his girlfriend - 12 total. The house is amazing. Pool is gorgeous, rooms are spacious and very comfortable with great beds, and the view is breath taking. The rooftop view will blow your mind. There is no sandy beach direct access but the walk to it is only a few minutes and the rocky area leads to excellent snorkeling right at the house. The kitchen is great and perfect for large groups. It has 2 full size refrigerators. Huge tables inside and out for dining or game playing. Hammocks for relaxing and multiple balconies to enjoy the scenery from. There are multiple books with wonderful information on restaurants (don't leave with out eating at as many of them as you can), We used Miguel and Namaste Tours for travel to and from airport and he is wonderful.

. Highly recommend getting Chef Daavid to come in and cook. His crew makes insanely good food.
La Buena Vida restaurant is steps away and a blast with very reasonable drink and food prices and a great happy hour11 The back drop of the ocean and the balconies were spectacular. We will be renting this house again for sure! Lupe, Luis, and Christina (the housekeepers and maintenance guy) are so nice and helpful and do an excellent job.I felt that Monica - the house manager was a little abrupt and acted like she didn't have time for us (we had issues getting the showers figured out which did work fine) and she came really didn't want to be bothered with a couple small things we needed to work out.
Wifi worked well. Pictures can not do this place justice. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool chef privacy
Liked least: house manager
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can I give it 10 stars!?!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We love Akumal. We came with my now husbands Mom and Dad, sister, her husband, their two children, his brother and his wife, and my Mom. The house is amazing. Pool is gorgeous, rooms are spacious and very comfortable with great beds, and the view is breath taking. The rooftop view will blow your mind. There is no sandy beach direct access but the walk to it is only a few minutes and the rocky area leads to excellent snorkeling right at the house. The kitchen is great and perfect for large groups. It has 2 full size refrigerators. Huge tables inside and out for dining or game playing. Hammocks for relaxing and multiple balconies to enjoy the scenery from. There are multiple books with wonderful information on restaurants (don't leave with out eating at as many of them as you can), who to contact for excursions (don't miss out on Your Green Guide, Hugo is remarkable), and anything else you could need. Highly recommend getting Chef Daavid to come in and cook. His crew makes insanely good food. It ended up being our wedding feast and we couldn't have been happier. The walk into town is about 10-15 minutes and is easy. Bike rentals and golf carts make it even easier. Akumal Bay (don't miss the turtles there) is very close and the laguna is a quick bike ride away. We got engaged on the trip at one of our favorite spots La Buena Vida on the first Monday (we were there 9 days) and decided on Thanksgiving to go ahead and get married while we were there with the family! The house was the perfect location to do it at. The back drop of the ocean and the balconies were spectacular. We will be renting this house again for sure! Lupe, Luis, and Christina (the housekeepers and maintenance guy) are so nice and helpful and do an excellent job. Wifi worked well. The younger girls liked the tv upstairs a few nights while the older people enjoyed the back patio. Speakers for inside and out did not work but there was a portable system that worked very well. It kept us dancing on the back patio all night! We could not be more highly impressed with this property. Pictures can not do this place justice. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, size of the property, and location.
Liked least: Water pressure in the shower. It was still fine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Hi Emily! We are delighted that you had such a good stay in Villa de Valhalla! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
108cm32
Denver
2 reviews
“Perfect House”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This place was amazing it had it all. Amazing pool, great snorkeling, and kayaking. Easy walk to great shops and restaurants and a short drive to several bigger cities if that's what you like. AC is only in bedrooms but ocean breeze kept the rest of the house cool. Akumal is very low key. Felt very safe.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackal119
NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Villa!”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Villa de Valhalla was everything it was advertised to be. The Valhalla staff (Luis, Lupi & Christina) took very good care of us and made sure we had everything that we needed.

The villa manager (Monica) helped to make our stay successful. We utilized the photographer (Scott Brown) that she recommended. Hopefully the photos will be as wonderful as Scott was.

We hope to return to Akumal in the near future and hopefully to Villa de Valhalla.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the rooms had the same great view.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2015
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at Villa de Valhalla! Thank you so much for choosing Akumal Direct Reservations. We have seen a lot of Scott Brown's photography work in the past, and it has always been beautiful! I have no doubt that you will love your family photos. :o) Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Akumal again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T
Palm Spring, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, good location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Biggest disappointment is that the freezer stopped working on our first day. Property managers say that they went to Playa Del Carmen to buy a new refrigerator but that it would not be delivered for at least 7 days. Bottom line, a nine day stay without a freezer. Really? Hot, humid and all our frozen food thawing, and the best they could do was bring us bags of ice. I can't imagine that the property managers could not get a pick up and actually drive in to Playa del Carmen and get a refrigerator/freezer and bring it down to Akumal. I find it hard to believe that there would not be a refrigerator available in all of Playa del Carmen. Too expensive for such bad service. I manage vacation rentals in Palm Springs, and wouldn't dream of leaving my renters high and dry for a week.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: walking distance to "La Buena Vida"
Liked least: Unacceptable service from the property management company in Akumal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing