We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Casa by the sea WITH Iguanas”

Review of Casa Iguana

Property view from the main house balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property view from the main house balcony
Pool Area Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Property view from the main house balcony
Pool Area
Pool Area
Volleyball court
Oceanfront palapa with hammocks
Oceanfront
Outside grill area
Outside Dinning Area
Outside Dinning Area
Parking Area
Main house
Outside area in front of the guesthouse
Outside Dinning Table
Outside Dinning
Master Queen Bedroom
Master bedroom
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom
Main House Living Area
Upstairs living area
Main house 2nd bedroom
Downstairs bedroom
Main House 2nd Bathroom
Main house Kitchen
Main House Kitchen
Main House Dinning Area
Main House Dinning Area
Guesthouse bedroom with one double and one single bed
Guesthouse bathroom
Guesthouse 2 double beds
Guesthouse 2nd bedroom
Guesthouse bathroom
Guesthouse Living Area
Guesthouse Kitchen
Guesthouse kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travelfam...
dallas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Casa by the sea WITH Iguanas”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here with an extended family group - there was plenty of space for everyone with 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms plus extra seating outside at table in garden and hammocks under Palapa by the sea that was always breezy and cool. Perfect location - staff was amazing. No Complaints - loved every amazing minute of it - memories made with family in pool, under palapa, on volleyball court, under stars, dining with Danny...It was a great escape.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Casa Iguana! Thank you so much for staying with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcNAust...
Austin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place with poor toilets.”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

One of the basic creature comforts are toilets which work. The Casa Iguana toilets were constantly getting clogged. That said, it is a lovely property in a unique setting. The pool, fire pit, kitchens, maintenance, support staff and general ambience were all amazing. There are ample restaurants and bakeries in the area in every price range.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and relationship of pool to the beach.
Liked least: The dysfunctional toilets
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
2 reviews
“Private casa by the sea”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved our stay. Daniel was the man. What a great cook and truly nice guy. Casa Iguana is walking distance to the beach, shopping and restaurants. There was plenty of space for our party of eleven. The layout is as follows. The main house: The upstairs master suite has A/C, a queen bed, ample storage space and large bathroom with two sinks. The space outside of the master suit has the best views, a TV and a double bed. The only drawback is no A/C unless you leave the master suite door open. There are two decks on the second floor, the larger connected to the master suite. The downstairs has a small dining area with A/C, kitchen, bathroom and a back bedroom with A/C and two twin beds. The casita: Both bedrooms have A/C, one has two doubles and one has one double and one twin. The main room has A/C, TV space for air beds (we brought a couple for the kids), a large kitchen with a breakfast bar. The pool is a modest size, but has both shallow and deep ends and plenty of room around it the several comfortable lounge chairs. There is a palapa overlooking the sea with two chairs and two hammocks. There is an outside shower and kitchen with sink and charcoal/wood-fired grill. I could go on and on We would definitely return when next in Riviera Maya.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master suite.
Liked least: The small range, oven and fridge.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
We are delighted that you had such a lovely time at Iguana, Mark! Thank you so much for staying with us here at Akumal Direct Reservations, and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tako65
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A favorite place for laid back people who want a home on the sea”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Use Loco Gringo to rent--high attention and good recommendation with a local flavor. Don't expect luxury; expect comfort. Absolutely wonderful outdoor spaces; comfortable indoor spaces. The living room and the kitchen in the casita are big enough for a group is it rains at the wrong time; otherwise eating outside is easy and makes for great interaction. Danny cooks well enough to be called a chef; try the Lime Soup with chicken. Alicia keeps things clean and does great laundry service. The pool isn't for laps but it's clean, cool, and is big enough to have a deep end. There are chairs and hammock out near the rocky beach, perfect for contemplation and communing with iguanas. One night we put all the chairs on the volleyball court and just did star gazing. Easy walking to restaurants and snorkeling. Life jackets by pool can save money. Gained 10 years on my life in one week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling like I lived there
Liked least: Not having a swimmable beach out the back door
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Casa Iguana. The staff will be delighted to assist with your 1st anniversay celebration next year! We are pleased the property worked well for your wedding group and that you felt well cared for during your stay. We appreciate you choosing Casa Iguana! All the best in your married life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DLDSAVAGE
Savage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great house to stay at in Akumal”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the place. Great cook and maid!!! loved the snorkeling near by. Enjoyed the pool. My only complaint is the beach is so rocky. But nice beaches are near by. Especially loved the pico Diego and guacamole on arrival and more during the week! We rented a golf cart and if you are not into walking a ton this was very nice.. also would pile with stuff to bring to the beach!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Casa Iguana. It is wonderful that you loved the place and that you enjoyed the pool and arrival snacks. Yes, the coastline on the ocean side of the house is rocky with no water entry. This area is easily viewed on our website ad for the property. Casa Iguana is situated between Akumal beach and Half Moon bay beach. These beaches are a short 5 minute walk from Casa Iguana.
We appreciate you staying with us! Muchas gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing