We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Couldn't have been better”
Beach View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach View
Long Beach Walking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
6 reviews
Beach View
Long Beach
Walking
Terrace View
Peaceful
Relax
Palapa Shade
Romantic Times
In House Food Service
One Bedroom Beach Front Condo
Two Bedroom Beach Front Condo
Three Bedroom Beach Front Condo
Spacious Living Area
Dinning
Kitchen
Standard Room With Garden View
Standard Room With Garden View
Standard Room With Garden View
Bathroom
Bedroom
Twin Beds
Beach
Beach Bar
Beach Bar View
Cocktails
Condos at Night
Condos by the Jungle
Pool
Poolside
Kayaks
Dive Center
Roof Top Boat View
Boat View
Dive Boats
Reef
Cenotes Diving
Cave Diving
Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
krbear24
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Villas De Rosas is a gem of a property of the beaten path and away from the crowds of tourists. It's a small family-run property that really makes it feel like you are a guest, treated with true hospitality. We found the rooms to be very clean and well-priced. That being said, it is not a 5-star hotel. So if that is what you are looking for go somewhere else. It is modest and simple. The property could use some maintenance work, but it suited our needs just fine. The privacy of having separate bedrooms and bathrooms with a large common living area and kitchen was nice for a group of 6. The hotel supplies filtered water jugs everyday. They have a room-service menu and baked a chocolate cake for us for my father-in-laws birthday which was delicious! There is a bar on the beach next to the hotel. The staff helped arrange and negotiate transportation to the ruins for us, coordinated a dive trip with their on-site dive center, and pointed out some local hot-spots that aren't visited by many tourists. You really don't need a car hear. We took a very long walk to Akumal Beach (where the shops and restaurants are) and a cab back. We snorkeled off the beach and saw turtles, puffer fish, and some schools of tang. And we did most of our cooking in the room. One minor complaint is that it advertised kyaks, however, it only had 1 kyak with a broken paddle. But honestly, the water was a bit choppy, so kyaking probably wouldn't have been that fun. And there was no trampoline as advertised in the photos, but I wouldn't have used it anyways.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location. No crowds. No vendors hassling you.
Liked least: The kitchen could be a bit better stocked to make cooking a little easier. We were short on bowls, water glasses, salt and pepper, and some convenient utensils like a vegetable peeler, but we got by just fine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, helpful staff, great value overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We rented a 3 bedroom condo as well as 2 separate rooms. There were 10 of us total, 7 adults, 2 teens and an 11 year old. The building was nice but not outstanding. If you are looking for a fancy, all inclusive experience then this is not for you. If you want a quiet, beautiful beach and friendly helpful staff in a simple, adequate setting then this may be what you want.
Each bedroom is air-conditioned. The rooms are small and simply appointed but we did not come to sit in our rooms! The beds were large but a little hard, basically 2 twins put together to make one king or separated for 2 individual beds.. Bathrooms have large showers and are nice. Main living-dining-kitchen is roomy with plenty of room to sit, eat, relax. No need for AC because the ocean is about 10 steps away and a hearty breeze blows most of the time. Free Wifi was a big plus. Also cable TV but again we were busy enjoying the beach and snorkeling in the azure seas.
The kitchen in the condo left something to be desired. The stove had to be lit with a match and was quite tilted and there could have been pots and pans in better condition but when we asked for more plates and silverware staff supplied these quickly. Good sized refrigerator plus 3 of the 5 rooms we rented had mini fridges. They have a kitchen with a nice offerings, you order and they come out to pool area with your meal. We mostly ate breakfast there and then cooked meals or ate out when visiting the many local attractions nearby.
Maid service came daily and for a small fee would do your laundry too! Came in handy when we had damp, sandy clothes and beach towels. The place always smelled fresh and clean after the maid came!
If you scuba then you are in the right place! They offer open water as well as cenote dives. Also have a charter fishing boat available though my group had better luck with a different charter. Snorkeling off beach was very good especially slightly to the north with many different fish to see. Beware of your feet! Hard and sharp coral under the waves caught my brother and scratched him up a bit. Wear beach shoes or flippers! Also beware of the current, we swam about 100 yards out and there was a strong pull out to sea, had to swim hard even with fins to return! Much to see close to shore. While you are there go to Akumal Beach a couple miles north. There you can snorkel gorgeous reef and see huge sea turtles grazing about 10 feet under water in calm seas. Much worth going even if a bit crowded with tourists.
Another treat was the many turtle nests on the beach as well as mother sea turtles coming on to the beach at night to lay eggs. They ask that you do not shine flash lights or disturb these amazingly large creatures. We saw 2 and it was very exciting.
Overall a great experience. One note is to check if they have opened the rooftop bar. It wwas closed when we went and we were not told it would be. We did have fun going up there anyway because the view is gorgeous!
We traveled with a teenager with a physical disability and the staff was very accommodating.
Hope this was helpful!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quiet beach with good snorkeling
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phoenix
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phoenix arizona
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing