We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“snorkling paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area. It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area.
It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Courtyard
The building is located in the courtyard area.
Living room
Inside Condo
Inside Condo
Dining room with table setting for 6
Kitchen and Dining Area
New desk area in case you are on a working vacation - bring your own laptop - Free Wi-Fi included
Main bedroom with private bathroom and private balcony with view of the Caribbean
View from terrace off main bedroom
Second bedroom with two twin beds and programable safe
View from second bedroom
View from second bedroom
Our terrace pool for cooling off after a nice snorkel.
The terrace pool is waiting for you to jump in!
Breezeway to beach
Ahhhhh
Pool with wonderful view of Half-Moon Bay
Entryway to the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay
Beach with fresh-water showers, palapas, and loungers
Beach in front of condo complex
Half-Moon Bay at sunset
Half-Moon Bay
Ahhhh
Half-Moon Bay at dusk
Akumal Bay
Akumal Bay
Yal-Ku Lagoon - short walk away
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Cave Diving - there are lots of local cenotes to snorkel or scuba dive in.
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Turtle release on Akumal Bay
Fun at Xplor (eco-park)
Fun at Explor (eco-park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikev591
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“snorkling paradise”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Condo was comfy and welcoming, private, peaceful, friendly staff, all amenities, Condo owners sent maps and local information prior to arrival which was extremely appreciated and well used. Beach directly outside very rocky, but great for snorkling; sandy beaches just down the bay also great and you see much different sea life, including tortoises. Great take off for Tulum, Coba, Chitchen Itza, easy commute to Cancun. Wonderful trip, thanks for the hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all good
Liked least: full residential mile from shops, etc
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L B
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for our family of 5”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the condo March 30 - April 7, 2016. We are a family of 5 with 3 boys 9 and under. This was our first time travelling to Mexico. We had a fabulous time - and would recommend it to everyone.

Owners - Peggy was super helpful with answers to our questions before we booked and with maps and lots of information after we booked. While we were there, they were doing some work on the septic system in an adjacent building - Peggy was right on top of it, notifying us that it was going on and asked us to let her know if it interfered with our vacation (which it didn't).

Condo amenities - the condo itself was well equipped with everything we needed - basic spices for cooking, along with pots, pans, dishes, bottled water, etc.; beach towels and shower towels; wifi; bedding (although we brought a small blow-up mattress for our youngest child, so he could sleep in the same room as his brothers, rather than on the couch), etc.. The pools were lots of fun and my boys spent at least some of every day in them. For the most part, we had the pools to ourselves, which was also very nice. The grounds are kept very neat and tidy and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Location - close enough to the amenities in Akumal (grocery, dive shop, souvenirs, etc.), but far enough away that we didn't have to deal with the crowds of people coming in to see the turtles (unless we were going to see them ourselves - but go early or late in the day ... a lot less people). Plus, able to walk 2 minutes to Yal-Ku for snorkelling (a huge highlight!!). Also easy driving distance to Aktun Chen (kids LOVED the zip lining, cave walk and cenote); Coba and Tulum; Xel-Ha (although we didn't go - too much other stuff to see and do). Finally, I can't talk about the location, without mentioning the snorkeling right outside your door. Fantastic! My kids were new to snorkeling, but had no problems exploring the reefs in Half Moon Bay. Not as many fish as Yal-Ku, but lots of very interesting coral formations and other see creatures. The rocky shore is also lots of fun to explore.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and would not hesitate in coming back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: King bed was a bit too hard for my husband
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTFKRF
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pictures do not do the place justice”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing location on Half Moon Bay (and if you're not, you should be), La Iguana 13 is a fabulous choice. We've been vacationing and visiting Akumal since 1996 and have stayed in a number of places and locations. The location in North Akumal, a simple walk (3 minutes) and other points of interest (we walked into Akumal several times) is perfect. The scenery is lovely. The view from the rooftop is one of the best ever. But the real joy was the condo. Located on the second floor, it was far brighter than the photos show. Having windows and views on all four sides meant it was easy to 'catch the breeze' and sleep with the windows open, the AC off and the sound of the ocean.

The maid service is first rate, with the place as immaculate on the last day as the first. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. And we found the condo had everything we needed (and more) including a flash light that came in handy as we arrived during a power outage (following a downpour).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markR3883...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“May we buy your condo?”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is a real gem of a place to vacation, far from the crowds of Cancun. This is our third trip to Peggy and Mike's condominium, and we love it. You don't even need a rental car, if you choose, as you can walk to the small town, restaurants, snorkeling (just outside), and easily get beer. Transportation to and from this condo is readily available from the Cancun airport.

If you like saltwater aquariums, how about swimming in one? Snorkeling is easily accessible by simply walking outside to the ocean or visiting the nearby lagoon. The coral reefs have plenty of very colorful fish, and this time I saw a small octopus.

The wife and I took a taxicab south of Akumal about 20 miles to Tulum to see the Mayan ruins. This is a breathtaking place from the 1300's on the cliffs of the bright blue sea with stone temples and nodding iguanas as big as dogs.

This unit had averything we needed, including drinking water, patio, swimming pool, as well as room service that includes washing your dirty dishes. This is a very relaxing and UNCROWDED place to vacation and we will definitely be back.

Mark and Dawn Zamboni

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenngalv...
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Place to be”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great experience. Peggy the owner was so very very helpful in all the communication and my 1000 questions, she even sent us maps of the area via post. replies were timely and very helpful. Thanks Peggy

The apartment is about a 15 minute walk from Akumal centre. We were there during peak time and the solitude of the apartment was lovely with 4 or 5 restaurant being within a 5 minute walk. We hired a car to drive around from Alamo who were great to deal with. Driving easier than we thought up and down the main freeway, tullum and cenotes.

The apartment is Mexican and very clean (cleaned daily). The bed in the master bedroom was rock hard but we always had a lovely nights sleep. Very close to the beach of half moon bay.

We didn't want the crowds of Cancun nor PDC and although busy, we made the right choice.
Overall we loved our stay at La Iguana #13. Hector and the crew who work there are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble (even correcting my terrible spanish!!) Go up to the top floor of the front building at sunset with a beer.

Best restaurant for us was La Lunita but all were of a worthy standard.

This is not a 5 star resort where you can flush your toilet paper down the toilet and line up with english speaking guests at the buffet but more of an experience with the wonderful mexican food and drink and lifestyle. Just go - you will love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thanks for the good review! I'm not sure why the mattress was rock hard as we just replaced it with a "top of the line" pillow top one last year. Of course, "top of the line" is different in Mexican standards! Anyway, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolores B
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Condo Met All Our Needs”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this condo with another couple for 1 week in January. We loved the location and proximity to Yal Ku Lagoon, as well as 3 good restaurants: Que Onda, La Buena Vida and La Lunita. We found the condo so comfortable, we ate in much more than we thought we would. The beach in front is good for snorkelling but beware the sea urchins! Even though I thought I was being careful and wearing water shoes, I accidentally brushed against one and got stung. Yal Ku has excellent snorkelling and is well worth the $14USD admission. The maid, Letty, was wonderful and did an excellent job of cleaning every day. This condo is at the quiet end of Akumal which suited us just fine. Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The sea urchins :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susiehw
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week to remember!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved our week in Akumal. The condo was everything we needed with comfort and ease. The pool and beach were just what we needed to relax and unwind. Renting bikes to go into town for meals and such was great in the June heat. Peggy is wonderful to work with, even with my husband's 100 questions and when one of the pools was underconstruction for the week she even comped us one night's fees- which was much appreciated.
The turtles in the bay, the salmon salad at thenTurtle Cafe', a day trip to Slavatica to appease our teenagers need for zip lining, and just reading good books in the sun...such a great week full of family memories we will talk about for many years to come!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was out of the way but convenient to all the needed amenities.
Liked least: The bed was extra firm.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing